Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?  (Read 2897 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« on: October 25, 2018, 04:05:07 PM »
Love to know how peeps experiences have been. I have an MQA compatible player on the way. The two month trial is sweet.

😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2018, 05:20:27 PM »
I have a philosophical/ideological problem with MQA, so I have stayed away from Tidal.  I think the Spotify "High Quality" level is more than adequate.

You may want to read up about MQA before you decide to give Tidal your money at the end of the two month trial.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline noahbickart

  • phishrabbi
  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • *
  • Posts: 1893
  • Gender: Male
  • So now I wander over grounds of light...
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2018, 07:48:58 PM »
I'm opposed to paying to rent music in general. I've spent the better part of two decades collecting music in .shn and .flac and I *own* it, and never have to pay anyone for content.
Recording:
Capsules: Schoeps mk41v (x2), mk4v (x2), mk22 (x2), mk3 (x2), mk21 & mk8
Cables: 2x nbob KCY, 1 pair nbob actives, Darktrain 2 and 4 channel KCY extensions:
Preamps:    Schoeps VMS 02iub, Naiant Littlebox, Naiant IPA, Sound Devices Mixpre6
Recorders: Sound Devices Mixpre6, Sony PCM m10

Home Playback: Mytek DSD 192> McIntosh MC162> Eminent Tech LFT-16; Musical Fidelity xCan v2> Hifiman HE-4XX / Beyerdynamic DT880

Office Playback: Grace m903> AKG k701 / Hifiman HE-400

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2018, 08:40:10 PM »
As a supplement to the music I own, and particularly as a way to check out new music, I've been really happy with Spotify.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2018, 09:33:35 PM »
my situation is a like many tapers, I spent the last 20 years spending all my disposable income om recording gear and show tickets, not collecting music other than live taper stuff. Which is great, but I'm getting old and nostalgia is kickin in. Like listening to Zep or Stones or Beatles in better han CD quality. The vast majority of my CDs are 30 years old and very poorly mastered. They're just mostly hard to listen to. And I'm now in a fixed income, so collecting audiophile quality music is financially out of my reach; and frankly at my age I'm not interested in accumulating music or anything else. I have a thousand CDs or so, certainly no great collection, and missing a lot of great stuff.


I appreciate the info, when I was shopping for my DAP there was zero mention  in reviews of the ethical issues. They don't thrill me, but I'm also not sure how else I can affordable access the classics. I cannot listen to MP3s at all. So while this looks like a huge cash grab, seems like the MQA ship is coming. And for me, while $20 seems like a lot, I'll use it a lot too, so it's probably worth it.

This might make me a bad person but that ship has sailed. :lol:


I found this pretty compelling:
https://darko.audio/2016/06/an-inconvenient-truth-mqa-sounds-better/
« Last Edit: October 25, 2018, 09:45:02 PM by MakersMarc »
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2018, 10:12:03 PM »
Do what makes you happy, but it seems like you're not really considering alternatives to Tidal...?
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2018, 11:24:21 PM »
Do what makes you happy, but it seems like you're not really considering alternatives to Tidal...?

I Read some reviews, they all have Tidal as five star Qobuz is close but crazy pricey. Spotify Premium is still MP3. Deezer is cd quality. I really want hi res.

https://www.whathifi.com/best-buys/streaming/best-music-streaming-services/2
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2018, 11:29:04 PM »
Spotify Premium isn't mp3.  Are you sure what you read is up to date?  Also, how "high res" do you think MQA actually is?  Can you hear the difference between it and another format?  Have you done a true ABX test of that?
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2018, 12:50:21 AM »
Don't have the player yet.

https://www.whathifi.com/spotify/review

Sure looks like it's lossy.
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2018, 08:48:41 AM »
Don't have the player yet.

https://www.whathifi.com/spotify/review

Sure looks like it's lossy.

Your point? MQA is also lossy.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2018, 11:32:56 AM »
Calling it lossy just because it’s enhanced from the original seems a bit unfair, creating a cd out of master recording is worse imo. I’d probably go with Spotify if it wasn’t mediocre quality. In fact I did try it and I sounds like shit IMO.

If I could afford it I’d buy hundreds of albums And a topnotch turntable. Based on every review I’ve seen MQA sounds great. I want great.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 12:18:24 PM by MakersMarc »
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2018, 12:42:05 PM »
As long as you're happy with what hits your ears, that's all that matters. 

enhanced from the original
Marketing works!
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2018, 12:44:24 PM »
Hey I've always wondered...how's that Tetramic?
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

Offline heathen

  • Trade Count: (16)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1616
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2018, 12:47:54 PM »
Hey I've always wondered...how's that Tetramic?

After trying it in various situations I think that, for concert recording, it's best used on stage or similarly close.  Take that with a grain of salt, though, because I don't think I have the knowledge/abilities to make the most of it.
Mics: Core Sound TetraMic | AT4031s | AT AE5100s | AT853s (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3s | DPA 4061s | CA-14 omnis | Studio Projects CS5
Pre: CA9200
Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05 | Tascam DR-2d

Offline MakersMarc

  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2007
  • Gender: Male
  • Marching the Hate Machines into the Sun
Re: Anyone use Tidal to access MQA music?
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2018, 03:56:57 PM »
As long as you're happy with what hits your ears, that's all that matters. 

enhanced from the original
Marketing works!

Ct10 arrives tomorrow so I should have MQA up by Sunday. I've literally seen nothing but grudgingly great reviews. I'm going to first dial up old Zep masters converted to MQA. Review to come.
😈 Mk4v/41v>nbob actives>Baby nbox>Oade warm mod Marantz 620.

Open: 4v/41v>nbobs>nbox platinum>620

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.256 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF