Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Oade or ProDigi 7pin?  (Read 2427 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peterbilt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
  • Gender: Male
Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« on: February 27, 2004, 01:17:34 PM »
Hey folks, I'm finally gonna pick up a proper 7 pin and am looking for any input you can kick down as far as the pro's and con's of these cables.
Durability, flexibility, sonic differences?
Any input is greatly appreciated.

And if it matters, I would be running it from an ADC20(44.1)>D8

Thanks

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2004, 01:19:43 PM »
im of the opinion that it doesnt matter one bit- the nice part about the pro-dig cable is it is a bit longer than the oade.  the oade is of really high quality though

Offline jlykos

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't sweat the technique
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2004, 01:47:03 PM »
Really does not matter at all.  The Oade cable will require an additional digital coaxial cable to run from the connector to the input on the ADC-20.  The ProDigital cable has the cable hard-wired to the 7-pin head.  I have the ProDigital cable and it works fine.

You may want to run out to Radio Shack and get a gold-plated RCA to BNC adaptor for the ADC-20.  They cost like $5 or so; you will need it for a coaxial connection with the 7-pin.
dpa 4061 > Church Audio 9200 > Sony PCM-D50 (Moon Audio Silver Dragon v3 interconnect)

"I have no views," Mickey Melchiondo, known as Dean Ween, said in a philosophical moment. "I am way too stupid. I have no strong feelings about anything. I'm really into television and the computer. I believe everything I see on TV and read on the Internet."

Offline heath

  • Laugh it up, Fuzzball...
  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 24790
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm score!!!!!!
    • The Upstream Mend
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2004, 01:48:46 PM »
if you look at my post in the oade 7pin thread in the open forum, you'll see that i have around 5 prodig cables around the house.  If you're looking to grab one, I could give you a nice deal on one. (once i find them  ;)  )

Heath
And the Sultans... yeah the Sultans play creole

 The Upstream Mend

Offline peterbilt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
  • Gender: Male
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2004, 02:03:35 PM »
Thanks for the quick responses folks! I was pretty much of the impression they are both quality cables, just wanted some other opinions.
The only thing that really had me concerned was the need for another cable to run the Oade, though I am sure it isn't a big deal.

heath, dig up those cables. if you want to part with one or two..gimmee a holler.

and on a totally different topic....

the adc20...is it possible to send a signal from both AES outs at the same time?

Offline BCostigan

  • I can resist everything except temptation
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3695
  • Gender: Male
  • Loose Lucy is my delight
    • GranitePhotography
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2004, 05:57:01 PM »
I have a pro dig active cable but I have no preference.  I only have a pro dig cause I bought it used and the price was very nice! :)
"A Hippie is someone who walks like Tarzan, looks like Jane, and smells like Cheetah."  ~Ronald Reagan

Offline save

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1704
  • Gender: Male
  • blah blah blah
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2004, 11:30:06 PM »
i think either way you'll be happy.  i've got a oade 7 pin and have been very happy with it.  the prodigi looks pretty nice too though?
save

Offline Swampy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12022
  • Gender: Male
  • You Worthless Swampy Fool
    • Wanna trade???
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2004, 01:57:21 AM »
Ya, I like my ProDig alot, but I guess its just a toss up...
Normal: ADK A-51TLs > Silverpath BumbleBee XLRs > Edirol UA-5 (Oade Warm mod) > iRiver H120


blah blah blah

Offline Chapper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 825
  • Gender: Male
  • Do the chickens have large talons?
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2004, 03:34:27 AM »

and on a totally different topic....

the adc20...is it possible to send a signal from both AES outs at the same time?
Yes...the adc20 will send to both at the same time.

I use the Prodig cable with my adc20.  
The only reason I would go with an Oade cable, is if I were to need the active version...this would be a handy feature for patchers.  I have had trouble with my Prodig cable sending a signal to a D8 from my M1, but this is an issue with any passive cable.   The active cable is $165 and not sure if they are available.   I don't ever really patch and rarely get anyone patching off me, so I have no need for the more expensive cable.  
« Last Edit: February 28, 2004, 03:39:48 AM by Chapper »
..Just be glad you live in America,
Relax and be yourself,
Because if you didn't live here in America,
You'd proabably live somewhere else.."
David Lowery

Offline BCostigan

  • I can resist everything except temptation
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3695
  • Gender: Male
  • Loose Lucy is my delight
    • GranitePhotography
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2004, 01:51:48 PM »
I could be wrong...but isn't the prodigital 7 pin active as well if it has the grey housing/analog/digi switch?
"A Hippie is someone who walks like Tarzan, looks like Jane, and smells like Cheetah."  ~Ronald Reagan

Jason B

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #10 on: February 28, 2004, 02:00:00 PM »
I could be wrong...but isn't the prodigital 7 pin active as well if it has the grey housing/analog/digi switch?

Yes

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6391
  • Gender: Male
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2004, 08:38:40 PM »
I've owned both & liked the pro digital better.
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Lee

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4869
  • Gender: Male
  • "I hate the f***in' eagles, man!"
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2004, 03:01:32 AM »
I've owned both & liked the pro digital better.

me, too.  Just a matter of personal preference, they're both bomber cables
Denon AVR 3808ci > Paradigm Reference Studio 20 + Velodyne DLS 3750

Offline Kevin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1838
  • Gender: Male
    • Company Website (Learn to play by ear or by I.)
Re:Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2004, 07:34:04 PM »
with the pro-dig cable u dont have to worry about the cables having a loose connection (which causes static) but its really personal preference.  I have 1 of each and always use the pro-dig, i had them mod it to right angle
« Last Edit: March 02, 2004, 07:34:49 PM by Kevin »
481(3)>722

Offline Tye

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1523
  • Gender: Male
  • No news is good gnews without Gary Gnu
Re: Oade or ProDigi 7pin?
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2004, 12:52:28 PM »
Heath how much would you want for 1 on those 7 pins? I might take one off your hands as well.
                                                                        Tye
Peluso cemc6/ck-21/ck-4 > Karma K10mp > Hydra's > Sound Devices MP-2> Buman T mod R4 - R9HR


 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.24 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF