Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input  (Read 468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cyfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
  • Gender: Male
  • It's not personal
Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« on: December 15, 2018, 03:26:56 PM »

I have been using a Nomad Jukebox 3 forever as my digital recorder, which is only compatible with Windows XP.
Unfortunately, my old XP computer shit the bed last night, leaving me with no way to get recordings off the JB3.
I either need to figure out how to run virtual XP on my current PC or find a new recorder that did everything the JB3 did for me.
The optical input is important because I used the JB3 from a digi-mod UA5 preamp and also use the optical cable to record tracks from a multi-channel recorder to a JB3 for transfer to the PC.
Since I'm basically retired from taping - but haven't given it up entirely - I'm looking for a cheap-ish fix here.

Thanks for any advice.
Superlux HK8 > Edirol UA-5 > JB3
Multi-tracker: Fostex VF 160 EX

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1827
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 04:41:10 PM »
thats a bummer.

you cant find a free old laptop and throw XP on?

Online audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5883
  • Gender: Male
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 04:47:34 PM »
How cheap-ish of a fix?  You could run coax out, right?  That would open up options in the ~$250 range (e.g. Marantz PMD-561/661).

The Sony PCM-D50 accepts optical, also in that range.

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (141)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4093
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2018, 05:09:27 PM »
The Sony PCM-D50 will only pull a 16/44.1 signal from a UA5.  There is an old thread about it kicking around.

How cheap-ish of a fix?  You could run coax out, right?  That would open up options in the ~$250 range (e.g. Marantz PMD-561/661).

The Sony PCM-D50 accepts optical, also in that range.
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Online audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5883
  • Gender: Male
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2018, 05:41:26 PM »
^ I was not aware.  Good to know.

Offline cyfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 771
  • Gender: Male
  • It's not personal
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2018, 07:20:56 PM »
Thanks guys. I think the $250 is about as high as I wanna go.
Remembered I had an old boxed up pc in the storage room that might run XP unless I took it to the recyclers last year. Gonna have a look.
Superlux HK8 > Edirol UA-5 > JB3
Multi-tracker: Fostex VF 160 EX

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.109 seconds with 33 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF