Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Automated batch processing  (Read 190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kylieshotpants

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Automated batch processing
« on: July 25, 2018, 05:56:18 PM »
Hi

Can anyone suggest a daw program, that I could automate my process, as I do the same thing to the files?

The original file is 24 bit, I split the file using CD Wave Editor, then save the split files.

These split files I then use Wavelab 6 to pan normalize & level normalize then convert the file into 320 mp3's.

At the moment I do this manually on each file - is there a program that could automate this process?

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10534
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2018, 06:08:29 PM »
Wavlab has batch processing! I use it to resample then dither with izotope to 16/44.  I made a write up here somewhere. You would use different plugins but same concept.
Neumann ak40 > Nick mod lc3 > Naiant PFA or km140 > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6773
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2018, 06:10:25 PM »
Change the order.

1. Edit the file in Wavelab
2. Split the tracks in CD Wave
3. Convert to mp3 in foobar

That said, there is a batch process tool in Wavelab. I use it to dither and resample (if I choose to).
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline rigpimp

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 2058
  • Gender: Male
  • Jarts don't kill people!
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2018, 07:03:32 PM »
Change the order.

1. Edit the file in Wavelab
2. Split the tracks in CD Wave
3. Convert to mp3 in foobar

That said, there is a batch process tool in Wavelab. I use it to dither and resample (if I choose to).

What Vanark said.  You can also do some batch conversion in Trader's Little Helper but since you have to patch the FLAC command line manually now I would just stick with Foobar2000. 

Rory, I know that TLH limits the number of files you can convert at a time, does Foobar have a limit too?
Mics: Schoeps MK5 G MP, Schoeps CCM 4 Lg MP, Schoeps MK8 MP, nBob cables > PFA, KCY 250/5 > PFA
Pre/A>D/P48: Sonosax SX/M2, Sonosax SX/M2-LS, E.A.A. PSP-2, Naiant Tinybox, Neumann BS48i-2 (for sale)
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre-6, Sony PCM-M10
Playback: McIntosh MC 2105 > McIntosh MX 130 > Von Schweikert VR-4 JR
http://archive.org/bookmarks/kskreider

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6773
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2018, 07:17:28 PM »


Rory, I know that TLH limits the number of files you can convert at a time, does Foobar have a limit too?

Sorry, no idea. I only convert one show at a time and haven't run into any issue.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: AKG C480B/CK61, CK63 | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Sony PCM-M10

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10534
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2018, 09:08:02 PM »
I haven't done it in years but when I was converting Dead shn to flac I would load dozens of shows at once in foobar without issues.
Neumann ak40 > Nick mod lc3 > Naiant PFA or km140 > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline opsopcopolis

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1442
Re: Automated batch processing
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2018, 10:51:47 PM »
Rory's recommendation fixes the whole problem. Always process before splitting. Then just dump into iTunes or any other player/converter and encode to mp3. Could probably do it coming out of wavelab if you wanted as well (never used it)
Mics: Berliner CM-33, CA-14 card, CA-11 card & omni, AT-853, Sony ECM-907
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D, Tascam DR-05, Sony Hi-MD

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.131 seconds with 34 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF