Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: How to set up soundboard feed  (Read 1342 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline buckster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 130
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #15 on: June 25, 2018, 01:38:55 PM »
Whenever I hand off a thumb drive, I make sure there is lots of space, and ask the engineer to just "go ahead and start it now" please!
I also remind them about hitting STOP before giving it back to me!
Oh boy, do I have experience with the X32 and thumb drives! 

Not just hitting STOP, but WAITING until the red access/writing light next to the USB port goes out.  It can take a couple of seconds to finish writing to the drive, and if the thumb drive is pulled out before the light goes out, you'll end up with that dreaded 0 Byte file.   

I have the sound guy STOP and START recording between sets (not paused).  That insures the just completed set is successfully written to the drive.  Also, when a file on the drive goes over the 2GB file size it will start a new file, but it's not necessarily seamless.  If it splits during the music I've had audible gaps when that happens, hence I do the stop & start to keep the file sizes below 2GB.   

And for the OP, I'm sure he knows if he plans on making a matrix, it's far better to record the sbd with his mics to his recorder.  Trying to sync/mix your aud with the usb sbd file in post is an added layer of PITA-ness.   

Offline jcable77

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 487
  • Gender: Male
  • Needs to stay in more
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #16 on: June 25, 2018, 02:35:19 PM »
Just a side note, if your recording the whole festival, thumb drive recordings in my experience tend to drift alot more than any recorder Ive ever used. Might be quite a bit of work syncing the whole thing. I say this cuz i suck at it and its always a heck of a lot easier running my r44 with 2 board channels and mics.
Telefunken m60’s tk60’s,61’s,62’s
AKG 460’s/480’s ck61’s>akg active naiant pfa’s>
V-3 or Sound Devices 302>Mini-Me>
R-44 or Dr-100mk3 and a Dr-40
Iso a pair of ck62’s

Online heathen

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1222
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #17 on: June 25, 2018, 02:37:49 PM »
Yeah I know the advantage of recording the SBD and mics to the same recorder.  I'll keep the tips here in mind about the USB drive.

In terms of a stereo feed to my recorder, I'm mostly trying to learn as much as I can about how to set that up with the X32, just in case the sound person hasn't done that before.  I remember one metal show where I got a SBD patch and ended up with nothing but static, and I have no reason to think it was my cables or recorder so I'm left to assume something was wrong in terms of the signal that was coming from the board.  (I don't know if that one was an X32.)  It doesn't help that most of my Googling so far has led to discussions of how to record to USB drive with the X32, rather than how to record from a plain old pair of XLR outs.

Edit: I think I've found the sort of information I was after... https://forum.musictri.be/archive/index.php/t-5604.html
« Last Edit: June 25, 2018, 02:54:22 PM by heathen »
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline jcable77

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 487
  • Gender: Male
  • Needs to stay in more
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #18 on: June 25, 2018, 03:12:47 PM »
You could go trs out out if the monitor outs or aux 1 and 2 (or whatever aux is open, if there is any) with left to 1 and right to 2, that way if you need more or less you can ask the soundguy without effecting the mix. I just did that friday out of the same board.
Telefunken m60’s tk60’s,61’s,62’s
AKG 460’s/480’s ck61’s>akg active naiant pfa’s>
V-3 or Sound Devices 302>Mini-Me>
R-44 or Dr-100mk3 and a Dr-40
Iso a pair of ck62’s

Offline rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #19 on: June 25, 2018, 04:06:50 PM »
There are a couple of ways you can do this. Here is an example of using a matrix (on a x32)

https://collaborateworship.com/audio-matrix-x32/

There are some good videos on YouTube also...


MK22's / MK41's / AKG C480Bs+ck61, ck63, ck8 / Telefunken FET M60 Cards and Hypers  / DPA 4061's
KCY 250/5 and Nbob KCY (Nbob for sale) > naiant PFA or IPA or Nbox 
Mixpre-10t / Mixpre-6 / Sony M-10 / Tascam DR-100mkIII / d:vice

Offline rumbleseat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2018, 09:40:57 AM »
I've used a pair of XLR "Y cable splitters" a couple of times with board feeds.  It simplifies the setup as the engineer can insert the splitter into the board outputs and reconnect the mains cable.  You can tap off the other connector.  From my limited understanding, this does not impact the signal level.  DO NOT feed it phantom power.

https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-YXM-121-XLR3F-XLR3M-Cable/dp/B000068O59
AKG C480B CK61 cards >  Canare L-4E6S with Neutrik EMC > Tascam DR-680 MKII > memories

Offline ScoobieKW

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1655
    • ScoobieSnax Audio Archive
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2018, 12:27:48 AM »
Engineers may be leary of just a wye cable. A better solution (used when you are splitting signals for FOH and monitors are isolation transformer splitters.)

Not cheap, but high quality are the Whirlwind Impedance Splitters - https://express.google.com/u/0/product/17814326283892574213_14607775066553140249_1057813?utm_source=google_shopping&utm_medium=tu_cu&utm_campaign=1057813&pdata=CgU5OC4wMA&utm_content=eid-lsjeuxoeqt

The transformer will block phantom power on one of the two outputs. This ensures that there is no chance of both systems sending phantom power, and electrically isolates your rig from the house sound system.

Google "transformer isolated splitter"
Busman BSC1, AT853 (O,C),KAM i2 Chuck Mod (C), Nak 300 (C),
M10, UA-5, US-1800, Presonus Firepod

http://kennedy-williams.net/scoobiesnax/

Offline morst

  • Archivist: Camper Van Beethoven & Cracker
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2635
  • Get in touch if you wanna record Cracker or CVB!
    • Soundscape Preservation Society
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2018, 11:24:32 PM »
I've used a pair of XLR "Y cable splitters" a couple of times with board feeds.  It simplifies the setup as the engineer can insert the splitter into the board outputs and reconnect the mains cable.  You can tap off the other connector.  From my limited understanding, this does not impact the signal level.  DO NOT feed it phantom power.

https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-YXM-121-XLR3F-XLR3M-Cable/dp/B000068O59
Most sound engineers would never ever do this.
Teams: Neumann, Bay Area Tapers, Multitrack, Pioneertown Tapers, Mac Geeks, Cassette Masters, Poster Collectors, Alumni of teams St Louis, Upper Midwest & Milwaukee / Southern Wisco

Offline rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2018, 10:53:27 AM »
I've used a pair of XLR "Y cable splitters" a couple of times with board feeds.  It simplifies the setup as the engineer can insert the splitter into the board outputs and reconnect the mains cable.  You can tap off the other connector.  From my limited understanding, this does not impact the signal level.  DO NOT feed it phantom power.

https://www.amazon.com/Hosa-YXM-121-XLR3F-XLR3M-Cable/dp/B000068O59
Most sound engineers would never ever do this.

I didnt comment initially but was thinking the same thing. I would be totally amazed if a FOH were willing to split the outputs going to the PA.


I also took this post to mean how do you actually set up a feed on a X32, not the various ways someone can connect to a SBD
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 10:55:57 AM by rippleish20 »
MK22's / MK41's / AKG C480Bs+ck61, ck63, ck8 / Telefunken FET M60 Cards and Hypers  / DPA 4061's
KCY 250/5 and Nbob KCY (Nbob for sale) > naiant PFA or IPA or Nbox 
Mixpre-10t / Mixpre-6 / Sony M-10 / Tascam DR-100mkIII / d:vice

Online heathen

  • Trade Count: (15)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1222
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2018, 12:25:16 PM »
Quote
I also took this post to mean how do you actually set up a feed on a X32, not the various ways someone can connect to a SBD

That is correct.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline Sloan Simpson

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3507
  • Gender: Male
    • Southern Shelter
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2018, 03:25:01 PM »
I pulled up the manual and didn't find it immediately apparent how to route it; combine that with the fact that a FOH is unlikely to give a taper free rein to dial in his own routing, I figured telling what to ask the FOH for is the best advice here.
Neumann KM-184> Tascam DR-680

Offline rippleish20

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 665
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2018, 03:59:55 PM »
Well, I actually bought a used X32 rack to figure out the various ways to accommodate recordings. While I also would not expect most FOH to allow me to set up my own routing, I have encountered scenarios where I have been given soundboard patches where something was amiss. One time I was given something that effectively only had vocals, and anther three times one instrument was prominent in the mix but everything else was really low. In two of the cases the FOH tried to figure out the issue - they thought they were just routing L/R main to the output busses I was given - and showed me the routing setup but I was not knowledgeable enough about the X32 to see offhand what the issue was. I think it would be useful to know more about how the X32 (and to some degree other mixers) since a lot of venues have these...
MK22's / MK41's / AKG C480Bs+ck61, ck63, ck8 / Telefunken FET M60 Cards and Hypers  / DPA 4061's
KCY 250/5 and Nbob KCY (Nbob for sale) > naiant PFA or IPA or Nbox 
Mixpre-10t / Mixpre-6 / Sony M-10 / Tascam DR-100mkIII / d:vice

Offline bonghitwillie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 102
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2018, 04:50:50 PM »
when i ask for sbd feeds, i try and make it as easy as possible. i bring xlr, 1/4"trs, rca and splitters. i ask for xlr and take what i get. my main issue is that the feed is usually too hot. if i get an aux, i ask for the volume to be at 50%.

Offline pohaku

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 899
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #28 on: June 28, 2018, 05:34:58 PM »
when i ask for sbd feeds, i try and make it as easy as possible. i bring xlr, 1/4"trs, rca and splitters. i ask for xlr and take what i get. my main issue is that the feed is usually too hot. if i get an aux, i ask for the volume to be at 50%.

This.  I bring connectors/converters for all typical combinations (XLR, TRS, RCA), and attenuators, and then ask the FOH to give me a feed - ideally the two channel house mix.  I leave it up to him or her how they want to do it.  I don't touch their board.
Mics: akg c460 (ck61, ck63), c414buls, c568eb; at4049a, 4051a, 4053a, at853; josephson c42; neumann U87, km84i; beyer m130, m160, m500; aea r84; gefell m71, mt711s, m200, m201; sony c38; schoeps cmc6, CMBI (mk4, mk21, mk41, mk4v); sennheiser mkh30, mkh40, md421, md431, md541
Pres: API, a-designs, pendulum, purple, millennia, gt, littlebox, tinybox, usbpre2, CA 9200, pipsqueak, grace V2, pueblo pending
Cables: KCY, CMR, Naiant AKG actives, PFAs, asst.  GAKables and Darktrain
Recorders/converters: dr680, m10, dr-2d, d50, zoom f8, 788T SSD CL-8, lynx aurora 8


Yeah, I'm an attorney, but everyone needs a day job!

Offline Perry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 395
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to set up soundboard feed
« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2018, 11:04:17 AM »
The other night I tried using 2 different 8g thumb drives in a Beringer x32. The Beringer wouldn't recognize either drive so I took a line out via XLR. The operator manual cautions against using cheap, slow thumb drives- these drives were swag I picked up at a trade show so I'm hoping that was the issue. I have an opportunity to try again later this month so I'll take a brand name drive. Has anyone experienced thumb drive problems with the x32? Is there anything else I need to check? The drives were formatted FAT32, per the manual.
"It hurts to lean back in handcuffs..."
^^~~~~~~~Todd Snider~~~~~~~^^

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.166 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF