Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: V2 DOA *update*  (Read 6592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
V2 DOA *update*
« on: September 20, 2011, 01:51:25 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 05:42:11 PM by tapinfool »
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 01:59:27 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?

First thoughts. Are you feeding a 12v unit 6v?
Second, blown fuse?
Third, did you get the stock power supply a battery with it? (edit, my bad, thinking of the V3). Tried a different battery?
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 02:01:12 PM by page »
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2011, 02:14:40 PM »
I got a V2 last week.

Finally got the cables to power it up.

Plugged everything in (YES, everything is plugged in and turned ON)...

NADA!!! :(

I have a show tonight...what to do ?

First thoughts. Are you feeding a 12v unit 6v?
Second, blown fuse?
Third, did you get the stock power supply a battery with it? (edit, my bad, thinking of the V3). Tried a different battery?

1. 6V (6V marked on unit) Using 9V DVD battery with brand new cable from Ted G

2. Is there an internal fuse? And if so, will I be able to access and change it?

3. Tried 3 different batteries. All of which are fully charged.
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2011, 02:36:13 PM »
Does the V2 have selectable voltage, selection being made by means of internal jumpers or dip-switches? If fhat's the case check inside as it may be diferent than what is marked).

Not sure about a fuse as I've never used a V2 and have never seen the internals of one.

Also check continuity of the cable with a VOM/DVOM. Just because the cable is new doesn't mean it is good (though I've never seen a report of anyone having problems with Ted's cables doesn't nean there won't be a first time).

Offline halleyscomet8

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5557
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2011, 02:41:18 PM »
http://www.gracedesign.com/

i would contact grace if i were you, and seek advice from them.
my shows on the archive: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/halleyscomet8
And, yes, I know I suck about getting stuff circulated.  ;)

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2011, 02:44:25 PM »
http://www.gracedesign.com/

i would contact grace if i were you, and seek advice from them.

doing that now

thanks guys
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2011, 03:37:48 PM »
Make sure polarity wasn't accidentally soldered up ass-backwards on the cable.

You can figure this out by checking the pin assignments on the XLR power connector...should be shown in the manual I'd think.  Use a multi-meter to verify you have continuity between the pin that's supposed to be connected to '+' and the positive terminal on your battery.  If it's not, get the soldering iron out and swap the leads.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 03:44:27 PM by tonedeaf »

Offline Javier Cinakowski

  • !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4318
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2011, 03:57:09 PM »
I don't think it is the cable.  We had an older 4-pin that we tried too, no luck... 

I suspect Grace will tell him if it is something simple or it needs to be sent in, or returned to the seller, for that matter....

Audio-Technica AT8022-> Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline ero3030

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1496
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2011, 04:08:22 PM »
looks like the v2 uses the 12v pin assignment. 1 and 4.  deff check that first.  ed
« Last Edit: September 21, 2011, 03:36:55 PM by ero3030 »
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5658
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 08:28:32 PM »
For the V2, I am pretty sure the pin out is actually:
Pin 1,2 (jumpered together) = -
Pin 3,4 (jumpered together) = +

It will take 6V or 12V the only difference is the internal pots, jumpers (just as in the V3) - which control the low power flashing LED and auto shutoff.

If you have the pots and jumpers set to 6V and feed it  a 12V signal it will work fine, other way around and it may not turn on. If it has been set to 12V then you will need to feed it somewhere over 10.8V or so to get it to turn on.

See:
http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v2_voltage_calibration_procedure.html

Also as said above check the polarity.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2011, 08:32:56 PM by H²O »
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40716
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 10:53:09 PM »
I have NEVER heard of a problem w/ a Grace preamp. Maybe its the cable Ted made?

And what show was 2nite ???
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Dorado IEM's >
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax {3.5mm} | 
FiiO LC 2.5c {2.5mm} >
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 15 5570-5521 Laptop

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline Todd R

  • Over/Under on next gear purchase: 2 months
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2011, 01:14:39 PM »
I'd agree with a lot of what has been said here.

Step 1:  make sure the internal jumper switches haven't been set to 12v operation, which might be the case regardless of the tag on back.  The V2 manual can be found here:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=37956.0

Step 2: Get a digital multimeter (can get one from Radioshack for about $25) and be sure that your battery hooked up through your battery cable gives you the proper voltage (should be gnd on pin 1, +V on pin 3 or 4, iirc)

If the V2 is set to 6v operation and you're getting 6V (or 9V from the DVD battery) through your battery cable to the proper pins on the XLR end of the battery cable, then if it still isn't working when you have made sure it is getting the proper voltage....

Step 3:  Return it back to the seller or send it off to Grace
Mics: Microtech Gefell m20/m21 (nbob/pfa actives), Line Audio CM3, Church CA-11 cards
Preamp:  none <sniff>
Recorders:  Sound Devices MixPre-6, Sony PCM-M10, Zoom H4nPro

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #12 on: September 22, 2011, 11:53:04 PM »
I'd agree with a lot of what has been said here.

Step 1:  make sure the internal jumper switches haven't been set to 12v operation, which might be the case regardless of the tag on back.  The V2 manual can be found here:

http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=37956.0

Step 2: Get a digital multimeter (can get one from Radioshack for about $25) and be sure that your battery hooked up through your battery cable gives you the proper voltage (should be gnd on pin 1, +V on pin 3 or 4, iirc)

If the V2 is set to 6v operation and you're getting 6V (or 9V from the DVD battery) through your battery cable to the proper pins on the XLR end of the battery cable, then if it still isn't working when you have made sure it is getting the proper voltage....

Step 3:  Return it back to the seller or send it off to Grace

thanks to everyone that helped out  :-*

i took the following actions this evening:

1. confirmed jumpers set @ 6V. i did side by side comparison with V2 #087 (a team pgh members V2) and the V2 diagram.

2. a. confirmed with multimeter my battery and cable are fully functional (thanks again to Ted G for a superb cable ;))
    b. tested V2 #087 with my battery/cable. my battery and cable work perfectly.
    c. tested my V2 #126 with different battery and cable from V2 # 087. still no power.

3. contacting seller tomorrow for acceptable solution.
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (143)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4167
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2011, 02:32:44 PM »
Bummer  :(!  Hopefully the seller makes it right.  There is another V2 in the YS.
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline WiFiJeff

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 859
  • Gender: Male
  • I tape therefore I am.
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2011, 03:16:06 PM »
Is the power connector on the V2 like the one on the V3?  If so, this could be the issue.  The V3 power center post is split and over time the halves bend together and finally fail to make a contact.  You have to stick s screw driver blade between the halves and bend them carefully back.  There is even a page on the Grace site that shows how to do a slightly more permanent fix.

Jeff

Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2011, 03:25:16 PM »
Is the power connector on the V2 like the one on the V3?  If so, this could be the issue.  The V3 power center post is split and over time the halves bend together and finally fail to make a contact.  You have to stick s screw driver blade between the halves and bend them carefully back.  There is even a page on the Grace site that shows how to do a slightly more permanent fix.

Jeff

I thought about that, but the V2 works on a 4pin XLR (a lot of "ballanced" headphone amps use the same plug)
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline Javier Cinakowski

  • !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4318
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2011, 03:54:02 PM »
^ the V2 has a 4-pin XLR for power...
Audio-Technica AT8022-> Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline 1Cylinder

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 187
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2011, 10:31:56 PM »
FWIW I had my V2 go south twice in 1999. Both times I sent it back to Mike Grace. He repaired the unit & returned it quickly. I can't recall if Mike even charged me, but if he did it wasn't much. Obviously we'd all prefer our gear to work 110% of the time...... but you know how these things go.

If you've got a good relationship w/ the seller I'd suggest asking him to cover the round trip shipping to Grace, and the cost of the repair.

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2011, 05:37:41 PM »
Grace is covering all repairs (under warranty, even though it's 12 years old!) and fully bringing it up to current specs
for no cost to either party, buyer or seller.

GRACE ROCKS!

That's not all I have to say about that.

/Forrest Gump voice off ;D ;D ;D
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline Jimna

  • Zappa for President
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9554
  • Gender: Male
  • Audio DeutchKraft & Busman Audio
    • F.M.Record Company
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2011, 05:43:05 PM »
excellent
Co-Founder of F.M.Recording 
SD: Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > Grace Lunatec V3 > Busman Hybrid R4
LD: ADK A-51TL MP > Busman Hybrid R4
+ 48 Channel Multi-track rig

Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 2x Extender Mark III, Canon 15mm f2.8, Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM, Canon 100mm Macro f2.8, Canon 16-35mm L f2.8, Canon 24-70mm L f/2.8, Canon 70-200mm L f2.8 IS, Canon ST-E2, Canon 580ex II (x2), Canon 430ex II, PocketWizard PLUS II(x4), Radiopopper PX System

http://jmimna.com/

Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST
-FZ

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #20 on: October 06, 2011, 06:17:27 PM »
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

stevetoney

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V2 DOA
« Reply #21 on: October 06, 2011, 07:34:35 PM »
Grace is covering all repairs (under warranty, even though it's 12 years old!) and fully bringing it up to current specs
for no cost to either party, buyer or seller.

GRACE ROCKS!

That's not all I have to say about that.

/Forrest Gump voice off ;D ;D ;D

That's just awesome, but it's par for the course for those guys.  They did the same thing for a V3 that I once had that was 6 months outside the warranty.  Their only response when I said that I was floored by their great service was that they only have one chance to make a first impression.  Well, that might be true but they continue to amaze with 2nd, 3rd, 4th impressions and so on with their SICK customer service! 

That said, I do still find it distressing that you had to go through this Kev.  Who'd sell a dead V2 for above full price without disclosing that or trying to get it fixed first?!?

Offline ero3030

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1496
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #22 on: October 06, 2011, 08:34:58 PM »
Grace is covering all repairs (under warranty, even though it's 12 years old!) and fully bringing it up to current specs
for no cost to either party, buyer or seller.

GRACE ROCKS!

That's not all I have to say about that.

/Forrest Gump voice off ;D ;D ;D
[/quote

That's just awesome, but it's par for the course for those guys.  They did the same thing for a V3 that I once had that was 6 months outside the warranty.  Their only response when I said that I was floored by their great service was that they only have one chance to make a first impression.  Well, that might be true but they continue to amaze with 2nd, 3rd, 4th impressions and so on with their SICK customer service! 

That said, I do still find it distressing that you had to go through this Kev.  Who'd sell a dead V2 for above full price without disclosing that or trying to get it fixed first?!?

i'm calling a CODE RED on the seller.  on another note, told u Kev it would work out!!  ed

















« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 08:37:12 PM by ero3030 »
needin some fishhead music!

" known for f**king up a good weekend on a Thursday nite "

Offline Jimna

  • Zappa for President
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9554
  • Gender: Male
  • Audio DeutchKraft & Busman Audio
    • F.M.Record Company
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2011, 09:10:15 PM »
yeah call that prick out!
Co-Founder of F.M.Recording 
SD: Busman Audio BSC1-K1/K2/K3/K4 > Grace Lunatec V3 > Busman Hybrid R4
LD: ADK A-51TL MP > Busman Hybrid R4
+ 48 Channel Multi-track rig

Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 2x Extender Mark III, Canon 15mm f2.8, Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM, Canon 100mm Macro f2.8, Canon 16-35mm L f2.8, Canon 24-70mm L f/2.8, Canon 70-200mm L f2.8 IS, Canon ST-E2, Canon 580ex II (x2), Canon 430ex II, PocketWizard PLUS II(x4), Radiopopper PX System

http://jmimna.com/

Information is not knowledge
Knowledge is not wisdom
Wisdom is not truth
Truth is not beauty
Beauty is not love
Love is not music
Music is THE BEST
-FZ

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2011, 09:14:44 PM »
Gotta love this thread. Grace is so incredibly amazing... it's really killing me to not have a V3.  ;D

You know it's a great company when...

- Michael Grace himself comes to the rescue in the taperssection
- Or drops stuff off for you on a highway to Telluride
- And my personal favorite, guarantees support for a 3rd party modified unit!

Three cheers for their amazing product support time and time again!

Offline boltman

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1023
  • Gender: Male
  • Music est vita!
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2011, 09:32:29 PM »
Just sent my V3 in for the polarity fix.  They updated the firmware and ran it for 24 hours just to make sure everything was working correctly.  There and back in 10 days.  A typical transaction for them, but first class in my view.

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #26 on: October 07, 2011, 12:54:15 AM »
1st class business with 1st class customer service with a 1st class product

What's not to love  :-*
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (143)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4167
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #27 on: October 07, 2011, 01:04:22 AM »
Glad it workded out!!  I was talking to a friend to night at a show and he was telling me about sending his V3 in to get the digi in fixed and they fixed and updated it for free, then updated the warnty.  His V3 wasn't under waranty either.  That is some serious service. 
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (546)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5690
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #28 on: October 07, 2011, 05:43:09 AM »
I too have had nothing but top notch service from Grace.  Good to see things worked out for you.  I just saw this thread and am glad it wasn't caused by the hack cable maker Ted, oh wait, that's me  ;D
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunated V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10ii, MixPre-10T, MixPre-6ii, MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline tapinfool

  • Trade Count: (24)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5517
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #29 on: October 07, 2011, 08:13:02 AM »
I too have had nothing but top notch service from Grace.  Good to see things worked out for you.  I just saw this thread and am glad it wasn't caused by the hack cable maker Ted, oh wait, that's me  ;D

yeah, you and your shoddy work  ;)
before curiosity kills it, the cat learns more of the world than a hundred uninquisitive dogs ~ tom robbins

i never was much of a petty thief. i wanted the whole world or nothing ~ h.c. bukowski

coincidence is the universe's way of reminding us what's really going on

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #30 on: October 07, 2011, 10:15:20 AM »
That's great!

So what was wrong with it?  It might be helpful to know.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (81)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2201
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #31 on: October 07, 2011, 04:47:26 PM »
Grace fixed my Oade modded V-3 for free and sent it back to me in 3 days!!
They called me to say they received it, they called again to tell me what was wrong,
then they called to say it was on the way back to me. Nothing but the best customer service
of any company i have dealt with.
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline manamana

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 131
  • Gender: Male
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #32 on: October 07, 2011, 11:31:02 PM »
Alright, guess I have to step into this. I'm the seller. I've avoided saying anything publicly for various reasons, and since it was resolved on Monday I'd really hoped Kevin would walk back his previous accusations. Communication fell apart much quicker than I ever would have expected it to (one of those various reasons...), and this has been extremely frustrating and time consuming for me as well. There's a lot to this that hasn't been posted, but I'm just going to quote, word for word, what the folks at grace had to say about the V2:

Quote
The fuse was blown and was a 650ma, we switched to an 800ma pretty early on, so I feel this is a warranty issue (even though the V2 is 12 years old). I think it was strictly a coincidence that the fuse arrived blown, or blew 1st time you plugged in. I also believe it was working when Chris sent it to you, shipping can sometimes be enough to break the fine element in an old tired fuse.

I know this: Next time I sell anything online, there's going to be HD video of serial #s, testing, and packaging before sending out. This was a surreal experience, and one that could have been somewhat or mostly avoided had I just fired up my camera two months ago.

And yeah, Grace deserves a big round of applause for helping get this worked out.
4022s > SX-M2 > Sony M10

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: V2 DOA *update*
« Reply #33 on: October 08, 2011, 08:43:23 AM »
I could see where that would be a terrible transaction for everyone concerned.... A piece of gear widely considered *bulletproof* mysteriously arrives not working.

I think the Grace opinion is spot on. Based on my v3 calcs, a 650 ma fuse is a bit too small.  And fuses do get brittle over time and can break.  Especially fuses that are somewhat overloaded.

Given how UPS, etc, throw and drop boxes, it seems probable that is what happened.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.221 seconds with 75 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF