Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Problem with Sony M10  (Read 876 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nolajay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Problem with Sony M10
« on: May 02, 2017, 01:26:13 PM »
I just bought a Sony M10 from Ebay and brought it to JazzFest. I basically ruined every recording. My mics are CA14 cards with an ugly box, which are not the problem.

I started off setting the M10 at 24/96. If I record to the main memory this seems to work, but that only gives an hour of recording.

If I record directly to the SD card it will record perfectly for a while, then there is tremendous diginoise for a half hour which then sometimes magically goes away.

The recorder automatically opens a new 2GB file as each one fills up, and the pattern in the new file is normally the same - it records for a while then there is loud noise.

I tried setting it at 16/44 for the last night, thinking maybe the SD card just couldn't keep up with the data rate. This recording was more puzzling. After more than an hour, a slight background noise began which got slightly louder over a period of a few minutes, but by then I was done recording.

Does anyone have any idea of what I'm doing wrong?

The SD card in there is a 16GB SanDisk Ultra class 10 SDHC card, which came with the M10 from eBay. My understanding of the older M10 threads is that this class 10 card should work fine.

I considered just using the internal memory and copying to the SD card, but the copy process takes quite a while and won't work in the gap between songs.

Do I need to stop and start recording every half hour or so just to force the M10 to start a new file?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2017, 01:37:14 PM by nolajay »

Offline dogmusic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2017, 01:50:32 PM »
I just bought a Sony M10 from Ebay and brought it to JazzFest. I basically ruined every recording. My mics are CA14 cards with an ugly box, which are not the problem.

I started off setting the M10 at 24/96. If I record to the main memory this seems to work, but that only gives an hour of recording.

If I record directly to the SD card it will record perfectly for a while, then there is tremendous diginoise for a half hour which then sometimes magically goes away.

The recorder automatically opens a new 2GB file as each one fills up, and the pattern in the new file is normally the same - it records for a while then there is loud noise.

I tried setting it at 16/44 for the last night, thinking maybe the SD card just couldn't keep up with the data rate. This recording was more puzzling. After more than an hour, a slight background noise began which got slightly louder over a period of a few minutes, but by then I was done recording.

Does anyone have any idea of what I'm doing wrong?

The SD card in there is a 16GB SanDisk Ultra class 10 SDHC card, which came with the M10 from eBay. My understanding of the older M10 threads is that this class 10 card should work fine.

I considered just using the internal memory and copying to the SD card, but the copy process takes quite a while and won't work in the gap between songs.

Do I need to stop and start recording every half hour or so just to force the M10 to start a new file?

Did you try recording just with the internal mics? If the problem persists, you can eliminate your externals for sure.

Are the batteries in the M10 good? Try new ones.

Did you try a different SD card? Be sure any cards you use are first formatted in the M10.
"The ear is much more than a mere appendage on the side of the head." - Catherine Parker Anthony, Structure and Function of the Human Body (1972)

"That's metaphysically absurd, man! How can I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2477
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2017, 03:38:15 PM »
Do I need to stop and start recording every half hour or so just to force the M10 to start a new file?
you should not have to do this.

Sounds like it could be a bad SD card. Try recording something random for an hour on a different card?
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Online Fatah Ruark (aka MIKE B)

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8839
  • Gender: Male
  • I dream in beige.
    • sloppy.art.ink
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2017, 07:30:12 PM »
I had a similar issue with mine. Turned out to be a bad card.

Also just record at 24/48. There is no need to do 24/96. It just takes up 2x as much space. I know I can't hear the difference between the two with a concert recording (maybe a really nice studio recording).

I always record to the internal storage first. Never had an issue with the internal storage. Most normal shows fit on the internal storage at 24/48.
-24      -12              -6             0       OVER
||||||||||||||||||||||||||| []  
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| []

||| MICS:  Beyer CK930 ~ Nevaton MCE400 ~ Countryman B3 |||
||| CABLES: Kind Kables |||
||| PREAMPS: Naiant Tinybox | Naiant Littlebox | Naiant IPA | Church BB |||
||| DECKS: Sound Devices MixPre6 | Sony M10 |||
||| PLAYBACK: Outlaw Audio RR2150 > Epos ELS8 |||
||| PHOTO: Sony a6000 | Sony 16-50 | Sony 55-210 | Rokinon 14mm | Rokinon 8mm |||
|||Concert History || LMA Recordings || Live YouTube Channel || Tumblr Concert Blog|||

Online rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 418
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2017, 07:50:28 PM »
Have you formatted the card since getting the device?
MK22's / MK41's / MK41v's (for sale) / MK4v's / MK4's / AKG C480Bs+ck61, ck63 / Telefunken FET M60 Cards and Hypers (for sale) / AT853s (for sale)
KCY 250/5 and Nbob KCY (x2) > naiant PFA or IPA or Nbox  / SP-SPSB-11 Battery Box
Zoom F8 (for sale) / Sony M-10 / Mixpre-6 / Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline nolajay

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2017, 11:17:31 AM »
Thanks to all for the advice.

I had indeed formatted it over and over, so that wasn't my problem. I also had new batteries and the mics are OK.

As far as I can tell, it's a bad 16GB SD card. I bought a new 32GB one and let it record for hours and the problem didn't manifest itself. I'll test it later today at Marcia Ball but I'm optimistic that's the problem.

And for the record - for those searching through this forum - I bought a 64GB SD card which was not supported by the M10. It was OK with a 32GB but it can't format a 64GB card. I put the 64GB card in an Edirol (Roland) R-09HR and it doesn't support (can't format) a 64GB card either.


Offline adrianb

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2017, 01:54:31 PM »
I use 64GB cards in my M10 absolutely no problem. Don't format in the unit though, download Guiformat and then format FAT32.

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Problem with Sony M10
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2017, 02:10:39 PM »
Here's a guide how to format a 64GB card to make it work with M10:

https://www.head-fi.org/f/threads/sony-pcm-m10-as-portable-player.456327/page-9#post-8727898
It's not about fancy equipment. It's about the thrill, passion and hard work. Liberate the music!

"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.176 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company