Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: V2 DOA *update*  (Read 6593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
V2 DOA *update*
« on: September 20, 2011, 01:51:25 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 05:42:11 PM by tapinfool »
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 01:59:27 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?

First thoughts. Are you feeding a 12v unit 6v?
Second, blown fuse?
Third, did you get the stock power supply a battery with it? (edit, my bad, thinking of the V3). Tried a different battery?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 02:01:12 PM by page »
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2011, 02:14:40 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?

First thoughts. Are you feeding a 12v unit 6v?
Second, blown fuse?
Third, did you get the stock power supply a battery with it? (edit, my bad, thinking of the V3). Tried a different battery?

1. 6V (6V marked on unit) Using 9V DVD battery with brand new cable from Ted G

2. Is there an internal fuse? And if so, will I be able to access and change it?

3. Tried 3 different batteries. All of which are fully charged.
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2011, 02:36:13 PM »
Does the V2 have selectable voltage, selection being made by means of internal jumpers or dip-switches? If fhat's the case check inside as it may be diferent than what is marked).

Not sure about a fuse as I've never used a V2 and have never seen the internals of one.

Also check continuity of the cable with a VOM/DVOM. Just because the cable is new doesn't mean it is good (though I've never seen a report of anyone having problems with Ted's cables doesn't nean there won't be a first time).

Offline halleyscomet8

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5557
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2011, 02:41:18 PM »
http://www.gracedesign.com/

i would contact grace if i were you, and seek advice from them.
my shows on the archive: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/halleyscomet8
And, yes, I know I suck about getting stuff circulated.  ;)

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2011, 02:44:25 PM »
http://www.gracedesign.com/

i would contact grace if i were you, and seek advice from them.

doing that now

thanks guys
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2011, 03:37:48 PM »
Make sure polarity wasn't accidentally soldered up ass-backwards on the cable.

You can figure this out by checking the pin assignments on the XLR power connector...should be shown in the manual I'd think.  Use a multi-meter to verify you have continuity between the pin that's supposed to be connected to '+' and the positive terminal on your battery.  If it's not, get the soldering iron out and swap the leads.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 03:44:27 PM by tonedeaf »

Offline Javier Cinakowski

  • !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4318
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2011, 03:57:09 PM »
I don't think it is the cable.  We had an older 4-pin that we tried too, no luck... 

I suspect Grace will tell him if it is something simple or it needs to be sent in, or returned to the seller, for that matter....

Audio-Technica AT8022-> Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline ero3030

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1496
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2011, 04:08:22 PM »
looks like the v2 uses the 12v pin assignment. 1 and 4.  deff check that first.  ed
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 03:36:55 PM by ero3030 »
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5658
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 08:28:32 PM »
For the V2, I am pretty sure the pin out is actually:
Pin 1,2 (jumpered together) = -
Pin 3,4 (jumpered together) = +

It will take 6V or 12V the only difference is the internal pots, jumpers (just as in the V3) - which control the low power flashing LED and auto shutoff.

If you have the pots and jumpers set to 6V and feed it  a 12V signal it will work fine, other way around and it may not turn on. If it has been set to 12V then you will need to feed it somewhere over 10.8V or so to get it to turn on.

See:
http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v2_voltage_calibration_procedure.html

Also as said above check the polarity.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 08:32:56 PM by H²O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40716
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 10:53:09 PM »
I have NEVER heard of a problem w/ a Grace preamp. Maybe its the cable Ted made?

And what show was 2nite ???
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Dorado IEM's >
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax {3.5mm} | 
FiiO LC 2.5c {2.5mm} >
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 15 5570-5521 Laptop

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Todd R

  • Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2011, 01:14:39 PM »
I'd agree with a lot of what has been said here.

Step 1:  make sure the internal jumper switches haven't been set to 12v operation, which might be the case regardless of the tag on back.  The V2 manual can be found here:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=37956.0

Step 2: Get a digital multimeter (can get one from Radioshack for about $25) and be sure that your battery hooked up through your battery cable gives you the proper voltage (should be gnd on pin 1, +V on pin 3 or 4, iirc)

If the V2 is set to 6v operation and you're getting 6V (or 9V from the DVD battery) through your battery cable to the proper pins on the XLR end of the battery cable, then if it still isn't working when you have made sure it is getting the proper voltage....

Step 3:  Return it back to the seller or send it off to Grace
Mics: Microtech Gefell m20/m21 (nbob/pfa actives), Line Audio CM3, Church CA-11 cards
Preamp:  none <sniff>
Recorders:  Sound Devices MixPre-6, Sony PCM-M10, Zoom H4nPro

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2011, 11:53:04 PM »
I'd agree with a lot of what has been said here.

Step 1:  make sure the internal jumper switches haven't been set to 12v operation, which might be the case regardless of the tag on back.  The V2 manual can be found here:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=37956.0

Step 2: Get a digital multimeter (can get one from Radioshack for about $25) and be sure that your battery hooked up through your battery cable gives you the proper voltage (should be gnd on pin 1, +V on pin 3 or 4, iirc)

If the V2 is set to 6v operation and you're getting 6V (or 9V from the DVD battery) through your battery cable to the proper pins on the XLR end of the battery cable, then if it still isn't working when you have made sure it is getting the proper voltage....

Step 3:  Return it back to the seller or send it off to Grace

thanks to everyone that helped out  :-*

i took the following actions this evening:

1. confirmed jumpers set @ 6V. i did side by side comparison with V2 #087 (a team pgh members V2) and the V2 diagram.

2. a. confirmed with multimeter my battery and cable are fully functional (thanks again to Ted G for a superb cable ;))
    b. tested V2 #087 with my battery/cable. my battery and cable work perfectly.
    c. tested my V2 #126 with different battery and cable from V2 # 087. still no power.

3. contacting seller tomorrow for acceptable solution.
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Online jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (143)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4167
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2011, 02:32:44 PM »
Bummer  :(!  Hopefully the seller makes it right.  There is another V2 in the YS.
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline WiFiJeff

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 859
  • Gender: Male
  • I tape therefore I am.
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2011, 03:16:06 PM »
Is the power connector on the V2 like the one on the V3?  If so, this could be the issue.  The V3 power center post is split and over time the halves bend together and finally fail to make a contact.  You have to stick s screw driver blade between the halves and bend them carefully back.  There is even a page on the Grace site that shows how to do a slightly more permanent fix.

Jeff

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.131 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF