Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: DPA d:VICE just announced  (Read 66715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (81)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2199
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #435 on: November 12, 2019, 08:14:20 PM »
NEW (not refurb) 32GB SEs at best buy for $60. locked to simple mobile (unless you want to spend $300 for a year of service), but no need to activate it  to be a dedicated recorder/ipod touch. Prob the last new ones out there since its been discontinued for a year

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/simple-mobile-apple-iphone-se-silver/6370444.p?ref=8575135&loc=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&acampID=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&skuId=6370444

since its new the phone also includes a year of apple TV+ ($60 value)

Damn, missed this, sold out!

 But the 128 gb IPhone 6 is only 80 and isn’t sold out
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #436 on: November 12, 2019, 09:48:19 PM »
NEW (not refurb) 32GB SEs at best buy for $60. locked to simple mobile (unless you want to spend $300 for a year of service), but no need to activate it  to be a dedicated recorder/ipod touch. Prob the last new ones out there since its been discontinued for a year

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/simple-mobile-apple-iphone-se-silver/6370444.p?ref=8575135&loc=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&acampID=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&skuId=6370444

since its new the phone also includes a year of apple TV+ ($60 value)

Damn, missed this, sold out!

 But the 128 gb IPhone 6 is only 80 and isn’t sold out

apart from being larger, iphone 6 is lower spec than 6s or SE, is considered obsolete, and cannot be updated to ios13

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #437 on: November 12, 2019, 09:50:22 PM »
NEW (not refurb) 32GB SEs at best buy for $60. locked to simple mobile (unless you want to spend $300 for a year of service), but no need to activate it  to be a dedicated recorder/ipod touch. Prob the last new ones out there since its been discontinued for a year

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/simple-mobile-apple-iphone-se-silver/6370444.p?ref=8575135&loc=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&acampID=3e990c5404cd11eab54996e3530149c00INT&skuId=6370444

since its new the phone also includes a year of apple TV+ ($60 value)

Damn, missed this, sold out!

local stores are out, but i can still put in cart for free delivery

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #438 on: November 21, 2019, 12:25:38 AM »
looks like the newer version of the app, (1.02 labeled "MMA-A") actually implements the lock feature correctly. i can adjust the level slider in metarecorder  but it has no function if the dpa app is locked.

as far as i understand it (wild ass guess), there is only one gain stage that is being adjusted via core audio whether you use either app.so im not sure there is really a "unity gain" setting

this is what a DPA rep told me last year in regard to setting level with dpa app vs metarecorder. emphasis mine


me:
My setup acts unpredictably sometimes like just now I hooked it up and set the levels, which were adjustable in the DPA app, then I locked it and went to MetaRecorder and then once I started recording none of the levels were adjustable in either of the apps.I get this lock up once every handful of times I do it. It only happens when I hit the lock button. Other times I hit the lock button and it does nothing at all, the apps levels are still adjustable and in the other app. Just now I connected, didn’t lock, started recording with MetaRecorder and levels were adjustable in the app, but did not match dpa app levels. Sometimes dpa levels sync to recording software, sometimes they do not. Sometimes they are adjustable, sometimes they are not. I am not sure which levels the DPA app is actually supposed to represent whether that’s analog input levels to the device or whether that is the digital data written relative to 0dbfs. I also have the ear of apogee Support I’m not sure if you’d like to do a conversation with those guys copied on it. Might be useful

DPA:
3rd party app should always be adjustable but the dpa analog input will keep it from clipping in other app

me:
Apogee guys say that that app has no gain so I have to assume at this point it’s directly interfacing with control logic of the dvice itself. I’ve done some other testing and uncovered a couple quirks but for now the sure way to safe recording for me seems to be to plug in the dvice, open up dpa app and make sure levels are set to minimum and that the rolloff is set to off, leave the app unlocked, close it then open up metarecorder and record where I can adjust levels.

Offline guygee

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #439 on: November 25, 2019, 08:01:02 PM »
Thanks for the great thread all, convinced me to jump off the cliff: d:vice + Core 4061 Stereo Microphone Kit on back-order (+ new Apple 128 GB SE) .
Less (volume, mass, conductivity) is best, although not le$$.  Will report back in a few weeks.

Next on list saving some pennies for Nick+Ed cable solution for Schoeps caps.

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #440 on: December 17, 2019, 05:38:34 AM »

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2707
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #441 on: December 18, 2019, 01:48:22 PM »
$60 new iphone SEs back in stock at best buy

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/simple-mobile-apple-iphone-se-silver/6370444.p?skuId=6370444

Sorry I haven't kept up with this thread very well...are these proven reliable with the d:vice?
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #442 on: December 18, 2019, 05:05:22 PM »
it’s all i’ve ever used. i also have an SE as my daily driver phone


Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2707
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #443 on: December 18, 2019, 05:06:32 PM »
it’s all i’ve ever used. i also have an SE as my daily driver phone

Thanks.  Can it download the necessary apps without actually being activated on a phone service?  I assume wifi is enough?
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3665
  • ISO ALL archival Cracker / CVB / Monks Of Doom etc
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #444 on: December 18, 2019, 05:42:52 PM »
Thanks.  Can it download the necessary apps without actually being activated on a phone service?  I assume wifi is enough?
yes, wifi will do it.


Once you get it running stable, I'm not sure how much you even need to keep it updated?
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline WiFiJeff

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 852
  • Gender: Male
  • I tape therefore I am.
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #445 on: December 18, 2019, 05:50:25 PM »
Cautionary tale: I had an old iPhone 6+ Pro (bigger battery and memory) running in iOS 10 for two years using Rode Recorder, with a dummy sim card.  I began having battery life issues (didn't lose any recordings but too close!) and let Apple Support analyze my phone over the net, they said it might not need a battery replacement just an upgrade to iOS 13.  I did this reluctantly.  It fixed the battery issue.  However, Rode Recorder (full edition) didn't run!  It is as of the other day still not available anymore at the Apple Store, a new version will be available "shortly."  "Shortly" seems to mean months not weeks.  I have been using Metarecorder (paid version) for a month or two and have gotten used to it, file transfer is easier.  Beware software upgrades!!!

Jeff

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2707
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #446 on: December 18, 2019, 06:03:07 PM »
Once you get it running stable, I'm not sure how much you even need to keep it updated?

My plan is to get it up and running and then never change/update anything unless absolutely necessary.
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #447 on: December 18, 2019, 10:04:28 PM »
those prob have ios11 out of the box which is fine


Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2707
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #448 on: December 18, 2019, 10:19:20 PM »
The ol' lady has an old iPhone 5 that I'm trying. I've got the apps installed so now I just need to get the hang of running them and make sure it all works properly.
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • team WOOz
Re: DPA d:VICE just announced
« Reply #449 on: December 19, 2019, 12:11:40 AM »
that’ll do. as long as it’s got good battery and a non-worn out lightning port it should be fine.

i think many will back me up that metarecorder is the software of choice

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF