Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: New SONY PCM-A10  (Read 19706 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline H₂O

  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5520
  • Gender: Male
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #210 on: March 22, 2019, 10:21:40 PM »
I love the fact that it works as an mp3 player which plays 24bit flac. I know there’s other handhelds that do that, but between its recording, playback, and mass storage features, in that size, it’s something I would always have in my pocket. Good sound and decent output level (at least with my etymotic 4Ps which as on the more sensitive side). Can it use over 32 gb media or are we constrained to sdhc?


This is one of the reasons I picked up a D100
Music can at the least least explain you and at the most expand you
LMA Recordings

List

Offline dogmusic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #211 on: March 23, 2019, 10:16:15 AM »
Can it use over 32 gb media or are we constrained to sdhc?

I’m using a 64 gb card with no problems so far. The manual says “64 GB or more.”
"The ear is much more than a mere appendage on the side of the head." - Catherine Parker Anthony, Structure and Function of the Human Body (1972)

"That's metaphysically absurd, man! How can I know what you hear?" - Firesign Theatre

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2058
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #212 on: March 26, 2019, 07:27:25 AM »
I love the fact that it works as an mp3 player which plays 24bit flac. I know there’s other handhelds that do that, but between its recording, playback, and mass storage features, in that size, it’s something I would always have in my pocket. Good sound and decent output level (at least with my etymotic 4Ps which as on the more sensitive side). Can it use over 32 gb media or are we constrained to sdhc?

Do you use a DAC when you us the A10 for PB?

it has no digital out.
i was in a rental car this weekend that played flac thru the dash nav when it was plugged into USB, so maybe its possible
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07 or PCM-A10
smaller: 4061/4099 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

current goals:making CMR+battery box rig interface with d:vice

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2058
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #213 on: March 26, 2019, 11:00:24 PM »
A10's internal mics holding their own in loud sweetspot

https://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=181868.msg2295287#msg2295287
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07 or PCM-A10
smaller: 4061/4099 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

current goals:making CMR+battery box rig interface with d:vice

Offline bhoy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 125
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #214 on: April 10, 2019, 02:15:41 PM »
Can anyone recommend some products I could use to make almost an "AC" charger for the PCM-A10?  Ideally, I'd like to plug the A10's USB into a female USB long wire, which terminates in a wall plug.  I could then charge by plugging it into the wall.  I see two parts that will do the trick, but I'm not sure how safe the USB to wall charger plugs are.  Would a typical iPhone square wall plug work ok, or do I need to worry about voltage/current for different plugs?

Offline toaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #215 on: April 11, 2019, 10:27:56 AM »
i picked a PCM-A10 up last week and ran it last night >:D. Running front row on the rail and only having to check my smart phone occasionally was very nice.

ran my normal MBHO ka200n > naiant ipa setup with great results. My PCM-M10 is going to be on only open taping duty. If Sony made it so you can control two A10's from the same app my m10 would be in the yard sale tomorrow


My only complaint about the app is the placement of the stop/pause/rec controls at least on an iphone and dealing with the home button
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 10:56:01 AM by toaster »

Offline edtyre

  • Trade Count: (69)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2075
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Philly " No Excuses, Just Tapes"
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #216 on: Yesterday at 02:16:41 AM »
https://youtu.be/r6cVwF_5jiI
My first time out with a10

schoeps mk41v > nbobs > babynbox > sony  a-10 > 24/48 wav
music>mics>pre>recorder

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2058
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: New SONY PCM-A10
« Reply #217 on: Yesterday at 02:56:43 AM »
its amazing. mine is out on loan for jazzfest
« Last Edit: Yesterday at 03:03:14 AM by jerryfreak »
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07 or PCM-A10
smaller: 4061/4099 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

current goals:making CMR+battery box rig interface with d:vice

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.161 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF