Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Apogee Mini Me - set up question  (Read 2099 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1Cylinder

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 187
  • Gender: Male
Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« on: January 20, 2012, 01:56:18 PM »
Looking for a little guidance on setting up my Mini Me for field use. I'd like to run the MM out of my V3 (analog out, via a pair of  XLR cables) and send a digi signal from the Apogee to to my Edirol R-44 (via a AES >Coax digi cable.)

As I'm not going to use the Mini Me to power my mics, I've set its jumpers to the lower gain position. I think I'm good to go but maybe there's additional calibration on the MM I need to look into?  Are the MM's line-in levels fixed, can/should be they be altered? If they should be changed, what do I need to do to run the Apogee as per above?

TIA,
Paul




Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 02:21:04 PM »
If they should be changed, what do I need to do to run the Apogee as per above?

The V3 maxes out at +25dbu or there abouts where it's clip light registers, so feed the Apogee that level of a signal (white noise works best) and reduce the gain on the tiny pots until that's just barely clipping. Now adjust all of your gain on the V3.

Historical reading on the V2>MME calibration process:
http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,13843.0.html
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline 1Cylinder

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 187
  • Gender: Male
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2012, 09:22:21 PM »
Thanks!

Offline jazzgtrl4

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 842
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2012, 10:42:20 AM »
I Run V3>MiniMe. The line levels are fixed, no need to change the jumpers. The two gain knobs should be all the way clicked counter clockwise.
KM140/50's>V3>MiniMe>Marantz PMD661/MTII
Telefunken ELA M260's>Sonosax SX-M2>ad2k+
KM84i's seq s/n
AKG C414 B-ULS
SD Mixpre6

Offline boltman

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 983
  • Gender: Male
  • Music est vita!
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2012, 07:44:23 PM »
What is the benefit of running two preamps, both with A/D converters?  I'm just curious....


Offline page

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8392
  • Gender: Male
  • #TeamRetired
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2012, 09:28:05 PM »
What is the benefit of running two preamps, both with A/D converters?  I'm just curious....

different flavor. Each has a specific strength.

I suspect the preamps are more favorable in the V3, and many people really like the house Apogee A/D sound.
"This is a common practice we have on the bus; debating facts that we could easily find through printed material. It's like, how far is it today? I think it's four hours, and someone else comes in at 11 hours, and well, then we'll... just... talk about it..." - Jeb Puryear

"Nostalgia ain't what it used to be." - Jim Williams

Offline boltman

  • Trade Count: (37)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 983
  • Gender: Male
  • Music est vita!
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2012, 12:19:41 PM »

different flavor. Each has a specific strength.

I suspect the preamps are more favorable in the V3, and many people really like the house Apogee A/D sound.

******************
Gotcha....

Offline 1Cylinder

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 187
  • Gender: Male
Re: Apogee Mini Me - set up question
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2012, 12:37:37 AM »
What is the benefit of running two preamps, both with A/D converters?  I'm just curious....

>>>>> With mics > v3 > (analog signal) > mini-me > (digital signal) > digital recorder, you're running one preamp and one a/d converter.  I find the v3's preamp to be much better than the mini me's. However, I prefer the Apogee's a/d to the V3's.


 


 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.2 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF