Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Help with transffering records  (Read 1711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Help with transffering records
« on: March 06, 2004, 06:28:08 PM »
Ok so I've got an AD-20 and JB3 and am trying to transfer some old records. I have red and white (rca?) cable converters from radio shack, and another cable that takes the two channels and puts it into one. I got these a few years ago when I just tried to run them right into the computer, somehow I never followed up. So now that I've got the AD-20 and the JB3 what else would I need in order to transfer the records, I'm assuming a cable but not sure,
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2004, 06:31:56 PM »
do you have a phono preamp?  if you don't you are gonna have a terrible buzz and its going to be mis-eq'd.  if you need one just for some short term use ive got an extra here that i can loan you

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2004, 06:40:18 PM »
I've got the AD-20 for the preamp, so I guess I don't have a phono one. What are my choices in phono preamps? I may take you up on the offer of letting me borrow it, it depends on how much $$$ they cost.  I plan on putting a lot of my dads old records on cd's and he has many so I may just want my own to use over a long period of time.
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2004, 06:42:20 PM »
you can get one for as cheap as 20 bucks or so from ratshack or you can spend a ton of money for one  

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2004, 09:02:50 PM »
alright, what are some of the major players in the phono pre amp world?
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2004, 09:10:52 PM »
you know im not sure, the one i have is a no name, and all the others ive used have been integrated.  i bet if you poked around on audiogon.com youd get a feeling for whats out there

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2004, 09:18:18 PM »
ok so did a touch of research- opened up the bsw catalog that i got today.

to give you some idea as to what is out there:

ART DeeJayPre - 40 bucks

Rolls VP29- 55 bucks

Rane PS-1 -  170

im sure these prices are inflated a bit, but those are some options for ya

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2004, 09:57:38 PM »
I looked on ebay a little and there is the ART DeeJayPre for 40 and then I found another for 25. Thanks for your help.
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2004, 10:02:12 PM »
no problem, if you have any questions on removing pops and clicks when you get to that stage let me know

Offline Chanher

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1211
  • Colorado Crew
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2004, 10:25:08 PM »
http://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/category.cgi?category=search&item=ROLLS-VP29&type=store

I thought I saw this in the closeout section earlier, email them and ask for discount.
"chonner"

SP C4 (c,o) / AT853rx (c,h) > Hi-Ho Silver Canare > Busman UA-5 > Iriver

Offline mhibbs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 284
  • Gender: Male
  • it's all about the GA preamps
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2004, 01:09:08 PM »
I'm not sure what kind of home setup you have...  If you have a receiver or pre/amp setup that has a phono stage, you can run the record player through that, and use the pre outs on the receiver or pre to feed the AD converter.  In my instance, it was record player>denon avr4800>ad500e>tascam da20.  A high quality phono pre is probably a better solution, but using a quality receiver is probably as good if not better than a cheap phono pre from somewhere like Radio Shack.  Some receivers run even a 2ch stereo signal through the receivers processor...which adds extra processing that you really don't want...my Denon has an analog pass-through mode that doesn't process the analog signal...I used that, if you have a similar option, you should use it to keep the signal as pure as possible.


mitch
Oade preamp museum curator

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2004, 12:32:22 AM »
My home setup is not impressive at all. I have a 15 year old reciever, it does have phono on it though. But I don't know of any way of running through my AD (denecke ad-20) because the only inputs on it are the mic inputs. So I guess I could run it straight into the jb3, but I'm sure the results wouldn't be great.
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

Offline twatts (pants are so over-rated...)

  • <://PHiSH//><
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9850
  • Gender: Male
  • Lego made a Mini-Fig of me!
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2004, 10:41:22 AM »
My home setup is not impressive at all. I have a 15 year old reciever, it does have phono on it though. But I don't know of any way of running through my AD (denecke ad-20) because the only inputs on it are the mic inputs. So I guess I could run it straight into the jb3, but I'm sure the results wouldn't be great.

Get a pair of RCA>XLR cables to convert the RCA outputs on your receiver (once you get the phono inputed) to the XLR inputs on the AD20.  I got a pair at Guitar Center for about $20.

And I also use them for SBD XLR out > RCA input on my UA5...

Terry

***Do you have PHISH, VIDA BLUE, JAZZ MANDOLIN PROJECT or any other Phish related DATs/Tapes/MDs that need to be transferred???  I can do them for you!!!***

I will return your DATs/Tapes/MDs.  I'll also provide Master FLAC files via DropBox.  PM me for details.

Sony PCM R500 > SPDIF > Tascam HD-P2
Nakamichi DR-3 > (Oade Advanced Concert Mod) Tascam HD-P2
Sony MDS-JE510 > Hosa ODL-276 > Tascam HD-P2

******

Offline wsphansam

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1114
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading list.
Re:Help with transffering records
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2004, 07:09:50 PM »
Twatts, I should have thought of that sooner, thanks for the info, I'll look into that.
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/wsphansam

Team Kansasouri, Southern Office
Team Texas

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.121 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF