Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery  (Read 1539 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline deadcreekphish

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
    • https://archive.org/search.php?query=Scott%20Medeiros
Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« on: November 25, 2014, 05:40:00 PM »
I'm using a NP-F970 Battery for the Tascam Dr 680, Works great I can get 15 -18 hours out of it, but the battery won't start under its own power. I have to put 8 AA in the rig with external battery plugged in then it automatically kicks in as it was powered by ac. If I leave the AA batteries in for the whole recording ( chance something may power down and I can have time t swap out to another NP-F970 Battery ) they are dead within hours. If I get it where my external batt is recognized and pull out one battery I take the chance of loosing power and ultimately the whole recording.

My question is there a way to power this rig under it's own power using the NP-F970 Battery and when using this battery, I would like it not to also use the AA


Thanks

Offline hi and lo

  • Trade Count: (25)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2229
Re: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2014, 06:04:25 PM »
The NP-F970 is a 7.2v battery. I'm surprised the DR-680 works at all at this voltage and would never recommend continuing to use this battery, not knowing exactly what the lower than expected voltage might do to the unit. The DR-680 is spec'ed for 12v external power and will happily run on a 9v battery, but I think asking it to run on 7.2v is greedy and pushing it. This is why the unit won't start up; it's not meant to run at 7v.

Second, not using the internal AA's a mistake unless you are 110% confidence that you will never have an external power failure. The 680 is capable of seamlessly switching to the internal AA's if the external battery dies or is accidentally removed.

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1426
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2014, 12:04:43 PM »
That battery is for Sony camcorder,no?Im surprised it fits in there :o

Offline deadcreekphish

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Gender: Male
    • https://archive.org/search.php?query=Scott%20Medeiros
Re: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2014, 08:56:08 AM »
Thanks for the feed back .. I had gotten the idea for this  from this video  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AbqzmkkmqJ4 I should have researched a little more because I had no idea that these batteries were 7 volts... Again thanks for the feedback

Offline Sloan Simpson

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3359
  • Gender: Male
    • Southern Shelter
Re: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2014, 09:06:04 AM »
They should list the voltage on those batteries.
Neumann KM-184> Tascam DR-680

Offline rumbleseat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam Dr-680 NP-F970 Battery
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2015, 10:49:50 AM »
Those 7.2 volt batteries need a "cup" that up-converts the power to 12 volts.  The video glosses over this a bit, but it is clarified in the comments.
Here are two options that were discussed:

http://www.hawkwoods.co.uk/Prods/Product/DV-90R
http://ikancorp.com/productdetail.php?id=46

There was a post saying that the plug on one of these didn't fit the DR-680 so an adapter might be needed.
AKG C480B CK61 cards >  Canare L-4E6S with Neutrik EMC > Tascam DR-680 MKII > memories

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.172 seconds with 33 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company