Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 12v UA5 ?  (Read 2304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
12v UA5 ?
« on: May 08, 2004, 01:48:30 AM »
what are the +'s and -'s of running the Ua5 at 12v.

I just got my Battery pack built tonight and tested but was kinda woindering for the record why more folks are not using SLA instead of Rc batts.

Is it the weight or the size?

thanks in advance for any help

Nick

AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

Offline Brian

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 9406
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2004, 01:51:18 AM »
why slug around a mulltiple pund SLA when you can bring batteries that weigh a pound which can power your UA5 for more hours than you'll ever need?

i think that is the reason. 2 3000mA/h weighs a lot less than one SLA that's for sure.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2004, 01:56:22 AM by S_TL-Taper »

Offline fozzy

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3805
  • Gender: Male
  • move along, nothing much to see here
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2004, 03:52:31 AM »
i have 4 3200Mah 7.2v rc packs and that gets me 22+ hours

FT: AT853 hyper caps, I need white, have black pair

Rig:
MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > V2 > 722

Playback 1: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > AKG 701
Playback 2: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > Audioquest Diamondback XLR > PS Audio HCA2 > Kimber 4pr >B&W 600S3
Playback office: Generic Pci coax > Lucid DAC9624 > AKG K240

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2004, 05:25:37 PM »
how are you running 7.2 to the UA-5?

my? was is there any -'s to running the UA-5 @ 12v
AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

Offline fozzy

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3805
  • Gender: Male
  • move along, nothing much to see here
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2004, 01:19:26 AM »
how are you running 7.2 to the UA-5?

my? was is there any -'s to running the UA-5 @ 12v

Running 7.2v straight into the back.

12v's are heavy I got a 7.2ah one w/ xlr's but my 3200Mah rc's work fine and get 3+ time more runtime w/ less weight.  I have a 4 headed plug w/ some cable, deans plugs,  and a ratshack "M" adaptaplug into the UA-5.  No problems running the thing off of 7.2V.  

you want some pics?

FT: AT853 hyper caps, I need white, have black pair

Rig:
MK 4V > KCY 250/5 Ig (KS 10I)  > VST62IUg > V2 > 722

Playback 1: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > AKG 701
Playback 2: Audiophile 2496 > coax > Benchmark DAC1 > Audioquest Diamondback XLR > PS Audio HCA2 > Kimber 4pr >B&W 600S3
Playback office: Generic Pci coax > Lucid DAC9624 > AKG K240

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2004, 10:42:39 AM »
 
Quote

Running 7.2v straight into the back.

12v's are heavy I got a 7.2ah one w/ xlr's but my 3200Mah rc's work fine and get 3+ time more runtime w/ less weight.  I have a 4 headed plug w/ some cable, deans plugs,  and a ratshack "M" adaptaplug into the UA-5.  No problems running the thing off of 7.2V.  

you want some pics?


Quote

I believe ya. I must have missed that thread as I thought the UA5 only ran on 9v or 12v.

thanks for the heads up.

nick
AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2004, 12:38:41 PM »
nope, i think it even runs down to 6v possibly- think its rated 6-14v, but not sure.

Offline BCostigan

  • I can resist everything except temptation
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3695
  • Gender: Male
  • Loose Lucy is my delight
    • GranitePhotography
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2004, 12:55:35 PM »
I run a 12 volt SLA cause, more than anything, I'm used to them.  I have a 7ah that will give me all the recording time I could want.....I tried the RC pack thing and just wasn't comfortable with it.



"A Hippie is someone who walks like Tarzan, looks like Jane, and smells like Cheetah."  ~Ronald Reagan

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2004, 01:43:08 PM »
I run a 12 volt SLA cause, more than anything, I'm used to them.  I have a 7ah that will give me all the recording time I could want.....I tried the RC pack thing and just wasn't comfortable with it.





I kinda got suckered into Sla as my first real taping gig is going to be a 3 day fest (which I have added up to be taping about 9-10 hours worth running power to a UA5/Jb3 .
SO I figured I would go Sla as they dont make a big enough Rc pack to handle that kinda usage on a single pack, and I didnt want to keep track of which Battery I had used the day before or having to try to recharge them at the fest. Or just buying 3 of the suckers at 20+ bucks a pop

I picked up 2 12v7Ah Sla's of a Ebay for $7.15 a piece +$7.50 shipping and snagged a 12v1Ah Charger from batterymart.com
Which was much cheaper than I could get Rc packs and a charger for.

I would like to be able to run both the Jb3 and the Ua5 of the same Sla for 2-3 hour shows. But we'll see if that is possible


Thanks for the help
Nick


AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

Offline caymanreview

  • Trade Count: (22)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9853
  • Gender: Male
    • shows ive taped  that are in circulation
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2004, 02:33:53 PM »
i was thinking that someone opened up thier ua5, and recognized the power input as one that "could" take like 6-31v, but they didnt reccomend feeding it more than 12

could it have been dklien maybe who said this?

Offline sexymexi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1778
  • Gender: Male
    • show list
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2004, 10:26:03 PM »
i run my dat off a 12v sla, so i just made another line coming out of it for my ua-5.  simple easy, and with a 12ah sla i can get i think 9 hrs using both simultaniously.  Although i do have a couple 3000mah rc batt packs cause they are so damn handy.  

I also don't think it makes one bit of difference running the ua-5 on 12v's cause my 9.6v rc batts when fully charged push 12+ volts, so i just simplified the process using one battery, and it has worked damn well for me
AKG 391's > phantom boxes > JB3 or Casio DA-7
Panasonic WM1610 omni's > whatever

Playback: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > Onkyo TSDX595 > matched Oynix Rockets > Mirage FRX-S8 sub

Offline momule

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2180
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2004, 08:43:58 AM »
right on . thats what I was looking for .

Thanks for the info Mexi.

nick
AKG 463's (uno ck62) > Mackie Onyx Satellite > Microtrack II

Offline AT853rxwh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 829
  • You wanna stick those white mics where?
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2004, 06:03:16 PM »
how are you running 7.2 to the UA-5?

my? was is there any -'s to running the UA-5 @ 12v

Running 7.2v straight into the back.

12v's are heavy I got a 7.2ah one w/ xlr's but my 3200Mah rc's work fine and get 3+ time more runtime w/ less weight.  I have a 4 headed plug w/ some cable, deans plugs,  and a ratshack "M" adaptaplug into the UA-5.  No problems running the thing off of 7.2V.  

you want some pics?



Hmmm very interesting.... Do you have any problems with phantom voltage?
"Oh, but you can't expect to wield supreme executive power just because some watery tart threw a sword at you!"

Offline Mojowill

  • Educated, no. Stupid, yup.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12935
  • Gender: Male
  • YOGIS R.I.P.
    • Mojowill's Music List
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2004, 11:02:11 PM »
check out that lithium ion battery from wal mart it is listed in another thread around here.  that is like 5400mah and looks less bulky than the SLA's.
I'm a mean machine drinkin gasoline and honey you can make my motor hum.

Offline dklein

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1191
  • Gender: Male
Re:12v UA5 ?
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2004, 02:19:14 AM »
i was thinking that someone opened up thier ua5, and recognized the power input as one that "could" take like 6-31v, but they didnt reccomend feeding it more than 12

could it have been dklien maybe who said this?

yeah, it was 8 - 38 on this thing  - the power supply input http://www.rohm.com/products/databook/pm/pdf/bp5220.pdf
KM 184 > V2 > R4
older recording gear: UA-5  / emagic A62 / laptop / JB3 / CSB / AD20 / Sharp MT-90 / Sony MDS-JE510
Playback: Pioneer DV-578 > Lucid DA 9624 >many funny little british boxes > Linn Isobarik PMS

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.208 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF