Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Problem  (Read 2183 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Problem
« on: October 14, 2018, 04:53:35 PM »
Last night I went to a jazz show, had 3rd row center seats. Used CA -11's into an Ugly Battery Box into a Tascam DR -05. Brand new batteries, everything plugged in tight and where it should be. I got no signal. What did I do wrong or miss? Thanks.

Offline jagraham

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2773
  • Gender: Male
Re: Problem
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2018, 05:14:48 PM »
Sorry to hear of this issue, it's always frustrating when something like this happens. Did you test the gear before going out and get a signal? My only real guess here is something to do with the settings in the DR-05. It's been a while since I used one though so I'm really not sure what could have happened. You go no signal, as in complete silence on the entire recording?
Mics: Nak CM-300s, Nak CM-100s, CP-1s, CP-2s, AT-853s(Cards, Hypers, Omnis) CA-14s(Cards, Omnis)
Pres: CA STC-9200, CA-UBB
Recorders: Tascam DR-70D, DR-2D, Edirol R-09

ISO: 1 Teac ME-120, CP-3 Caps, AT-853 Subcard Caps

Offline mjwin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Gender: Male
Re: Problem
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2018, 05:24:49 PM »
Annoying when this happens at a live gig. I feel your :angry2:

Have you tried to replicate the problem at home & do you still get no signal?

So you're  down to a process of elimination.

Firstly, I'd remove the batt box & try the mics straight into the Tascam's mic input. First make sure Plug-in-power is switched on in the recording menu. (I think that's where the option is, but I don't have a DR05 to test) You won't get such a large dynamic range, but the mics should work fine for testing with speech.

Then, if there's still no joy, unplug your CA mics and try the Tascam with its own internal mics.

I think this Tascam auto-switches to internal mics when the external plug is removed, so there should be no settings to change & it should just work.

Surely you'll get something now...

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2018, 06:29:59 PM »
Pain isn't the word. Just heartbreaking. Acoustic Alchemy is rarely taped and just a phenomenal live band. One of my favorites.  I'll check this out later and let you know.

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2018, 09:53:25 AM »
the Ugly has an input jack and an output jack. is it possible that you plugged the connector wire that is supposed to go to the Tascam, into the input jack. And then plugged the mic wire that is supposed to go to the input of the Ugly, into the output jack?

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2018, 11:28:41 AM »
No, I had them corrected properly. Should the mic power be turned on when using the battery box?

Offline shenny

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Problem
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2018, 11:45:40 AM »
No, I had them corrected properly. Should the mic power be turned on when using the battery box?
No, mic power should be off.  Have you tried recording anything since?

I have a DR-05, CA-11's, and a B2b.  I did exactly what Kissfan alluded to, while "recording" Robert Randolph.  Shit happens.

If you test recording while blasting your home or car system, or pretty much anything that makes an audible sound, and your mic's are working, the crossed connectors was probably the culprit.

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2018, 12:39:27 PM »
I double checked the connections and they were right.

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2018, 12:41:58 PM »
No, I had them corrected properly. Should the mic power be turned on when using the battery box?

The ugly I have only has one place to plug into.

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2018, 12:57:04 PM »
then the only other thing I can think of is that your mic was placed into the correct input jack appearing to be correct, but maybe it is a tight fit and even though it looked and felt like it was in all the way, maybe it wasn't actually all the way in?
have you tried to record the television/stereo with this set up since that night? are you able to duplicate the issue? I mean I suppose it could be a bad connector wire, or maybe your input level on the recorder was at 0, but that should be able to be figured out quickly if you are trying to record in your living room.
Do you have any friends with a similar rig who can lend you theirs to troubleshoot?

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2018, 01:08:55 PM »
When I get home today from work I'm going to try it with the stereo. Everything felt like it was in tight. The mic power was off.

Offline seethreepo

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 757
  • Gender: Male
  • Rub it and see
Re: Problem
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2018, 03:25:25 PM »
any chance the deck was paused?  I'd assume you checked and had levels?   many decks while paused seem to be recording  (sadly had this happen)
but of course nothing is written to the card.
Mics: Sound Professionals - SP-CMC-8 , Studio Projects SPC4, Beyerdynamic ck930 , Marcsounds binaurals
Pre amps: Beyerdynamic MV-1 ,  Naiant IPA
Recorders:  Edirol R-44, Edirol R-09HR, Roland  R-05, Tascam  Dr-2d

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2018, 05:45:14 PM »
Just tried it with the CA -11'S hooked up to the recorder and they work with mic power on and input of 75. Tried with the Ugly battery box and mic power off and got nothing.

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 809
Re: Problem
« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2018, 05:59:41 PM »
Have you tried swapping out the battery? I know it was a new one, but that seems like the likely culprit here.

Offline opsopcopolis

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2018, 08:26:39 AM »
Did you check the gain settings?
Mics: Berliner CM-33, CA-14 card, CA-11 card & omni, AT-853, Sony ECM-907
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D, Tascam DR-05, Sony Hi-MD

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2018, 08:35:56 AM »
Have you tried swapping out the battery? I know it was a new one, but that seems like the likely culprit here.
I know you said you had new batteries, but, is it possible that the 9v was not solidly connected? when the mic is plugged in, do you get the red power light?

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2018, 09:02:07 AM »
On the Tascam DR-05, where is that?

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2018, 11:22:24 AM »
my comment referred to the red light on the Ugly

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #18 on: October 16, 2018, 11:28:42 AM »
I have the basic Ugly Battery Box. No red light that I see.

Offline perks

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4450
Re: Problem
« Reply #19 on: October 16, 2018, 11:49:04 AM »
Battery box is not working.
Mics: Schoeps MK5, Schoeps MK41, AT853u (C,SC,H,O)
Preamps/converters: Schoeps VMS52UB (x2), Nbox (x2), E.A.A. PSP-2 (x2) Grace Lunatec V2 (for sale), Sound Devices MP-2 (for sale), DPA MMA6000, Naiant Tinybox v1.5, Naiant PiPsqueak, Church Ugly, Apogee Mini-Me, Benchmark AD2k+
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Korg MR-1, Edirol R-05, Sony PCM-M10 (x2), Tascam DR-07, Marantz PMD-661

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 809
Re: Problem
« Reply #20 on: October 16, 2018, 12:19:30 PM »
Battery box is not working.

Clearly — so either it's a bad battery, or a bad battery box.

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #21 on: October 16, 2018, 06:14:58 PM »
Tried another new battery, different brand.  Got nothing.

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (50)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1628
  • Gender: Male
Re: Problem
« Reply #22 on: October 16, 2018, 06:48:40 PM »
Is this the first time you have used it?
Did it work previously?

Buy this one instead

https://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-SPSB-8-MKII

Offline ilduclo

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4835
Re: Problem
« Reply #23 on: October 16, 2018, 07:04:47 PM »
what beatkilla says :headphones:

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #24 on: October 16, 2018, 07:47:00 PM »
First time using it.

Offline opsopcopolis

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem
« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2018, 07:09:00 AM »
Try using it with the plug in power and bypassing the battery box and see if you get anything. You should
Mics: Berliner CM-33, CA-14 card, CA-11 card & omni, AT-853, Sony ECM-907
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D, Tascam DR-05, Sony Hi-MD

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2018, 09:30:29 AM »
First time using it.
Is this a brand new set of mics and ugly? or are they used and just your first time using them? if new, see if you can get your money back and go with beatkilla's suggestion.

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #27 on: October 17, 2018, 09:32:59 AM »
Yes, they are brand new and first time using them. >:(

Offline ilduclo

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4835
Re: Problem
« Reply #28 on: October 17, 2018, 09:42:29 AM »
Mfg defects! I feel your pain! :banging head:

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #29 on: October 17, 2018, 10:37:43 AM »
Just kills me though. Had great seats and the equipment to do it. Not to mention my favorite group   :bawling:

Offline perks

  • Trade Count: (26)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4450
Re: Problem
« Reply #30 on: October 17, 2018, 11:50:11 AM »
Honestly not trying to pour salt in your wound - I've been there and done that before which has led me to to the following process...

The key to successful 007 is have everything running, levels set conservatively (until you have confidence to where they need to be), signal clearly visible in the recorder, recorder time clock is moving, and recorder locked.......... and this is the KEY TAKEAWAY...... before you sit down in your seat.
Mics: Schoeps MK5, Schoeps MK41, AT853u (C,SC,H,O)
Preamps/converters: Schoeps VMS52UB (x2), Nbox (x2), E.A.A. PSP-2 (x2) Grace Lunatec V2 (for sale), Sound Devices MP-2 (for sale), DPA MMA6000, Naiant Tinybox v1.5, Naiant PiPsqueak, Church Ugly, Apogee Mini-Me, Benchmark AD2k+
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Korg MR-1, Edirol R-05, Sony PCM-M10 (x2), Tascam DR-07, Marantz PMD-661

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #31 on: October 17, 2018, 12:53:57 PM »
Thank you. A tough lesson learned. I should have checked sooner and I should have just plugged into the recorder and taken my chances.

Offline ilduclo

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4835
Re: Problem
« Reply #32 on: October 17, 2018, 03:14:10 PM »
Honestly not trying to pour salt in your wound - I've been there and done that before which has led me to to the following process...

The key to successful 007 is have everything running, levels set conservatively (until you have confidence to where they need to be), signal clearly visible in the recorder, recorder time clock is moving, and recorder locked.......... and this is the KEY TAKEAWAY...... before you sit down in your seat.

before you leave home, see that every thing is working OK, then go to the gig, sit down, then get set up. Not before sitting down, you can move shit around enough to fuck things up that way. YMMV

Offline nulldogmas

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 809
Re: Problem
« Reply #33 on: October 17, 2018, 04:41:24 PM »
Try using it with the plug in power and bypassing the battery box and see if you get anything. You should

He did, I believe:

Just tried it with the CA -11'S hooked up to the recorder and they work with mic power on and input of 75. Tried with the Ugly battery box and mic power off and got nothing.

This sucks, but yeah, is a good reminder to test everything out as many times as possible, then once more for good measure.

Offline furburger

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1320
  • Gender: Male
  • UH-LASS-KUH
Re: Problem
« Reply #34 on: October 17, 2018, 05:37:26 PM »
why I dig the internals and the dual mode of the DR-2D.

it makes 'failure' virtually non-existent, even if the mics fail....(bum batteries/card/deck are about the only culprits in that scenario)
-------------
people who are fans of the music, they LOVE what I document and capture...people who are fans of themselves....not so much.

Offline opsopcopolis

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1503
Re: Problem
« Reply #35 on: October 17, 2018, 06:16:27 PM »
Try using it with the plug in power and bypassing the battery box and see if you get anything. You should

He did, I believe:

Just tried it with the CA -11'S hooked up to the recorder and they work with mic power on and input of 75. Tried with the Ugly battery box and mic power off and got nothing.

Oh whoops. Yeah def bad battery box then. Shit happens...
This sucks, but yeah, is a good reminder to test everything out as many times as possible, then once more for good measure.
Mics: Berliner CM-33, CA-14 card, CA-11 card & omni, AT-853, Sony ECM-907
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D, Tascam DR-05, Sony Hi-MD

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem
« Reply #36 on: October 17, 2018, 08:32:54 PM »
Run two rigs.

Offline KISSFAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 143
Re: Problem
« Reply #37 on: October 18, 2018, 08:52:11 AM »
Run two rigs.

slow down, son...he hasn't yet mastered running one rig  :lol:

Offline Jerseyguy57

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Problem
« Reply #38 on: October 18, 2018, 12:49:26 PM »
Is this the first time you have used it?
Did it work previously?

Buy this one instead

https://www.soundprofessionals.com/cgi-bin/gold/item/SP-SPSB-8-MKII

On the way  :coolguy:

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.418 seconds with 66 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF