Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)  (Read 27185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1824
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #105 on: February 10, 2020, 11:32:05 AM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k

I mux 4K vids with 24 bit audio and upload to Youtube all the time.  So ... 60-70GB files.  Down-converting to 1080 would be really time consuming -- and would seriously cut into time I spend doing other video projects on my computer.

I'm really lucky that the podunk town I live in decided to do something about the shit internet service offered by Comcast and it started its own fibernet service.  So I get really fast upload speeds (over 10MBs/sec most of the time) and I only pay $40/mth flat fee.  On top of that, they don't care how much bandwidth you use; they don't even monitor it.

In what program are you doing this?


Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3039
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #106 on: February 10, 2020, 03:26:04 PM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k

I mux 4K vids with 24 bit audio and upload to Youtube all the time.  So ... 60-70GB files.  Down-converting to 1080 would be really time consuming -- and would seriously cut into time I spend doing other video projects on my computer.

I'm really lucky that the podunk town I live in decided to do something about the shit internet service offered by Comcast and it started its own fibernet service.  So I get really fast upload speeds (over 10MBs/sec most of the time) and I only pay $40/mth flat fee.  On top of that, they don't care how much bandwidth you use; they don't even monitor it.

In what program are you doing this?

XMedia Recode

https://www.xmedia-recode.de/en/download.php

It can be kind of clunky, but it's completely free and once you get it all figured out, it works well.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 644
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #107 on: February 10, 2020, 03:36:45 PM »
Does anyone record in 4k and upload in 1080? The file sizes are staggering - my connection times out before I can upload these shows in 4k

I mux 4K vids with 24 bit audio and upload to Youtube all the time.  So ... 60-70GB files.  Down-converting to 1080 would be really time consuming -- and would seriously cut into time I spend doing other video projects on my computer.

I'm really lucky that the podunk town I live in decided to do something about the shit internet service offered by Comcast and it started its own fibernet service.  So I get really fast upload speeds (over 10MBs/sec most of the time) and I only pay $40/mth flat fee.  On top of that, they don't care how much bandwidth you use; they don't even monitor it.

In what program are you doing this?

I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

Offline sabre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #108 on: February 11, 2020, 12:13:15 AM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).


Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 644
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #109 on: February 11, 2020, 02:53:10 AM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3039
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #110 on: February 11, 2020, 01:38:54 PM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.

Have you considered not re-encoding your videos; and instead keeping them as 4K?

Creating a new lossless 4K video file that is exactly the same as the raw video you started with (except it is muxed together with new audio) is as good as it can get in terms of picture quality IMHO.

Here's an example of a 4K video that I muxed with separate audio.  There was no re-encoding involved in making this. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKyryZW1Nys
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1824
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #111 on: February 11, 2020, 01:42:02 PM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.

Have you considered not re-encoding your videos; and instead keeping them as 4K?

Creating a new lossless 4K video file that is exactly the same as the raw video you started with (except it is muxed together with new audio) is as good as it can get in terms of picture quality IMHO.

Here's an example of a 4K video that I muxed with separate audio.  There was no re-encoding involved in making this. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKyryZW1Nys

Correct but You Tube stills re encodes compresses all uploaded video right?

Offline guitard

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3039
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #112 on: February 11, 2020, 03:13:45 PM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.

Have you considered not re-encoding your videos; and instead keeping them as 4K?

Creating a new lossless 4K video file that is exactly the same as the raw video you started with (except it is muxed together with new audio) is as good as it can get in terms of picture quality IMHO.

Here's an example of a 4K video that I muxed with separate audio.  There was no re-encoding involved in making this. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKyryZW1Nys

Correct but You Tube stills re encodes compresses all uploaded video right?

Of course, we all know Youtube re-encodes.  I wasn't trying to suggest that Youtube video didn't get re-encoded; only that I uploaded it as a lossless re-muxed 4K video and I think the quality (even after re-encoding by Youtube) is very nice.

The real point I was trying to make is that you can losslessly re-mux your raw video and audio files and get the highest quality possible outcome.  I watch these re-muxed 4K video files on my 4K tv and they look and sound great.
Mics: CA-11 (omnis and cards), AT853 cards, DPA 4060 omnis
Pre-amps: CA-UGLY II & CA-9100
Decks: Edirol R-07 & Edirol R-09HR

Video: Sony FDR AX100 (4K), Pany ZS100 (4K) & Sony DSC HX50V (HD)
Photo: Canon EOS 60D

A/V software: Sony Vegas Pro 13.0 (build 453) 64 bit / DVD Architect Pro 6.0 (build 237)

Offline beatkilla

  • Trade Count: (62)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1824
  • Gender: Male
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #113 on: February 11, 2020, 04:35:09 PM »
Nice to hear you can do this No Re Encoding to the 4k files.Similar thing i would do with blurays i made in DVD architect .The footage from the 1920 x 1080 .mts files were already compliant so you could just match your good audio in Vegas >Render the audio>Replace camcorder audio in Dvd architect and the video was unaltered.Unless you were doing a multicam edit of course.


Also the biggest benefit to this Panasonic zs100 is the ability to change the picture profile settings.Unlike any consumer camcorder we had in the past.

The default is set at STANDARD which is not good for video as the blacks are completely crushed.And there is digital sharpening added.

I am using this picture profile settings.

MOTION PICTURE MENU item 1

PICTURE PROFILE >NATURAL
Change CONTRAST to   -5 (Blacks are not crushed anymore)
Change SHARPNESS to -5 (Doesn't make footage soft is still sharp without digital edges)
Change NOISE REDUCTION to -2 (Reduces smoothing)
SATURATION remains at 0

Press SET to save these changes.


« Last Edit: February 11, 2020, 04:39:44 PM by beatkilla »

Offline sabre

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 183
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #114 on: February 15, 2020, 08:42:38 PM »
I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.

When you render your video (i.e. export it from your Video Editor), you are presented with a dialog where you can specify the video and audio bitrate. The higher the bitrate you choose the better quality the video will be but the larger (in megabytes/gigabytes) the video will be.

If the video bitrate is too low for a particular portion of video, you will get compression artifacts such as macroblocking. You can see an example of this in my links below. The first image there is not much movement on stage it is easy for the encoder to process. In the second image the bitrate is not sufficient for the motion so it degenerates.

Here are a couple of screen shots I took from your YouTube video.

Good - https://i.imgur.com/sdyEbbn.jpg
Bad - https://i.imgur.com/csITLxl.jpg

What settings do you use when you export your project?

Offline DavidPuddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 644
Re: Panasonic Lumix DC-ZS200 (edit: mostly about ZS100 though)
« Reply #115 on: Today at 07:20:05 PM »
Nice to hear you can do this No Re Encoding to the 4k files.Similar thing i would do with blurays i made in DVD architect .The footage from the 1920 x 1080 .mts files were already compliant so you could just match your good audio in Vegas >Render the audio>Replace camcorder audio in Dvd architect and the video was unaltered.Unless you were doing a multicam edit of course.


Also the biggest benefit to this Panasonic zs100 is the ability to change the picture profile settings.Unlike any consumer camcorder we had in the past.

The default is set at STANDARD which is not good for video as the blacks are completely crushed.And there is digital sharpening added.

I am using this picture profile settings.

MOTION PICTURE MENU item 1

PICTURE PROFILE >NATURAL
Change CONTRAST to   -5 (Blacks are not crushed anymore)
Change SHARPNESS to -5 (Doesn't make footage soft is still sharp without digital edges)
Change NOISE REDUCTION to -2 (Reduces smoothing)
SATURATION remains at 0

Press SET to save these changes.

Trying these changes out tonight, thanks. I'll report back.

I use Davinci Resolve. It's free and fairly easy to use after a YouTube tutorial. I just made this with it https://youtu.be/Z7gDjOLtQYs

I think you need to increase the video bitrate when you export your video. The YouTube video gets very blocky when there is a lot of movement on the screen (I watched the 720p60 version on YouTube).

Thanks. Would you mind going into a bit more detail? I'm new to video.

When you render your video (i.e. export it from your Video Editor), you are presented with a dialog where you can specify the video and audio bitrate. The higher the bitrate you choose the better quality the video will be but the larger (in megabytes/gigabytes) the video will be.

If the video bitrate is too low for a particular portion of video, you will get compression artifacts such as macroblocking. You can see an example of this in my links below. The first image there is not much movement on stage it is easy for the encoder to process. In the second image the bitrate is not sufficient for the motion so it degenerates.

Here are a couple of screen shots I took from your YouTube video.

Good - https://i.imgur.com/sdyEbbn.jpg
Bad - https://i.imgur.com/csITLxl.jpg

What settings do you use when you export your project?

I'm not 100%, I just started playing around with Davinci and video in general. I'll post when I do my next video but I'm pretty sure the bitrate was not as high as it should have been.
Mics: nbobs/480+ck61/62/63; C568EB; MKE2
Recorders: MP6; A10
puddylivemusic@gmail.com

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.046 seconds with 53 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF