Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Picked out computer opinions needed I'm a tech idiot  (Read 921 times)

Offline MakersMarc

• Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • Tucson AZ
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620 or Sony M10.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620 or m10

Offline heathen

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Picked out computer opinions needed I'm a tech idiot
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 02:19:55 PM »
Depends on what you're using it for.  At first glance the only thing that stands out to me is the HDD.  SSDs are a very noticeable improvement to boot up times and the like.  Personally, I wouldn't go back to having an HDD as my primary drive.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

• Taperssection All-Star
  • Tucson AZ

Offline Gordon

• Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
    • my list
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2018, 02:59:37 PM »
agree on SSD.  also not a huge deal but it's only a 4th gen i5 (they are on 8 now).  See how this i5 stands up to the 7th gen one.

http://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Intel-Core-i5-7300U-vs-Intel-Core-i5-4300U/m223355vsm4996

Newer gens are much more efficient.
Neumann ak40 > Nick mod lc3 > Naiant PFA or km140 > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline rocksuitcase

• Trade Count: (1)
    • RockSuitcase: stage photography
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2018, 03:02:42 PM »
All the new PC's we order or have Dell build use SSD's for their boot/system drive. For instance, the last one I ordered had a 512 GB M SSD drive (for boot/system) and a 2 TB SATA drive (for storage)
music IS love

When you get confused, listen to the music play!

Mics:         AKG460|CK61|CK1|CK3|CK8|Beyer M 201E
Recorders:Marantz PMD661 OADE Concert mod; Tascam DR680 MKI