Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: More AKG Blueline questions  (Read 3267 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Matt Quinn

  • No Ceilings
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2471
  • Gender: Male
  • beep boop
More AKG Blueline questions
« on: March 18, 2003, 03:19:43 PM »
Basically in regards to active cables. I've been told that you can run the Blueline series of caps with a set of Active cables, but I'm having a damn difficult time finding said cables. Also, I assumed that I could power that set up with  my UA-5, but some of the literature I've come across seems to indicate that you'd need the AKG power supply (B-18??) to make it work. Any leads on the cables (or a good pair of used Bluelines) would be much appreciated.
In: AT853>PMD620
Out: PC>Tascam US-1641>M-Audio BX8a

DAW: Ableton Live 9

My LMA Recordings

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2003, 03:36:06 PM »
The Bluelines take 9-52 VDC, so you should be fine powering them with a UA-5.

I don't have first-hand knowledge, but from what I've read on the Oade board, active cables are availble but are very expensive for these mics.  Somewhere in the neighborhood of the cost of the mic bodies and caps combined?  Expensive enough that I've never heard of someone actually running them, anyway.

Looks like there's a pair of mic bodies/caps on the Oade board:

http://www.oade.com/cgi-bin/miva?Forum/used_gear/showmsg.mv+message=2245
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2003, 03:43:23 PM »
I knew I saw this somewhere...Blueline actives part #:

http://www.oade.com/cgi-bin/miva?Forum/technology/showmsg.mv+message=10281

Elsewhere in the thread someone mentions pricing of ~$300 overseas - check out the whole thread and contact the poster if you end up going down that road.
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline jlykos

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't sweat the technique
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2003, 04:56:00 PM »
They are not even active cables.  They are just extension cables; you still need the bodies to amplify the signal.  And yes, they are really expensive.
dpa 4061 > Church Audio 9200 > Sony PCM-D50 (Moon Audio Silver Dragon v3 interconnect)

"I have no views," Mickey Melchiondo, known as Dean Ween, said in a philosophical moment. "I am way too stupid. I have no strong feelings about anything. I'm really into television and the computer. I believe everything I see on TV and read on the Internet."

Offline nickgregory

  • Admitted Jeter Homer
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 22386
  • Gender: Male
    • Hurricanes Insider
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2003, 05:11:12 PM »
Everyone is right...I checked into these when I got the mic's, and basically, they are around a 9" cable, that you still need the body to use.  The length and the body requirement, would make them relatively useless for true stealth applications (i.e. mics in hat).

Nick

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18886
  • Gender: Male
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2003, 06:03:21 PM »
They are not even active cables.  They are just extension cables; you still need the bodies to amplify the signal.  And yes, they are really expensive.

Alright, I thought I had this all figured out, and now I'm confused.  As far as I can tell, there are 3 primary ways to run caps/cables/amplification:

[1] caps > cables > mic body amplification (e.g. AK40 > LC3 > KM100)
[2] caps w/built-in amplification > terminated cable (e.g. DPA 4022)
[3] caps > cables > non-mic body amplification (e.g. CK61 > cables > JK Labs)

So, which of these situations is considered "active" and which isn't, and why?  

What I'm getting at is what exactly is the distinction between "active" cables and "extension" cables?

Confused... (nothing new)
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline Stumptown Matt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1602
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a happy tapir!
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2003, 06:24:35 PM »
I thought you still had to run the bodies with active cables unless A) your running Schoeps caps into Scheops preamp
B)JK labs (or other magic box)
C) DPAs (but you still need some sort of battery box right?)
In other words I thought active cables were extension cables. ??? ??? ???
When cleaning out her attic, Grace found several bootleg recordings her mother had made while traveling around the world with the Grateful Dead. Grace is not permitted to sell these bootleg recordings on eBay.

"If you like the Beach Boys, you'll love Widespread Panic."    -Big Mike
 
"Music Sounds Better on Grass" -Clear Channel advertising



.

Offline Matt Quinn

  • No Ceilings
  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2471
  • Gender: Male
  • beep boop
Re:More AKG Blueline questions
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2003, 09:13:41 AM »
Thanks for the assistance folks. I did find a Euro dealer that has them for about $300. I probably won't buy them right away, but it's nice to have the option.
In: AT853>PMD620
Out: PC>Tascam US-1641>M-Audio BX8a

DAW: Ableton Live 9

My LMA Recordings

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.105 seconds with 49 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF