Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: AD2K spdif out  (Read 2023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ttrego2003

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
  • Gender: Male
  • nobody puts baby in the corner!
AD2K spdif out
« on: May 30, 2011, 03:50:31 PM »
Could I come out of the 2K coax cable to female RCA>mono 1/8 adapter into M10? My buddies MT2 isn't receiving a coax signal anymore and i was wondering if this would work before exploring more expensive options.

Todd

Offline darby

  • Trade Count: (85)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1264
  • Support artists and venues that allow recording
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 04:09:53 PM »
 ??? the M10 doesn't have a digital in

Offline ttrego2003

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
  • Gender: Male
  • nobody puts baby in the corner!
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 04:46:06 PM »
I guess i need to start looking for a used P2/671/661.

Todd

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2011, 07:37:45 PM »
I guess i need to start looking for a used P2/671/661.

Todd

Or a D50, although you'd need an rca to optical converter.

Offline tedyun

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 433
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2011, 08:39:04 PM »
I have an Oade SuperMod PMD-661 that is sort of for sale:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=143903.msg1854301

I am on the fence about keeping it, so I am not actively marketing it. If you're interested, PM me.

I guess i need to start looking for a used P2/671/661.

Todd
Mics: B&K 4011, Schoeps MK5 (Nbobs, Naiant PFA), Busman BSC-1 (K11/K21/K31/K41 caps), Church CA-14 (o, c), Church CAFS, Core Sound Binaurals
Pre: EAA PSP-2,  Lunatec V3, Nbox-Platinum, Church CA-9200
ADC: Mytek 192 ADC, Oade Mod SBM-1
Rec: Oade Supermod PMD-661, Tascam DR60D, M-Audio MicroTrack II, Korg MR-1 (32GB SSD mod); Sony PCM-M10, Edirol R09HR; iRiver HP-120
Photo: Canon 5D3, Canon EF-S 17-55mm f2.8, Canon EF 35mm f1.4L Canon EF 24-70 f2.8L MkI, Canon EF 70-200mm f2.8L IS MkI, Canon EF 50 mm f1.4, Canon EF 50 f1.2L, Canon EF 300 f/4L IS, Canon EF 100-400 f4-5.6L IS MkI
Video: Canon HF100

Offline ttrego2003

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
  • Gender: Male
  • nobody puts baby in the corner!
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2011, 09:47:03 AM »
Last night ran a on-stage 4022>vms5U>AD2k>COAX>DR680. Got no level lights at all on ad2k, but 680 showed excellent levels. So, does the ad2k slave to the 680?

Todd

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7662
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2011, 10:49:31 AM »
Did you have the level lights switched to run in hold mode..? What were your peak levels? My guess is you were under the threshold for the level lights setting you were using...
-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline ttrego2003

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
  • Gender: Male
  • nobody puts baby in the corner!
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2011, 01:25:13 PM »
Did you have the level lights switched to run in hold mode..? What were your peak levels? My guess is you were under the threshold for the level lights setting you were using...

level meter was set at 6db and vms5u didn't even  jump to red at -20 db. It was the first time I used two new 3450 tekkeon batteries tho ?

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2374
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2011, 08:04:35 PM »
try setting the level lights switch to 1 db, not 6 db

what input level are you using on the ad2k, im assuming a balanced connection from a VMS would be -21 to -25 dB

you want the ad2k to be as close to zero as possible when your preamp is starting to clip

Did you have the level lights switched to run in hold mode..? What were your peak levels? My guess is you were under the threshold for the level lights setting you were using...

level meter was set at 6db and vms5u didn't even  jump to red at -20 db. It was the first time I used two new 3450 tekkeon batteries tho ?
in:
small: MK4/4V > CMR > V3 or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K/R07/PCM-A10/Oade Warm 661/DR100-MKIII

smaller: 4061/4099 CORE or 4011/4018V> d:vice MMA



out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

Offline ttrego2003

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 345
  • Gender: Male
  • nobody puts baby in the corner!
Re: AD2K spdif out
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2011, 08:38:02 PM »
try setting the level lights switch to 1 db, not 6 db

what input level are you using on the ad2k, im assuming a balanced connection from a VMS would be -21 to -25 dB

you want the ad2k to be as close to zero as possible when your preamp is starting to clip

Did you have the level lights switched to run in hold mode..? What were your peak levels? My guess is you were under the threshold for the level lights setting you were using...

level meter was set at 6db and vms5u didn't even  jump to red at -20 db. It was the first time I used two new 3450 tekkeon batteries tho ?

VMS5U at 30db/ad2k at +18/ level meter at 6db. This is the sane config ive been running since wanee. Just thought it was weird now level lights on 2k.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.175 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF