Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)  (Read 34712 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EvilEye

  • Wishes He Could Get Out More..
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 468
  • YEEEWRAAAUGHHH... OOOOHHH..YEAAAHH
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #180 on: October 27, 2016, 02:49:51 PM »
just bought a backup.  brand new red one from Adorama, $245.00, free shipping.  not many left, I suspect.
AKG 460/ck61/ck63 /ck2 / ck8
AT853RX  - O/SC/C/H
Nbob AKG actives / Naiant PFAs / Bumblebee MiAGi-II Silver Cables
FR2-LE (Oade mod) / PCM-M10 / DR-70D
SD MP-2 / CA-9100

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3253
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #181 on: October 28, 2016, 11:27:09 AM »
I have had 2 for a while, back in the DAT days I had the need to have 2 "just in case", and I continue to have the backup for times when I have to wear the hat, as I have a SD for stand shows....
I hope they bring something new to CES in January

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2371
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #182 on: November 02, 2016, 10:11:58 PM »
Odd experience today: My spouse/partner has a PCM-M10 which she uses for playback of pre-recorded piano accompaniments for her singing. It has worked perfectly any number of times. But today at her voice lesson when she turned it on, the settings for playback speed and "key" (= pitch) had both shifted downwards, as I confirmed this evening when I looked through the menu settings.

Thing is, until tonight when I showed her, she didn't even know how to get in to the menus or to operate them, and no one else had had access to the recorder. Those settings just "changed themselves," it seems.

Has anyone else here had this happen?
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6485
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #183 on: November 02, 2016, 10:22:18 PM »
Odd experience today: My spouse/partner has a PCM-M10 which she uses for playback of pre-recorded piano accompaniments for her singing. It has worked perfectly any number of times. But today at her voice lesson when she turned it on, the settings for playback speed and "key" (= pitch) had both shifted downwards, as I confirmed this evening when I looked through the menu settings.

Thing is, until tonight when I showed her, she didn't even know how to get in to the menus or to operate them, and no one else had had access to the recorder. Those settings just "changed themselves," it seems.

Has anyone else here had this happen?
speed control switch on the back got moved, almost guarantee it.
Happened to me once in the car listen on the way home from a show, slide off the seat, hit the floor and moved without me knowing it was even there, had my heart skip a beat thinking I broke something lol

https://d37vpt3xizf75m.cloudfront.net/api/file/hnEHkmSEO8VXSR3syAwi Page 54 has details
It's switch "28", top left as you look at the front of m10
« Last Edit: November 02, 2016, 10:27:10 PM by willndmb »
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline yug du nord

  • uncleyug>Snowman>
  • Trade Count: (53)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4913
  • made with natural flavor
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #184 on: November 02, 2016, 10:43:53 PM »
^And I don't think that the switch on the back affects the recording..  only playback. 
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline DSatz

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2371
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #185 on: November 03, 2016, 07:24:43 AM »
Thanks for the reply and the link to the instruction manual. Yes, the DPC switch must have been turned on by accident. But that's understandable as a result of normal handling--and I found that problem easily enough, since a rectangle was displayed on the screen that showed the setting being applied (-15%).

That's the least mysterious part of this incident; what I don't understand is how the menu settings could have gotten set the way they were. The DPC menu item has a factory default of -30%, not -15% (of course I immediately set it to 0 so that the DPC switch setting now has no audible effect). And the "Key Control" (= pitch) was set to lower the pitch a half-step, and doesn't depend on any switch. It certainly wasn't set that way before yesterday, though neither of us accessed the menu in between.

So I hope that these settings won't slip again, if that's what they did.
music > microphones > a recorder of some sort

Offline andante

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #186 on: November 03, 2016, 12:51:21 PM »
Here's another quirk of the PCMM10 that I found by accident: I don't recommend anyone try is, but you can get signal/recording levels by plugging microphones into the headphone jack.


Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6418
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #187 on: November 03, 2016, 02:01:42 PM »
I suspect the signal you are getting in that situation is from the internal mics.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline andante

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #188 on: November 03, 2016, 03:06:06 PM »
You know you could be right!

But for some reason I still wonder if it might have been the microphones.  I was recording test tones with some church ca-11's about 1cm away from a speaker to test for a balance problem.  I got the headphone and microphone input plugs mixed up and noticed my error when I saw a dramatic difference in recording levels.  I can't remember if the levels were higher or lower going into the headphone jack as the microphone problem I was trying to record involved a dramatic volume difference and I was switching around different microphones and caps.

I was just happy that I didn't screw up the recorder!  :facepalm:

Offline dallman

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1470
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #189 on: November 04, 2016, 10:38:08 AM »
You know you could be right!

But for some reason I still wonder if it might have been the microphones.  I was recording test tones with some church ca-11's about 1cm away from a speaker to test for a balance problem.  I got the headphone and microphone input plugs mixed up and noticed my error when I saw a dramatic difference in recording levels.  I can't remember if the levels were higher or lower going into the headphone jack as the microphone problem I was trying to record involved a dramatic volume difference and I was switching around different microphones and caps.

I was just happy that I didn't screw up the recorder!  :facepalm:

If you have mics plugged into the headphone jack, that means there are no mics plugged into the mic or line input, so it will then default to the internal mics. It is not and would not be recording from mics plugged into the headphone jack, but it will output through those mics.
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Decks>Naiant options> Mics

Offline MikeyLNG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #190 on: November 07, 2016, 04:20:11 PM »
Hello all, newbie here so forgive the basic question. I finally have a set of mics coming (CA-11 cards) that I can test my M10 with. I don't have a battery box yet, so I will be plugging them directly into the device for now. Am I right in thinking I should use the mic in port with plug in power enabled? Or should it be the line in port instead? I read that the mic in port should be used more if it's a quieter/acoustic type set (I typically go to quite loud indie/rock type shows), so it's thrown me off a little.

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 585
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #191 on: November 07, 2016, 04:31:01 PM »
Hello all, newbie here so forgive the basic question. I finally have a set of mics coming (CA-11 cards) that I can test my M10 with. I don't have a battery box yet, so I will be plugging them directly into the device for now. Am I right in thinking I should use the mic in port with plug in power enabled? Or should it be the line in port instead? I read that the mic in port should be used more if it's a quieter/acoustic type set (I typically go to quite loud indie/rock type shows), so it's thrown me off a little.

Correct: If you don't have a battery box, you need to go Mic In with plug-in power, or the mics will just sit there unpowered and not do anything.

Once you do get a battery box, you can leave PIP off and choose between the more sensitive mic port (for quieter shows) and the less sensitive line in port (for louder ones).

If you mostly go to loud indie/rock type shows, I would guess that you're going to be less than thrilled with the performance of those mics until you get a battery box to provide sufficient voltage.

Offline popskull

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 594
  • Gender: Male
  • Analog....the ultimate sampling frequency
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #192 on: December 08, 2016, 11:07:31 AM »
Anyone experience line out/headphone jack failure?

My M-10 will not send a signal through a cable when inserted nor turn off the built in speaker.

I took the back cover off and examined the jack, it seems secured to the board, though looks rather accessible since it is underneath another board

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 900
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #193 on: January 08, 2017, 06:34:08 PM »
I was tempted to start another Sony M-10 thread, because having four or five at the same time makes so much more sense.  But, its been awhile since I logged on here, and actually was double shocked to learn two things: 

(1) That Sony has discontinued the World's best pocket recorder.  I have two but then again, I simply don't understand why a company would discontinue such a great little unit.

(2) Putting aside the corporate decision to discontinue it, not having a replacement for this market seems silly.  Will I have to get a third unit?  Jeez. 
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

Offline udovdh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 977
Re: Sony PCM-M10 (Part 8)
« Reply #194 on: January 09, 2017, 09:31:39 AM »
I got me 3rd unit...  ;D

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.238 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company