Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: iZotope Rx 7  (Read 5528 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2019, 08:08:38 PM »
When I used '7 declip last it was so far gone that it couldn't recover. Perhaps I've not set it up correctly. The overs seemed to be low end related and the post processing sounded... not good.

If anyone with a lot of experience in this would care to divulge settings, perhaps I can make it happen yet.

TIA

Maybe try this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlliT3idQsY
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10
Playback: McIntosh MC 2105 > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9025
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #31 on: June 03, 2019, 08:54:50 PM »
Thanks, but that elementary example did not come close to my mess. In hind sight I think I was bricking the A/D as opposed to overloading the mics. I fear that's an entirely different animal.
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11003
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #32 on: July 12, 2019, 01:04:34 PM »
iZotope rx users, anyone care to take a stab at these samples?  Show last week there was some slight distortion/saturation in the vocals from the PA.  Much more noticeable on the SBD but on the AUD as well.  AUD is way to chatty to use alone!  I've gotten pretty good at iZotope but no luck with this one.  I've tried de-clip, de-crackle and de-rusle....... 

SBD sample first.  The first vocals (Well my baby) are probably the worst of the whole show but not sure.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/es1gfzhec9v0cvd/sbd%20sample.wav?dl=0

AUD sample of the same spot

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u62x8di2bjdr9ce/aud%20sample.wav?dl=0
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline Ronmac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 228
  • Gender: Male
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #33 on: July 12, 2019, 01:33:17 PM »
Listened to the first sample, and I can't see salvaging it (I am an experienced pro user). The distortion is baked in and can't be removed. A good analogy would be trying to clean up a guitar signal that was deliberately distorted through a drive pedal.

Sorry.

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11003
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #34 on: July 12, 2019, 03:15:53 PM »
Kind of figured as my normal tricks did nothing. 
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline rigpimp

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #35 on: July 14, 2019, 08:41:10 PM »
Did anyone try the re-balance?
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10
Playback: McIntosh MC 2105 > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #36 on: July 29, 2019, 05:17:37 AM »
I used the stereo width function in RX 5 a lot but I can't find it in RX 7 Advanced. Did they remove it?

In RX 5 it was found under Channel Ops > Increase Stereo Width.

I know it's not the best tool around but it was easy to use and I only used it slightly when I needed a recording to breath a little more. Not to actually make it wider.
It's not about fancy equipment. It's about the thrill, passion and hard work. Liberate the music!

"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline strangerinusall

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #37 on: July 29, 2019, 12:34:47 PM »
It is still there...
Levels > Mixing > Increase Stereo Width

I used the stereo width function in RX 5 a lot but I can't find it in RX 7 Advanced. Did they remove it?

In RX 5 it was found under Channel Ops > Increase Stereo Width.

I know it's not the best tool around but it was easy to use and I only used it slightly when I needed a recording to breath a little more. Not to actually make it wider.

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #38 on: July 29, 2019, 12:55:37 PM »
Perfect! Thank you.

 :cheers:



It is still there...
Levels > Mixing > Increase Stereo Width

I used the stereo width function in RX 5 a lot but I can't find it in RX 7 Advanced. Did they remove it?

In RX 5 it was found under Channel Ops > Increase Stereo Width.

I know it's not the best tool around but it was easy to use and I only used it slightly when I needed a recording to breath a little more. Not to actually make it wider.
It's not about fancy equipment. It's about the thrill, passion and hard work. Liberate the music!

"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

Offline Ben Turnbull

  • Don't ask me about Audacity...
  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9025
  • Gender: Male
  • A Clark Nova ate my lunch... Don't ask, just pee
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #39 on: July 30, 2019, 07:09:12 PM »
You could use the Ozone Imager plug in for stereo field manipulation. It is still free. It will plug into RX7 32bit but not 64bit.  Works for me.  I have it working in both RX and Adobe Audition 3.0
Only seeing two shows a month now...
-My name is Ben, and I'm an AQhaulic ranting hysterically in my dotage ...
Read "Toward the End of Time" by Updike to know my name sake.
Official Archivist for Jazz Central Studios, MinniMN
DPA4021/SKM140/NakCM1k/ADK A51s/Countryman B3/ATes943/SPc4(och)/S'lux s502... >
TinyBox OT> PCM-M10/DR-680/R4/T+mod UA5 needs attention

Offline TheMetalist

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 270
  • Sverige/Sweden/Suède
Re: iZotope Rx 7
« Reply #40 on: July 31, 2019, 01:47:15 AM »
You could use the Ozone Imager plug in for stereo field manipulation. It is still free. It will plug into RX7 32bit but not 64bit.  Works for me.  I have it working in both RX and Adobe Audition 3.0

I will definately check that out. Thank you!
It's not about fancy equipment. It's about the thrill, passion and hard work. Liberate the music!

"The music is your passport - Your magic key - To all the madness that awaits you." B.L. '86

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.112 seconds with 38 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF