Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Phase locking a ad2k & V3  (Read 3319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (541)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5672
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« on: March 21, 2011, 09:11:23 AM »
I am looking to use the word clock of the V3 > AD2k to get an extra 2 "phase locked channels" to add on to to my DR680 8 channels.  My goal is to have 4 mics & 6 analog channels all with the same timing.  Is the following scenerio possible?  I have zero expereince with word clocks so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mics > V3 Digital > DR680
Mics > V2 > AD2k > PMD661
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (541)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5672
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2011, 09:49:24 AM »
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline SmokinJoe

  • Trade Count: (63)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
  • Gender: Male
  • "75 and sunny"... life is so much simpler.
    • uploads to archive.org
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2011, 01:06:38 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.
Mics: Schoeps MK4 & CMC5's / Gefell M200's & M210's / ADK-TL / DPA4061's
Pres: V3 / ST9100
Decks: Oade Concert Mod R4Pro / R09 / R05
Big Rig: split snake > Focusrite & Presonus Pres > ADAT > Alesis HD-24 > Protools 11
Daughter's rig:  AT4050ST > Busman Hybrid R4
Photo: Nikon D700's, 2.8 Zooms, and Zeiss primes
Playback: Raspberry Pi > Modi2 Uber > Magni2 > HD650

Offline run_run_run

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5254
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2011, 01:12:59 PM »
You might even consider a computer set up if you jump over 8 "in the field". I can do 8 analog + lock onto 1 (2 channels) SPDIF if needed.

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2011, 01:43:20 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

And the step shortly after that is either a cart or a sherpa.
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (541)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5672
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2011, 01:45:09 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

And the step shortly after that is either a cart or a sherpa.

I already have a bag for just cables  :P
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline run_run_run

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5254
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2011, 02:00:42 PM »
My fall back position is Ted's taping sherpa

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2011, 02:02:47 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

And the step shortly after that is either a cart or a sherpa.

I already have a bag for just cables  :P

You working out more (out of necessity) or just taking lessons from Myco?

My fall back position is Ted's taping sherpa

 :lol:  :clapping:
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40691
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #8 on: March 21, 2011, 05:25:24 PM »
Yeah, thats some serious equipment. And hell, I thought 4 channels was enough :P ;D
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4 (MP) & MK 41v (MP) Capsules ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's X2 ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's x2 ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's x3 ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax {3.5mm} | FiiO LC 2.5c {2.5mm} ->
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 15 5570-5521 Laptop
(Pentium i5/8gb RAM/256gb SSD)

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2011, 12:36:36 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

If you get an AD2K and another DR-680, then you can link the AD2K to the V3's clock, and use the digital out of the V3 to one DR-680, and the digital out of the AD2K to the other DR-680.  Then you'll have 16 channels, all on the same clock :)

and then you wouldn't have to take direct outs from the board at club d'Elf, but rather, you could just spot mic everyone in the band!

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2011, 04:42:26 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

Use a USBPre2 on the 2nd 680 with the V3.  It will accept a spdif sync from first 680(or V3) and then you get all 16 channels recordable. 

Offline run_run_run

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5254
  • Gender: Male
Re: Phase locking a ad2k & V3
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2011, 12:14:36 PM »
Time for two 680's.  V3 > 680 > another 680.  Yeah, it's a duplicate of those 2 channels, but it gets you 14 total.  You know that's the next step, and another 680 is probably cheaper than an AD2K.

Use a USBPre2 on the 2nd 680 with the V3.  It will accept a spdif sync from first 680(or V3) and then you get all 16 channels recordable.
That sounds like a plan

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.125 seconds with 53 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF