Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Why the V2>MME Combo???  (Read 3843 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline adventuregeorge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
  • Work, play hard, and... Drink Milk!!!
Why the V2>MME Combo???
« on: February 27, 2004, 12:40:24 PM »
This may be a stupid question, but I hope you guys can bear with me....

I have a MME (ADK's>MME>Dell inspiron 5150) and why are people running the V2???  Does the MME have a bad pre??  what do you gain by going with the V2.  To me that means another battery pack set-up and more gear to lug around. Is  there is a noticable sound difference??

I really confused a would love some advice

Thanks ???
« Last Edit: February 27, 2004, 02:14:28 PM by adventuregeorge »

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2004, 01:02:10 PM »
you gain clarity on the pre stage.  

cpclark

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2004, 01:09:31 PM »
if you dont really like the minime pre, then why not add an outboard pre, if you can take lugging around the extra gear, why not add a better sound the setup while keeping the best a/d out there and uv22hr

Offline plucks

  • 1pt21Gigawatts!
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
  • Gender: Male
  • Maybe the grass is greener on the other side
    • 1pt21gw.blogspot.com
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2004, 01:47:33 PM »
This may be a stupid question, but I hope you guys can bear with me....

I have a MME (ADK's>MME>Dell inspiron 5150) and why are people running the V2???  Does the MME have a bad pre??  what do you gain by going with the V2.  To me that means another battery pack set-up and more gear to lug around. Is  there is a noticable sound difference??

I really confused a would love some adive

Thanks ???
The MME pre/gain stage is not considered to be the best out there by a lot of people.  Thats part of the reason that Apogee made the MiniMicPre (MMP).  
The V2 preamp is the finest out there!  You get a better end result, that is cleaner sounding and more detailed too.  
You would need another battery if your MMe is 12v or if you want to run for extended periods of time.  You could get away with 1 battery for some time.  
As Cpclark said, the UV22HR is the key in the MMe when recording in 16 bit.  In 24 bit, it doesnt make as much of a difference.   If you are recording in 24 bit, V3 has the same pre as the V2 and same AD stage as the MiniMe.  BUT, the V3 is not as easy to get to your computer, so you would need another box to act as an interface...unless you have built in SPDIF on your computer.  
It's a toss up for a lot of people.  Recording to a computer with a MIniMe is a lot easier and more affordable than the V3 route.  

no such thing as a stupid question!

phil
"Then you have those who are completely loyal to Trey. Of course, they are the Republicans. Trey can play horribly, make mistakes, probably lie to the audience yet his backers will not waiver in their staunch support of him." | You may ask your self, how do you get a free bottle of champagne at dinner?  "Guest on Guest Violence"
1pt21gw.blogspot.com | vimeo HD videos! | the new Signal Path

Dirty Business down on Coal Creek

Offline adventuregeorge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
  • Work, play hard, and... Drink Milk!!!
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2004, 02:13:37 PM »
Thanks guys, I new you'd come through
 ;D  I saw a guy selling is V2 on this forum, I may have see if we can make a deal.

Offline Professor chaos

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 225
  • Gender: Male
  • "Bringer of distuction and disorder."
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2004, 03:56:22 PM »
     i thought apogee has upgraded the pre , and the current pre amp is much better .
Microtech Gefell SMS 2000 M20/m21->Oade M148/248->Korg MR-1000/Sony PCM M-10

Offline Tim

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32925
  • Gender: Male
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2004, 04:08:27 PM »
no.

instead of upgrading the pre for a fee (like they did with the ad1000) they came out with the Mini-MP(mic pre). An entirely seperate box that costs around $850 (I think).

here's how they advertise the Mini-Mp "The Mini-MP takes the reference quality of the Trak2 and the premium Mini-Me pre-amps to the next level."

which is funny because they advertised the $1200 MiniMe as a "trak2 to go".

they make great a/d's but that company sucks...
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline makers marc

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10337
  • Gender: Male
  • b&k 4022>oade m148>oade modsbm1/apogee ad1000>m1
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2004, 04:43:27 PM »
without rehashing, they really do suck. Why not offer an upgrade to the mme, rather than making a new box? I'd have gladly paid a couple hundred for that, and the, grrr, line in modification they talked about but never delivered on. I'd have done that, but running two of these ergonomically challenged boxes is too much, sorry Nizz.
I think the stars are just the neon lights
Shining through the dance floor
Of heaven on a Saturday night.

cpclark

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2004, 06:14:17 PM »
without rehashing, they really do suck. Why not offer an upgrade to the mme, rather than making a new box? I'd have gladly paid a couple hundred for that, and the, grrr, line in modification they talked about but never delivered on. I'd have done that, but running two of these ergonomically challenged boxes is too much, sorry Nizz.

MMP=$$$
come on people, think like a business! ;)

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (125)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40664
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2004, 06:55:25 PM »
without rehashing, they really do suck. Why not offer an upgrade to the mme, rather than making a new box? I'd have gladly paid a couple hundred for that, and the, grrr, line in modification they talked about but never delivered on. I'd have done that, but running two of these ergonomically challenged boxes is too much, sorry Nizz.

MMP=$$$
come on people, think like a business! ;)

they shouldve thought like a business, 200 dollars is more widespread spent than 800, so they wouldve gotten MANY requests for upgrades, and prolly not so much on the MMP
Recording Rigs:
Schoeps MK4's & MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
128gb & 64gb SanDisk SDXC-I

Portable Playback Rigs:
Campfire Audio Andromeda & Dorado | Westone UM Pro 30 (G2) IEM's ->
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax |  2x CA/ALO SPC Litz MMCX Cables ->
Shanling M5s & M0 | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 5570-5521 SLV Laptop

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2004, 10:04:50 AM »

As Cpclark said, the UV22HR is the key in the MMe when recording in 16 bit.  In 24 bit, it doesnt make as much of a difference.   If you are recording in 24 bit, V3 has the same pre as the V2 and same AD stage as the MiniMe.  

the v3 has the same a/d chips as the mme?  really??  it's just the dither that's different?  first time i've ever heard that.

Offline makers marc

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10337
  • Gender: Male
  • b&k 4022>oade m148>oade modsbm1/apogee ad1000>m1
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2004, 10:40:02 AM »
I'd heard that awhile back. not sure what the difference is, running 16 bit, then, but v2>mme sure does not sound like v3 to me. Like Damon has pointed out, for those brave enough to venture into 24 bit, it doesn't mean much. It's just dinosaurs like me...... 8)
I think the stars are just the neon lights
Shining through the dance floor
Of heaven on a Saturday night.

Offline dmonterisi

  • Taper Emeritus
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 11963
  • Gender: Male
  • Stomach Full of Regret
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2004, 10:45:42 AM »
i've never heard that the v3 and mme are the same AD just different dither circuits.  i don't think that to be the case.  i think they sound far too different for it just to be dither.  maybe i'm nuts.  who knows.  in the comps i've heard, v2>mme and v3>mme blow just v3 out of the water.  i mean it's not even close.  this is all at 16 bit.  and i think the differences i heard are too stark to be differences in dither.  i've done dither comps at home comparing v3 @16bit (using ANSR), then v3 to the computer @ 24bit and dithered using uv22, uv22hr and a couple other that are on wavelab.  the difference was much more subtle than the comps i've downloaded.  

Offline makers marc

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10337
  • Gender: Male
  • b&k 4022>oade m148>oade modsbm1/apogee ad1000>m1
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2004, 10:57:52 AM »
yep, night and day to me too. and to my ears, the v2>hhb even beat the v3 alone, and I think the hhb a/d is just "ok", it is a little dry and two dimensional.
I think the stars are just the neon lights
Shining through the dance floor
Of heaven on a Saturday night.

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18847
  • Gender: Male
Re:Why the V2>MME Combo???
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2004, 10:58:20 AM »
in the comps i've heard, v2>mme and v3>mme blow just v3 out of the water.  i mean it's not even close.

That's b/c the V3's ADC/dither sucks.  ::)  I love inflammatory posts like this...so entertaining!  :P

Care to elaborate on:
  • the stark and/or subtle differences you hear between the comp variations
  • details of each comp - gear used, location, config, etc.
  • what sonic characteristics you prefer / dislike in each of the different comp variations
  • your playback system
Not trying to razz you, Damon, just trying to inject some more useful dialogue into the discussion beyond "X blows Y away".
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.179 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF