Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: iZotope Rx7 Issue  (Read 545 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ThePiedPiper

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Gender: Male
  • My Humor Gets Me In Trouble.
    • Flute In The Gallery
iZotope Rx7 Issue
« on: May 31, 2019, 10:45:58 PM »
I have a very nice PC. Spared no expense putting this one together a few years back (see specs) but now when I run iZotope it heats up quickly and shuts down the PC (I have a safeguard in place to not let the PC go over 90 degrees Celsius).  Nothing else affects this computer ... video games, PhotoShop, Adobe Audition ... but this one program. Any particular reason why?  I use the 64bit version since the PC is 64bit.  Would I have better luck using the 32bit version of iZotope?

I'm not a noob with computers, not by a long shot ... as I have assembled my last 4 but this one has me scratching my head.

« Last Edit: May 31, 2019, 10:52:45 PM by ThePiedPiper »
Naiant X-X Omni-Directional Mics  |  Beyerdynamic TG-L34c Cardioid Mics w/4.7k MOD  |
Realistic (Made in Japan by SHURE) 33-1056A (Custom Modified w/ 4.7k MOD) Mics

Sound Professionals SP-SPSB-10 (Custom Built & Modified) Micro-Mini 12vdc Power Supply >
Zoom F1 MicroSD Recorder (24BIT, 96kHz) > 32GB Kingston MicroSD Card.

iZotope RX7 & Adobe Audition 3.0

Offline ThePiedPiper

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Gender: Male
  • My Humor Gets Me In Trouble.
    • Flute In The Gallery
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2019, 11:55:44 PM »
UPDATE: I gave the 32Bit version a try. Same issue.  :banging head:
Naiant X-X Omni-Directional Mics  |  Beyerdynamic TG-L34c Cardioid Mics w/4.7k MOD  |
Realistic (Made in Japan by SHURE) 33-1056A (Custom Modified w/ 4.7k MOD) Mics

Sound Professionals SP-SPSB-10 (Custom Built & Modified) Micro-Mini 12vdc Power Supply >
Zoom F1 MicroSD Recorder (24BIT, 96kHz) > 32GB Kingston MicroSD Card.

iZotope RX7 & Adobe Audition 3.0

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11003
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2019, 09:21:29 AM »
I do not have this issue on either 32 or 64 bit on a custom build.  I'm about to render a file and will check temps.  Perhaps it's time to re-apply the thermal paste and/or invest in a better cooling system??
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11003
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2019, 10:12:02 AM »
intel i7 6700k, idle temps are around 25c.  I rendered a file that took 4 minutes max temp was 77c but averaged in the 60's.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline ThePiedPiper

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Gender: Male
  • My Humor Gets Me In Trouble.
    • Flute In The Gallery
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2019, 01:41:40 PM »
intel i7 6700k, idle temps are around 25c.  I rendered a file that took 4 minutes max temp was 77c but averaged in the 60's.

Those are the average temps I get as well, it only occasionally hits the 80-90 degree and shuts down. Even at the mid 60-70's that's still very high compared to Adobe Audition at 25-35 degrees. Izotope pushes the Cores to 96-99% capacity and Audition is a 3rd of that. Very strange.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2019, 02:12:15 PM by ThePiedPiper »
Naiant X-X Omni-Directional Mics  |  Beyerdynamic TG-L34c Cardioid Mics w/4.7k MOD  |
Realistic (Made in Japan by SHURE) 33-1056A (Custom Modified w/ 4.7k MOD) Mics

Sound Professionals SP-SPSB-10 (Custom Built & Modified) Micro-Mini 12vdc Power Supply >
Zoom F1 MicroSD Recorder (24BIT, 96kHz) > 32GB Kingston MicroSD Card.

iZotope RX7 & Adobe Audition 3.0

Offline ThePiedPiper

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 295
  • Gender: Male
  • My Humor Gets Me In Trouble.
    • Flute In The Gallery
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2019, 03:01:21 PM »
I failed to mention that I work with 24/96 files, which does account for some of the issue. I'm still digging for a solution  :hmmm:
Naiant X-X Omni-Directional Mics  |  Beyerdynamic TG-L34c Cardioid Mics w/4.7k MOD  |
Realistic (Made in Japan by SHURE) 33-1056A (Custom Modified w/ 4.7k MOD) Mics

Sound Professionals SP-SPSB-10 (Custom Built & Modified) Micro-Mini 12vdc Power Supply >
Zoom F1 MicroSD Recorder (24BIT, 96kHz) > 32GB Kingston MicroSD Card.

iZotope RX7 & Adobe Audition 3.0

Offline if_then_else

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 346
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2019, 03:36:07 PM »
I failed to mention that I work with 24/96 files, which does account for some of the issue. I'm still digging for a solution  :hmmm:

https://www.izotope.com/en/blog/music-production/10-tips-for-winning-the-battle-against-cpu-overload.html

Quote
10.  Convert the Session to a Lower Sample Rate

The higher the sample rate, the more CPU power plug-ins use. A plug-in at 96 kHz takes more CPU power than the same plug-in at 48 kHz. There are endless debates about the merits and faults of high-resolution sample rates; I am NOT going there right now. However, consider this point: If working at a high sample rate prevents you from being able to work effectively, creatively, and efficiently, maybe it’s more important to “sacrifice” your high-resolution fantasy in order to have a functional reality.

If you convert the whole session to a lower sample rate, each plug-in will use less CPU power. That can give you more power to work with. As with most functions, this process is DAW-dependent. The image below shows the function in Pro Tools. It will save a copy of the entire session at the chosen sample rate. Doing this conversion, closing the original high sample rate session, then opening the lower sample rate session would reduce the CPU load and RAM usage.

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (21)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 11003
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: iZotope Rx7 Issue
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2019, 03:47:10 PM »
^^

I record/edit at 24/48 and it uses 99% cpu when rendering a big file.
Microtech Gefell M20 or M21 > Nbob actives > Naiant PFA > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.113 seconds with 35 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF