Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)  (Read 33584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline justme

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 148
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #30 on: May 23, 2019, 12:48:27 AM »
Interesting to read.
It do have some analog/digital hybrid limiters to handle the inputs in 24 bit mode.

Advanced Look-Ahead Hybrid Limiters
When recording in 24-bit, the F6 uses advanced look-ahead hybrid limiters to provide overload protection. By adding a 1-millisecond delay, the limiters “look ahead” anticipating clipping before it’s recorded.


I could imagine this would be a two channel dream if they slashed the height with 2/3. 😃

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4328
  • high desert for life
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #31 on: May 23, 2019, 07:08:16 AM »
A lot of the arguments I am reading here and elsewhere that say there is no benefit to recording in 32-bit float
i dont think technically anybody is arguing that it has *no* benefit, rather that it has nominal benefit.

technically it would be better if all the full size mics people used had a self noise of 14 dB vs 16 dB, practically speaking its not really a concern

technically it would be better if everybody running schoeps ditched their cmc6 for XTs, practically speaking its not really a concern

we could go on and on... sample rates, magical oxygen-free interconnects, etc etc


Again, we're not just talking about the overall dynamic range, we are talking about the resolution available to the loudest and softest sounds in your recording.  Why would all of the DAW programs use 32-bit float (or 64-bit) for internal processing if there wasn't a benefit?

rounding errors/quantization noise
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Online heathen

  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2992
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #32 on: May 23, 2019, 08:46:40 AM »
I would've liked it to support dual SD cards like the F4 and F8, but seeing how small it is I guess they wouldn't fit.
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4050ST | AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Online heathen

  • Trade Count: (23)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2992
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #33 on: May 23, 2019, 08:48:39 AM »
Recordings on LMA: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%22Lucas+Lorenz%22
Mics: AT4050ST | AT4031 | AT853 (C/SC) | Line Audio CM3 | Sennheiser e614 | Sennheiser MKE2 | DPA 4061 | CA-14 omni Pres: CA9200 | DPA d:vice Decks: Zoom F8 | Roland R-05

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #34 on: May 23, 2019, 09:49:28 AM »

I was really interested in this until I saw that it doesn't have combo Neutrik inputs that can also take TRS plugs.

Why wouldn't they include this really easy to implement and widely needed feature?

When I'm working in the field I don't want to have to rely on adapters and I can only carry so many cables.
Joly Mod Oktava MK012 C,H,O || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 or Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d
Transfers - Tascam DA30 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline ButchAlmberg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #35 on: May 23, 2019, 10:12:12 AM »
Quote
doesn't have combo Neutrik inputs that can also take TRS plugs

Thanks for pointing this out
Line Audio CM-3
Marantz 661 MKII  |  Tascam DR-70D

Team Line Audio

Offline goodcooker

  • Trade Count: (38)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3414
  • Gender: Male
  • goes to 11
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2019, 10:35:21 PM »

i dont think technically anybody is arguing that it has *no* benefit, rather that it has nominal benefit.


^you actually said on the first page of the thread that it has "zero" benefit...

After watching the vids and listening to the Zoom folks talk it looks like the knobs are faders - not gain - and the individual tracks are recorded post fader - so the knobs on the front will make the ISO tracks recorded "louder" if I'm understanding this correctly.

If I'm not they may only adjust volume of the mix track or the output.
Joly Mod Oktava MK012 C,H,O || NakCM300 || ADK A51 > Sound Devices 442 or Reference Audio Designs MS2 > Tascam DR701d
Transfers - Tascam DA30 (dats) or Nak MR2 (cassettes) > Sound Devices USB Pre

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/goodcooker

"Are you the Zman?" - fan at Panic 10-08-10 Kansas City
"I don't know who left this perfectly good inflatable wook doll here, but if I'm blowing her up, I'm keeping her." -  hoppedup

Offline Walstib62

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (31)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3034
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2019, 11:00:52 PM »
This thing is a game changer for live recording. Literally set it and forget it. I'm probably getting one.

Offline WiFiJeff

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 869
  • Gender: Male
  • I tape therefore I am.
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #38 on: May 23, 2019, 11:11:06 PM »
I've pre-ordered at B&H.  Delivery pushed out to July.

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4328
  • high desert for life
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #39 on: May 24, 2019, 12:05:26 AM »

i dont think technically anybody is arguing that it has *no* benefit, rather that it has nominal benefit.


^you actually said on the first page of the thread that it has "zero" benefit...


touche

zero benefit for 'me' i guess ;) (as a live concert taper)

for the same reasons i listed
« Last Edit: May 24, 2019, 03:12:54 AM by jerryfreak »
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline adrianf74

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 483
  • Gender: Male
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #40 on: May 24, 2019, 04:29:17 PM »

I was really interested in this until I saw that it doesn't have combo Neutrik inputs that can also take TRS plugs.

Why wouldn't they include this really easy to implement and widely needed feature?

When I'm working in the field I don't want to have to rely on adapters and I can only carry so many cables.


That was a letdown for me as well.  I was really eyeing this bad boy but that had me slamming on the breaks.  Than and the single SD card slot -- dual recording to two cards is a HUGE benefit in the event one of the cards flakes.  When I'm doing 4 channel records, it's usually with a board patch plus mics and I really don't want to lose that option. I ended up picking up a minty F4 with a Portabrace bag off eBay. 
Mics: AKG ck63 > nBob Actives, Line Audio CM3, Church Audio CA-14 | Decks: Sony PCM-A10, Zoom F4 |Power: Baby nBox, Talentcell 12V 6000mAh Rechargeable Battery, Church Audio Ugly Battery Box

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3126
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #41 on: May 24, 2019, 10:48:14 PM »
Using standard XLR jacks rather than the combo versions does seem a bit odd, given the F4 and F8n, their most recent pro recorders, both have the combo jacks.

I find it interesting that Sound Devices has the same odd choices.  While the 6 and 7 series had regular XLR jacks only, as does the MixPre-3, the MixPre-6 and MixPre-10 both use combo jacks.  The new Scorpio flagship recorder is back to using regular XLR.

It also may be worth noting that the switching version of the Neutrik XLR-1/4" combo jacks cost about double what a standard XLR jack does.  Then again, my DR-70D has combo jacks, and is far cheaper than anything we're talking about here.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853  //  Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24  //  Zoom F6 | Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 | KRK Rokit RP5 | Sennheiser HD 650

Team Line Audio

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3126
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #42 on: May 26, 2019, 09:10:04 PM »
OK, I think this picture shows a possible reason why the F6 uses standard XLR rather than combo jacks.  With 1/4" plugs inserted, there probably wouldn't be room for the internal AA pack without making the whole unit wider.
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853  //  Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24  //  Zoom F6 | Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 | KRK Rokit RP5 | Sennheiser HD 650

Team Line Audio

Offline voltronic

  • Trade Count: (34)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3126
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #43 on: May 26, 2019, 10:07:48 PM »
Audio examples recorded at extreme levels starting around 5:40 in this video.

I agree that the dual-ADC with 32-bit float is a game changer, particularly for people like me who record music with wide dynamic range.  As soon as funds allow, I need one of these.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=338&v=y4oNd1RgGL0
DPA 4061 | Line Audio CM3 | Naiant X-Q | AT 853  //  Naiant PFAs | Shure FP24  //  Zoom F6 | Sony PCM-M10
MOTU M2 | KRK Rokit RP5 | Sennheiser HD 650

Team Line Audio

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4328
  • high desert for life
Re: Zoom F6 (32-bit float equipped)
« Reply #44 on: May 27, 2019, 03:02:10 AM »
ok thats impressive but its obviously using a bunch of digital fuckery to achieve it

at the beginning of the vid he says "there are no levels to set" but then says there is a fader

the inability to disable digital processing would be an area of concern imo... and those asymmetric waveforms also look suspect
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.058 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF