Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: iZotope Rx 7  (Read 3370 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline colargol

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 152
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2019, 01:16:19 PM »
I picked up the elements package, and I have tried the de-clip function on some of my first digital recordings from my early taping days back in '93. Back then I did not even have internet (I don't know if DATheads was even started back then), so I didn't know how to do stuff. I used a crappy Sony microphone with my Denon DTR-80P, and unfortunately I used the high setting for the mic preamp on the recorder. So those recordings are all brickwalled like crazy...

So, long story short, these recordings are of course never going to sound great, but the de-clip function works great to recreate the dynamics of the recordings. I never though I would ever listen to them again, but now they sound pretty decent considering my equipment.

I am pretty amazed that it is possible to do this after 25 years... If you do do have brickwalled recordings, I would definitely recommend trying it  ;D
MK4s/MK41s > nbox/nbob actives > tinybox/nbox platinum/babynbox > M10/A10

Offline beegar

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 406
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2019, 11:10:28 AM »
Would it be possible for anyone to run declip for me on a one file show? I've done it on my machine but it freezes up when I go to render so it's basically useless. Thanks.
Mics: MBHO/AKG/Sennheiser/Audio-Technica
Preamp: Shure
Decks: Sound Devices/Sony

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10902
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2019, 11:23:32 AM »
Would it be possible for anyone to run declip for me on a one file show? I've done it on my machine but it freezes up when I go to render so it's basically useless. Thanks.

pm me a dropbox (or similar) link and I'll get to it later today.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline beegar

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 406
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2019, 08:40:07 PM »
Would it be possible for anyone to run declip for me on a one file show? I've done it on my machine but it freezes up when I go to render so it's basically useless. Thanks.

pm me a dropbox (or similar) link and I'll get to it later today.

Thanks Gordon. I left the program running at lunch today and at some point it actually rendered the file  ::)
Mics: MBHO/AKG/Sennheiser/Audio-Technica
Preamp: Shure
Decks: Sound Devices/Sony

Offline checht

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 249
  • Gender: Male
  • Old and in the Way
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2019, 07:03:21 PM »
Grabbed RX7 std today for $284, finally taking the plunge.

Noob question: do you run it stand alone, or as a plug in for a DAW,

Figure it wouldn't place nice in Audacity, but mayhaps Reaper.

TIA
Schoeps MSTC64g, Shure MV-88
Schoeps KCY 250/0 lg, Naiant IPA, PFA 60v
Sound Devices MP-6, Roland R-07

Offline ycoop

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 501
  • Gender: Male
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #20 on: April 30, 2019, 01:51:54 AM »
I have rx 7 elements and the plugins all run nicely in Reaper. They do *technically* work in Audacity, but without real time capability they are far from fully functional.
Mics: Avantone CK-1s, CA-14 omnis
Pres: CA9100
Recorders: Marantz PMD-706, DR-60d mkII, DR-22wl

Offline nassau73

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #21 on: May 01, 2019, 01:10:22 PM »
Grabbed RX7 std today for $284, finally taking the plunge.

Noob question: do you run it stand alone, or as a plug in for a DAW,

TIA

I believe you can do either but I run it standalone. I've added some plugins from other places.

It installs both 32 and 64 bit versions.

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10902
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #22 on: May 01, 2019, 01:27:42 PM »
I use wavelab and for some things (declick) the VST plugins work great.  There are many things there aren't plugins for like de-wind, music re balance, spectral repair partials and noise etc.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline Scooter123

  • "I am not an alcoholic. I am a drunk. Drunks don't go to meetings."
  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 965
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2019, 11:39:01 PM »
I run it as a standalone
Regards,

Scooter123

mk41 > N Box  > Sony M-10
mk4 > N Box > Sony M-10

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.183 seconds with 36 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF