Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input  (Read 1099 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cyfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 772
  • Gender: Male
  • It's not personal
Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« on: December 15, 2018, 03:26:56 PM »

I have been using a Nomad Jukebox 3 forever as my digital recorder, which is only compatible with Windows XP.
Unfortunately, my old XP computer shit the bed last night, leaving me with no way to get recordings off the JB3.
I either need to figure out how to run virtual XP on my current PC or find a new recorder that did everything the JB3 did for me.
The optical input is important because I used the JB3 from a digi-mod UA5 preamp and also use the optical cable to record tracks from a multi-channel recorder to a JB3 for transfer to the PC.
Since I'm basically retired from taping - but haven't given it up entirely - I'm looking for a cheap-ish fix here.

Thanks for any advice.
Superlux HK8 > Edirol UA-5 > JB3
Multi-tracker: Fostex VF 160 EX

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1925
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 04:41:10 PM »
thats a bummer.

you cant find a free old laptop and throw XP on?
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07
smaller: 4061 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5902
  • Gender: Male
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 04:47:34 PM »
How cheap-ish of a fix?  You could run coax out, right?  That would open up options in the ~$250 range (e.g. Marantz PMD-561/661).

The Sony PCM-D50 accepts optical, also in that range.

Offline jbell

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (141)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4121
  • Gender: Male
  • Spreadicated
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2018, 05:09:27 PM »
The Sony PCM-D50 will only pull a 16/44.1 signal from a UA5.  There is an old thread about it kicking around.

How cheap-ish of a fix?  You could run coax out, right?  That would open up options in the ~$250 range (e.g. Marantz PMD-561/661).

The Sony PCM-D50 accepts optical, also in that range.
Microtech Gefell M20's> Nbob KCY> Naiant PFA(60V)> Sound Devices Mixpre-6

Offline audBall

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 5902
  • Gender: Male
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2018, 05:41:26 PM »
^ I was not aware.  Good to know.

Offline cyfan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 772
  • Gender: Male
  • It's not personal
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2018, 07:20:56 PM »
Thanks guys. I think the $250 is about as high as I wanna go.
Remembered I had an old boxed up pc in the storage room that might run XP unless I took it to the recyclers last year. Gonna have a look.
Superlux HK8 > Edirol UA-5 > JB3
Multi-tracker: Fostex VF 160 EX

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1925
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2019, 10:12:12 PM »
vx pocket cards can be had for <$50 and run on any old laptop  over 300 mHz with a pcmcia slot
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07
smaller: 4061 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1925
  • I'm a llama! (taboot)
Re: Need a bit-box with toslink optical input
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2019, 07:46:03 PM »
if you really need optical i have a few pdaudio-cf cards and dell axims i used to use in the field collecting dust. they have the dual mini-toslink/3.5" coax jacks
in:
small: MK4V/41V > CMR > Tinybox or PiP Squeak or J.Williams Mod MicMan Jr or no pre at all >AD2K or R07
smaller: 4061 CORE > d:vice MMA

out:
home:Benchmark DAC1 HGC > Dynaudio BM15A active monitors
shop: Musical Fidelity VLink 192 Asynchronyous> coax> DAC1 > Rokit RP8 active monitors

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.104 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF