Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F8 Review  (Read 44359 times)

stevetoney

• Trade Count: (0)
Zoom F8 Review
« on: November 01, 2015, 08:18:54 PM »
ZOOM F8 REVIEW

Welcome to my review of the Zoom F8 multi-track field recorder!

My goal in this review is to give people a fairly thorough understanding of this recorder and its functions, so that you can know what you’re buying before taking the leap.  I am a hobbyist field audio recordist, also known as a taper.  Though I’m quite active, I don’t use my equipment professionally and I’m not familiar with the needs of the film and recording industry.  So keep that in mind as you go through this review since, for example, timecode and/or detailed mixing functions aren’t necessarily features tapers use in the field. 

As of the writing of this review, I’ve owned the F8 for about two months and have recorded two music festivals (both were three day festivals in which I recorded all day long) and been out to clubs about five other times with it.  I’m not sure that I’ve mastered its functions, but feel I’ve used it enough to provide a fairly comprehensive overview.     

This review is broken down into sections, as listed below:

1.  General Overview
2.  Preamps
3.  Media and Storage
4.  Powering
5.  Menu Details
6.  Wireless - Bluetooth
7.  Using the Mixer
8.  Timecode
9.  Miscellaneous Items
10.  Specifications
11.  Suggestions and Issues

In general, I’ve attempted to stick with the facts, though reviews aren’t truly useful unless there’s some general impressions are provided.  I’ve provided those, but attempted to keep personal bias to a minimum. 

I sincerely hope everyone that reads it finds this review helpful.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2015, 04:04:31 PM by tonedeaf »

stevetoney

Re: Review - Zoom F8
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2015, 08:21:47 PM »
1.0   GENERAL OVERVIEW