Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: SD MP-2 Powering Question  (Read 3014 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cheesecadet

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2867
  • Gender: Male
  • http://db.etree.org/cheesecadet
SD MP-2 Powering Question
« on: November 20, 2011, 01:00:56 AM »
It says on their fact sheet that 2 x AAs will not provide phantom power. 

So my question is: Is it possible to run the MP-2 off a DVD type battery and does it require a custom battery cable?  I may be aquiring one of these soon but want to be sure of my powering options beforehand.  Need to run 48 phantom for Peluso mics, but like th eoption of being able to use lower voltage for other mics as well.
DPA4061's | AKG481's | AT933SC's | FP24 | PIPsqueak | Tinybox | SDMP3 | M10x2

Upcoming:
APR. Nada...Thanks A Lot Coronavirus
MAY. Groundation
JUN. TBF, Blue October
JUL. SCI Dillon & Nashville (?)

Offline rastasean

  • in paradise
  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3686
  • Gender: Male
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2011, 01:14:27 AM »
I've got the mixpre and a power cable from Ted and it runs without any issues on a dvd battery.
Advice is a form of nostalgia, dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.

Offline Celac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • ...enough with the bits already,
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2011, 02:15:08 AM »
It says on their fact sheet that 2 x AAs will not provide phantom power. 

So my question is: Is it possible to run the MP-2 off a DVD type battery and does it require a custom battery cable?  I may be aquiring one of these soon but want to be sure of my powering options beforehand.  Need to run 48 phantom for Peluso mics, but like th eoption of being able to use lower voltage for other mics as well.

Do you mean this: http://www.sounddevices.com/download/lit/mp2_lit.pdf

I think you are misreading the spec... it says: "2 AA  alkaline batteries, 6 hours life typical, no phantom power" meaning that you might get six hours of life out of the AA's if you switch the phantom off.  If you leave it switched on you will get a shorter battery life, (quite a bit) meaning that if you want to run phantom and internals you need to use a higher cap battery, e.g., AA lithiums.  Phantom works with both internal and external batts.
...can't get enough of nothing!

Did your friend consider that maybe he got a basically accurate recording of a bad P.A. system and/or a terrible-sounding performance venue? When you aim good microphones at ugly sound, the resulting recording will not be beautiful.
DSatz

Offline Cheesecadet

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2867
  • Gender: Male
  • http://db.etree.org/cheesecadet
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2011, 02:34:19 AM »
Thanks for your answers...that is what I was wondering.  Any idea how much runtime in the real world one would get running 48 phantom on lithium AAs?
DPA4061's | AKG481's | AT933SC's | FP24 | PIPsqueak | Tinybox | SDMP3 | M10x2

Upcoming:
APR. Nada...Thanks A Lot Coronavirus
MAY. Groundation
JUN. TBF, Blue October
JUL. SCI Dillon & Nashville (?)

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (143)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4167
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2011, 05:55:12 AM »
I ran my MP-2 off 9v DVD batteries and got really good runtimes!  I never used AA batteries
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline ashevillain

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3361
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2011, 08:43:34 AM »
Thanks for your answers...that is what I was wondering.  Any idea how much runtime in the real world one would get running 48 phantom on lithium AAs?

Depends on the mics (as well as the specific batteries used) but i've got close to 6 hours out of lithiums before and about 2.5 - 3 hours out of nimh rechargeables on a regular basis. I never made a habit out of using lithiums so I can't tell if that's the norm or the exception. I have used nimh AA extensively and can say that as long as you use a reputable battery with a decent mah rating (and leave the meter light OFF) you should be good for a 3 hour show.

Offline mepaca

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 224
  • taperssection member
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2011, 11:24:09 AM »
With my Mixpre I get about 6 hours using lithium AA batteries

Offline Teen Age Riot

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 895
  • Gender: Male
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2011, 11:41:46 AM »
I'm getting about 5 hours out of 2850mAh NiMH's, with 48v phantom turned on.

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (143)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4167
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2011, 12:09:05 PM »
Get a couple DVD batteries or a Tekkeon and have Ted build you a power cable!  Then you won't ever have to worry about runtimes.  I had a dually DVD battery cable and used 2 DVD batteries and even on a 6-8 hour day of recording I would only lose about one light on a DVD battery. 
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60v) > Sound Devices Mixpre-6 @24/48

-22        -12         -6        TDS     
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][}   
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]][} 
__________________________
|Record|  Runtime: 4:19.99  {|||] 75%

Offline Fried Chicken Boy

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3014
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2011, 04:07:59 PM »
Using AA's, I got a little over 2 hours of runtime with fresh Duracells powering a pair of AKG 414's.  But DVD batteries/Tekkeon are definitely the way to go for the MixPre/MP-2; you'll get plenty of time out of those power sources.  Had Ted make me a dually cable so I could hot-swap and it works beautifully.

Offline Charlie Miller

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
  • Gender: Male
  • Come On, Get Happy
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #10 on: December 13, 2011, 11:28:11 AM »
It says on their fact sheet that 2 x AAs will not provide phantom power. 

So my question is: Is it possible to run the MP-2 off a DVD type battery and does it require a custom battery cable?  I may be aquiring one of these soon but want to be sure of my powering options beforehand.  Need to run 48 phantom for Peluso mics, but like th eoption of being able to use lower voltage for other mics as well.

That's gotta be a misprint. I was able to get a 2 hour set out of Duracell AA's. I never tried to get a 2 sets out of them though. I would just fill up a box with the used batteries and keep them around for flashlights. I love the MP2.
Audio Engineer - Steve Kimock Productions

Schoeps CMC6/MK4
(4) AKG 460's (CK1's CK8's CK63's)
Lunatec V2 + Lunatec V3
Sound Devices 744T

Offline taperj

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 917
  • Gender: Male
Re: SD MP-2 Powering Question
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2011, 04:38:49 PM »
Rig: Neumann skm184 or Neumann skm140 > Sound Devices Mixpre > Olympus LS-10 or Korg MR-1

Just ask the axis, he knows everything.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.115 seconds with 53 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF