Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-M10, Olympus LS-11, Tascam DR-2d: internal mics, my comparison  (Read 7038 times)

Offline Federico78

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
This is my first thread in this great forum. I'm a pianist / keyboardist who is looking for the best handheld recorder in the $200 something category.

I'll use this recorder to make some decent on the fly recordings of my original songs played at the acoustic piano and synthesizer, and also (secondary) for making some decent live shows recordings.

The main thing I'm interested is the quality of the internal mics and line in. I'm aware that with external mics and preamps the results would be better, but for quality and serious (well, not so serious but for me are ok) recordings I already have my Fireface 400 and some good quality condenser mics.

I want something that if I have a musical idea I simply put the recorder in the tripod, hit the record button twice and have the best quality possible.

So I started searching, reading manuals, reading forums, reading customer reviews from on line shops, listening to audio samples...worse than working, believe me.

The main sites where I was able to form my opinion were this forum, wingfieldaudio.com and audiotrskription.de. Also spare opinions from minor forums and customer reviews in Amazon and the like helped.

At first I narrowed down my list to Sony PCM-M10, Olympus LS-11 and Tascam DR-2d. Their prices differ for 30-40 dollars, so they're all in the same ballpark for me. I'm always tempted by the PCM-D50, but it's too expensive and it is becoming to be a little old, for example it doesn't record in mp3 which for me it's important.

Listening to the audio examples on the internet, the Tascam seems to be a little bit more detailed and "alive" than the Olympus, and more detailed and "alive" than the PCM-M10.