Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5  (Read 19335 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dynamicalories

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #75 on: July 12, 2018, 09:15:37 AM »
Just got my MixPre-6 yesterday and I think I've mostly got this thing figured out, but two questions remain:

1. How do I turn off the recording of the L-R Mix track? I just want to record 4 tracks. I figured out how to link channels 1 and 2, and 3 and 4, so I basically just want to end up with 2 stereo tracks which I do understand will be in a polywave file.

2. Is there still an issue with 64 GB SD cards? Or has that issue been resolved. (I've got the 2.21 firmware.)

Thanks!

Online dallman

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1613
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #76 on: July 12, 2018, 10:45:16 AM »
Just got my MixPre-6 yesterday and I think I've mostly got this thing figured out, but two questions remain:

1. How do I turn off the recording of the L-R Mix track? I just want to record 4 tracks. I figured out how to link channels 1 and 2, and 3 and 4, so I basically just want to end up with 2 stereo tracks which I do understand will be in a polywave file.
MENU-RECORD- SUB MENU-Rec L,R Mix-Deselect L&R (Off). You will still see the meters, but it will not record them. Pg 29 of the manual

2. Is there still an issue with 64 GB SD cards? Or has that issue been resolved. (I've got the 2.21 firmware.)
No issue. I have been using 64 and 128 cards without any issue.

Thanks!
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Deck>possibly something here> Mics

Offline dynamicalories

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 217
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #77 on: July 12, 2018, 11:19:47 AM »
Thanks!

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #78 on: July 12, 2018, 12:23:18 PM »
Just got my MixPre-6 yesterday and I think I've mostly got this thing figured out, but two questions remain:

1. How do I turn off the recording of the L-R Mix track? I just want to record 4 tracks. I figured out how to link channels 1 and 2, and 3 and 4, so I basically just want to end up with 2 stereo tracks which I do understand will be in a polywave file.
MENU-RECORD- SUB MENU-Rec L,R Mix-Deselect L&R (Off). You will still see the meters, but it will not record them. Pg 29 of the manual

Note that the record mode must be set to Advanced for this to be available.

What's the difference between OFF and OFF AND LINKED for the mix tracks?
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline aaronji

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2400
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #79 on: July 12, 2018, 12:36:52 PM »
Sorry my post was not clear. I typed it up, and then right before posting, I reorganized it, and it reads like I was saying your reaction to the battery choice was weird. Not what I meant.

I meant that the behavior of mjwin's machine was weird!!!

No worries; I kind of figured it was something like that!

It now works correctly! (?) 

That's good to hear.  Out of curiosity, can you think of anything you may have done differently or did the gremlins exorcise themselves?

Online dallman

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1613
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #80 on: July 12, 2018, 12:41:52 PM »
Just got my MixPre-6 yesterday and I think I've mostly got this thing figured out, but two questions remain:

1. How do I turn off the recording of the L-R Mix track? I just want to record 4 tracks. I figured out how to link channels 1 and 2, and 3 and 4, so I basically just want to end up with 2 stereo tracks which I do understand will be in a polywave file.
MENU-RECORD- SUB MENU-Rec L,R Mix-Deselect L&R (Off). You will still see the meters, but it will not record them. Pg 29 of the manual

Note that the record mode must be set to Advanced for this to be available.
In Basic mode, only the L/R mix bus will be recorded. (Also pg 29) If recording 4 channels you will already be in Advanced mode. ;D

What's the difference between OFF and OFF AND LINKED for the mix tracks?
There is no "OFF and LINKED" setting, there is a "LR LINKED" setting which means the Left Gain controls the the LR mix.

Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Deck>possibly something here> Mics

Offline mjwin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #81 on: July 12, 2018, 03:19:16 PM »
It now works correctly! (?) 

That's good to hear.  Out of curiosity, can you think of anything you may have done differently or did the gremlins exorcise themselves?

Well, the latter, I think. For a short while...   Next day I tried again & the problem was back. Then I saw:


Today I called tech-support and the tech suggested I try a reset which consisted of holding the headphone knob and the channel one knob down while powering up and keeping them held down until I got to the home screen.

Thanks for this.  Actually, I think we need to produce our own TS version of the user guide, but without all the important stuff left out lol!

So I tried the system reset, & got a screen which says:
"formatting settings, please wait" (takes about 30sec before home screen)

Which cleared the problem. Great. So at least the issue appears to be  software related & not the box itself. I plugged & unplugged the USB cable in various combinations of power up/down, and it continued to behave just fine.

Then I re-loaded my settings which I'd saved to SD card... But, on the next attempt at USB connection, it hung! 

At this point, I did the factory reset again, and all was fine once more.

So I figured the problem is something to do with my saved settings.  Fortunately the files are in .xml format, so easy to view.  Every parameter is specified explicitly, so it's easy to go through line by line & compare my personal settings with the default values. Nothing seems obviously amiss or corrupt,  though a few of the numerical parameters don't make much sense without specialist knowledge of the firmware. 

So this time I re-configured the settings manually & saved them. As yet, things are working ok.   So for some reason I might just have created a corrupt setup file the first time around.

And that, in a (rather large) nutshell, it where I'm at. But I'm treading cautiously...


Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #82 on: July 12, 2018, 06:52:16 PM »
Note that the record mode must be set to Advanced for this to be available.
In Basic mode, only the L/R mix bus will be recorded. (Also pg 29) If recording 4 channels you will already be in Advanced mode. ;D

What's the difference between OFF and OFF AND LINKED for the mix tracks?
There is no "OFF and LINKED" setting, there is a "LR LINKED" setting which means the Left Gain controls the the LR mix.

In v2.21 there is a record setting for the Rec L,R called "Off & Linked" - it's on page two of the Mix control options.
Page 1 has L&R Linked, L&R, L, R
Page 2 has Off, or Off & Linked
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline larrysellers

  • Trade Count: (35)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2153
  • Gender: Male
  • Qualified
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #83 on: July 12, 2018, 07:05:27 PM »
I passed a TC signal from my Fostex FR2 and it was received by the Mixpre 3. RCA TC output of the FR2 to the mini aux input of the Mixpre 3. Record trigger worked perfect too.

Online dallman

  • Trade Count: (28)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1613
  • Gender: Male
    • Clifford Morse
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #84 on: July 13, 2018, 01:04:40 AM »
Note that the record mode must be set to Advanced for this to be available.
In Basic mode, only the L/R mix bus will be recorded. (Also pg 29) If recording 4 channels you will already be in Advanced mode. ;D

What's the difference between OFF and OFF AND LINKED for the mix tracks?
There is no "OFF and LINKED" setting, there is a "LR LINKED" setting which means the Left Gain controls the the LR mix.

In v2.21 there is a record setting for the Rec L,R called "Off & Linked" - it's on page two of the Mix control options.
Page 1 has L&R Linked, L&R, L, R
Page 2 has Off, or Off & Linked
Sorry, I didn't realize there were some new screens.
Per Sound Devices:
The Rec L,R Off and Linked button links the Left and Right track and disarms both.
Seems silly, but maybe there is a reason I am just not seeing.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2018, 02:31:25 PM by dallman »
Support Live Music: Tape A Show Today!
Deck>possibly something here> Mics

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #85 on: July 14, 2018, 03:37:34 PM »
Can't get my MP3 to show up as an output usb device on my MAC, trying to use as headphone amp?
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline justme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #86 on: July 14, 2018, 07:47:26 PM »
Can't get my MP3 to show up as an output usb device on my MAC, trying to use as headphone amp?

When you connect the MP3 via USB-C to the Mac - Make sure the MP3 System setting for USB-C is set to Audio to enable it as a USB audio interface.
If it is set to Power Only the MP3 will not act as an USB I/O interface.

To enable the MP3 as a 5 channels Input and 2 channels Output interface - Make sure the System Setting for USB Audio is set to Normal. You will need to launch the macOS Audio Midi Setup and choose 6 Channels (and relaunch the Audio Midi app). Then you will have a 3 channel + LR Mix Input and 2 channels Output enabled.
If it is set to Stereo Out - the MP3 will act as a 2 channel Output only unit.

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #87 on: July 15, 2018, 01:01:09 PM »
Can't get my MP3 to show up as an output usb device on my MAC, trying to use as headphone amp?

When you connect the MP3 via USB-C to the Mac - Make sure the MP3 System setting for USB-C is set to Audio to enable it as a USB audio interface.
If it is set to Power Only the MP3 will not act as an USB I/O interface.

To enable the MP3 as a 5 channels Input and 2 channels Output interface - Make sure the System Setting for USB Audio is set to Normal. You will need to launch the macOS Audio Midi Setup and choose 6 Channels (and relaunch the Audio Midi app). Then you will have a 3 channel + LR Mix Input and 2 channels Output enabled.
If it is set to Stereo Out - the MP3 will act as a 2 channel Output only unit.

Thanks for the advise, but i know all that. It just wont show up as a USB device, can't get it to mount to transfer a file. It has been this way since i bought
it brand new. IT won't work with any of my Macs. Here's a pic of my Midi Panel . BTW...latest firmware and latest Mac OS
« Last Edit: July 15, 2018, 01:06:31 PM by edtyre »
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline justme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #88 on: July 15, 2018, 01:14:38 PM »
I'm a little confused here :)

Does it not show up as a USB Audio device and not even as a USB transfer mode even if you select File Transfer?
Do you have any other USB Audio devices connected at the same time?
In macOS you can set Finders prefs to not show external devices from the side bar and in the sidebar you can choose to hide any external units.

Which macOS do you use?
Which cable do you use to connect the MP3 with the Mac?

On my MBP 2015 with macOS 10.13.5 I've tried the included USB-C to dual USB A and they work.
I've also tried an Anker USB-C to USB A which also works properly.

What does the System Information and USB units show when you have the MP3 connected?

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10574
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Sound Devices MixPre-3 and 6, Part 5
« Reply #89 on: July 15, 2018, 01:24:24 PM »
in the mixpre settings are you going into system > file transfer?
Neumann ak40 > Nick mod lc3 > Naiant PFA or km140 > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.244 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF