Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: V3 (issue) Now non-issue, Now a(NON) Issue again:-)  (Read 4788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
V3 (issue) Now non-issue, Now a(NON) Issue again:-)
« on: June 17, 2013, 03:09:39 PM »
Repaired V3 was fine till today.  Packing for Mule plugged in battery to check things and smoke came pouring out of the V3 with that terrible burning electrical smell.....Back to the shop......DAMN

tried to use my V3 this weekend and ran into this.....AC power supply connected I get low battery light.  I also get bottom two level lights on and the over lights on.  Over lights come back right away after I clear them.  Checked split pin to make sure contact was good.  Tried different plug for AC source.  Any clues?  I need to use it by 27th and probably ain't enough tie to send it in for service with any hope of getting it back
« Last Edit: January 19, 2014, 10:04:08 AM by kirkd »

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2013, 03:20:27 PM »
I don't own any Grace equipment but from what I've read here they have exemplary customer service. If it was my unit I'd be on the phone to Grace and talk to them directly to see if they have any suggestions to what you can try. If they offer nothing or something that you don't feel comfortable doing, explain your desire to use it in ten days and see if they can expedite service on your unit. You may have to spring for overnite shipping both ways but I wouldn't delay getting in touch with them.

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2013, 03:23:51 PM »
Yep. Get on the phone with Grace asap. If it turns out they need to service the unit, it's likely they can meet your turn-around time.

That said, try using a different power source, preferably a DC battery, and not just another plug. I'm wondering if your AC power supply is bad.

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2013, 03:37:38 PM »
Yep. Get on the phone with Grace asap. If it turns out they need to service the unit, it's likely they can meet your turn-around time.

That said, try using a different power source, preferably a DC battery, and not just another plug. I'm wondering if your AC power supply is bad.
tried using different power supply and same result

Offline markrsmith

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (60)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 735
  • Gender: Male
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2013, 10:53:21 PM »
I got my V2 serviced and returned in less than 8 days.  Call/email to get the RMA # and it will go fast.  Fast and great service.

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2013, 12:26:18 PM »
There is a huge amount of variation in the quality and character of power from ac adapters.

Some put out really nasty power that I would never want expose my gear to.

One TSer had a wallwart damaged in a flood... He didn't know or forgot, and that damaged wallwart fried his gear.

I don't know if this relates at all to the issue you experienced, but thought it was worth mentioning.

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2013, 07:44:17 PM »
Grace ROCKS  They are sending me a loaner while they service mine.  now that is customer service!

Offline flipp

  • resident curmudgeon
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4308
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2013, 08:11:21 PM »
That's GREAT to read and yet another example of the exemplary customer service from Grace that I keep reading here on ts.

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40716
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2013, 08:43:09 PM »
That's awesome Kirk ;D
Recording Gear:
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

Portable Playback Gear:
Campfire Audio Dorado IEM's >
Linum G2 SuperBax & Bax {3.5mm} | 
FiiO LC 2.5c {2.5mm} >
Shanling Audio M5s | Sony NW-A35 DAP's

DAW:
Dell Inspiron 15 5570-5521 Laptop

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline DigiGal

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2542
  • Gender: Female
  • Boycott Photobucket, start moving photos now!
    • DigiGal Internet Archive Recordings
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2013, 12:24:56 AM »
Grace ROCKS  They are sending me a loaner while they service mine.  now that is customer service!

One word sums them up...  "Graceful"  :)
Mics: AKG CK91/CK94/CK98/SE300 | Shure VP88 | Senn ME66/K6/K6RD Cables: Gotham GAC-4/1 "StarQuad" w/Neutrik EMC | Gotham GAC-2pair w/AKG MK90/3 connectors | DigiGal AES>S/PDIF cable Preamp: SoundDevices MixPre-D Recorder: Marantz PMD 661 Edit: 27" 3.4GHz QuadCore i7 iMac | OS X High Sierra 10.13.6 | Wave Editor | xACT  | Transmission | Final Cut Pro X                                                            

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #10 on: June 23, 2013, 10:50:39 AM »
Yeah their tech phoned me back within hours of msg.  and when I expalined how I needed it for a three day festival I put on they were the ones that suggested a loaner.  They even shipped it out that same day.  This will be saving my ass.  I was going to have to beg to borrow a buddies since I HAD to have something that provided mic Preamp with wordclock AND SPDIF output. With my todo list already unmanageable before the shows I was dreading having to spend a couple hours driving just to borrow a pre.    Now I'm all set, yipiiee!  Oh and as a side note this was one of the units that were sold off as a bulk purchase and then ended up for sale on ebay new in a box.  Not one issue covering it under warranty with Grace. 

Offline capnhook

  • All your llamas are belong to us....
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 4012
  • All your llamas are belong to us....
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2013, 01:02:25 PM »
Awesome.....mighty fine!
Proud member of the reality-based community

BSCS-L->JB-mod [NAK CM-300 (CP-3) and/or (CP-1)]->LSD2->CA CAFS-Omni->Sony ECM-907**Apogee MiniMe Rev. C->CA Ugly II->**Edirol OCM R-44->Tascam DR-22WL->Sony TCD-D8


"Don't ever take an all or nothing attitude when it comes to making a difference
and being beautiful and making the world a beautiful place through your actions.
Every little bit is registered.  Every little bit.  So be as beautiful as you can as often as you can"

"It'll never be over, 'till we learn."
 
"My dream is to get a bus and get the band and just go coast to coast. Just about everything else except music, is anti-musical.  That's it.  Music's the thing." - Jeb Puryear

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 issue
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2013, 11:43:12 AM »
Belated Update:

My V3 was one of a batch purchased from Grace but never used by the buyer, who then sold them on E-bay.  Bought it new in a box.  Grace has honored the warranty which is awesome.  Got the unit back working good as new of course.  Got this from the tech at Grace:
It was a bit of a head-scratcher at first,
but we discovered that the mic amp IC was blown and drawing lots of
current.

When I asked what could cause this:
Hmm... not sure what would cause the mic amp to blow. Do you happen to
plug/unplug mics with the 48V on a lot? That could possibly do it, but
we haven't really tested that theory out.

And No I don't unplug mics hot.  BUt anyway, nice to have my V3 back and kicking butt again

cashandkerouac

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 (issue) Now non-issue:-)
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2013, 11:34:25 AM »
reading this thread put a big smile on my face.  customer service success stories are a beautiful thing.   :) 

kirk97132

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: V3 (issue) Now non-issue, Now an Issue again
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2013, 06:31:34 PM »
Smoked the unit just turning it on today...just F'ing awesome.  Gonna take that as a sign I am not supposed to record Mule tonight...party on dude

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.102 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF