Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Current/former UA5 users  (Read 2296 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Twenty8

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 200
  • Union Ironworker
Current/former UA5 users
« on: January 26, 2020, 07:07:07 PM »
The time has come for me to take out my UA5s.
I own two Oade mods: one Warm+ and one ACM+

Current/former users of the UA5:
What are a few caveats to their use (besides power polarity)?
What are some things I need to look out for?  The do's and do not's.

I am sure to read up on the quick and dirty on their dedicated threads, but what should I know/what can I learn from your experiences.

They will be run as follows: beyerdynamic mc950 > Oade mod UA5 > Tascam DR680mkii at two TAB shows at The Civic Theatre here in New Orleans next weekend.

Thanks for any info on the sensitivity knobs with hot mic outputs, monitor level info (I don't monitor), and the output knob level in front of the deck.
Open ~ Beyerdynamic MC930 and 950 : Line Audio CM3/OM1 :
Closed ~ AT831b/853 (c,o) : Shure Beta98/s
Pres ~ 2x Oade mod UA-5 (W+, ACM+), Sound Pro bboxes
Decks ~ DR680mkII, DR2d
Also ~ AT3031 : Berliner CM33 : Busman BSC1/K1-4 : Sennheiser e614

Offline anodyne33

  • You'll have that
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 14444
  • Gender: Male
  • All my life there's been the magnets.
    • Lucky
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2020, 09:16:01 AM »
I used one for many years. The only 'getcha' I remember is remembering to hit the phantom button each time you power up, right kids?
Pockets full of nickels and nothing left to eat, and I'm stuck behind a semi on Soniat Street.

Offline Twenty8

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 200
  • Union Ironworker
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2020, 08:00:38 PM »
The information I am having a hard time finding is on the sensitivity knob settings for each mic and the output knob.
My ASSUMPTION is that I should turn up the sensitivity and drive the mics analog before they make it to my deck.

In combing through old threads, its difficult to find usage recommendations.  In part, yes; in parcel, no.
Open ~ Beyerdynamic MC930 and 950 : Line Audio CM3/OM1 :
Closed ~ AT831b/853 (c,o) : Shure Beta98/s
Pres ~ 2x Oade mod UA-5 (W+, ACM+), Sound Pro bboxes
Decks ~ DR680mkII, DR2d
Also ~ AT3031 : Berliner CM33 : Busman BSC1/K1-4 : Sennheiser e614

Offline yug du nord

  • ..Face plant into rock..
  • Trade Count: (56)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5241
  • made with natural flavor
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2020, 08:46:16 PM »
If I remember correctly, the output knob only affects the analog output.
It does not affect the digital output.
.....got a blank space where my mind should be.....

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2020, 04:55:11 AM »
I think the output knob is only for the headphones.  You can easily try it. I also think the monitor button has no influence. It works only when you are connected to the computer via usb. I remember I switched on the Lo-Z button too. If you are using the digital output there is ADV switch in the rear panel for sample rate 96 kHz. And as Anodyne said don't forget the phantom button.

Have a fun with ua5. I like it. I was using it with microtrack recorder.

Offline kindms

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5277
    • The Breakfast
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2020, 12:48:15 PM »
If you have a tablet or even a smart phone it will ouput to usb if you want to go that route

I used to feed it direct to my laptop.
AKG c426, AKG414 XLS/ST, AKG ck61, ck22, >nBob colettes >PFA > V3, SD MixPre >  TCM-Mod Tascam HDP2, Sony M10
Little Bear tube Pre >Outlaw Audio 2200 Monoblocks > VR-2's

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2020, 03:27:52 PM »
Great idea Kindms. It's look like UA5 can work with Android system, see here https://www.extreamsd.com/index.php/products/usb-audio-recorder-pro

Offline Twenty8

  • Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 200
  • Union Ironworker
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2020, 04:44:53 PM »
Mission aborted... for now.
While adaptaplug "M" works with the unit, I need an "N" to power it with the 9v dc 5525 of a Talent Cell.
Gee whiz.
Not a big thing, but I was looking forward to running a W+ night one and an ACM+ night two of TAB here in NOLA.
Would have been a good head-to-head with my MC950s.
Open ~ Beyerdynamic MC930 and 950 : Line Audio CM3/OM1 :
Closed ~ AT831b/853 (c,o) : Shure Beta98/s
Pres ~ 2x Oade mod UA-5 (W+, ACM+), Sound Pro bboxes
Decks ~ DR680mkII, DR2d
Also ~ AT3031 : Berliner CM33 : Busman BSC1/K1-4 : Sennheiser e614

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6776
  • Gender: Male
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2020, 09:15:58 PM »
The clip light came on “low” which was a good thing imo as it meant you still had about 3db of room
Ended up getting a svu though, still have that as it’s a sweet box for when you need it
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline J.Maye

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3365
  • Gender: Male
  • Formerly Phan2001
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2020, 05:11:08 PM »
It's easy to hit the power button by mistake closing a bag or something, so I have a 1/4 plug in the headphone jack so it doesnt get turned off by mistake.
AKG CK91/92/93/94>mk93/h98>se300b>BM2P+ua5>M10
Or
CA ST11 (C,O)>9100>M10
Busman T mod R4

Offline phishn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 472
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a lizard!
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2020, 03:38:20 PM »
Great idea Kindms. It's look like UA5 can work with Android system, see here https://www.extreamsd.com/index.php/products/usb-audio-recorder-pro

Do you know if this works at 96 khz?  The website states to use with "adv off" so I'm wondering, as the 96 khz selection knob states "ADV ONLY".  I don't believe the ADV ONLY options would work with the ADV switch in off position, but I'm not sure.  I also have a Oade Warm Mod one.
AKG391/92/93's-> Hydra Silver XLR's -> UA-5(Oade warm mod) -> Microtrack II,JB3

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2020, 04:53:58 AM »
I am sorry, I have no experience with UA5 and Android. I was using UA5 with M-Audio Microtrack. I hope I remember it correctly, it was possible to record at 96khz when adv was turned on.

I think recording at 96khz should also be possible in Windows. The UA5 had been supplied with drivers for old Windows. I managed to install the drivers in Win10. But I haven't tested recording in 96khz. I only use UA5 as a sound card.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2020, 05:50:10 PM by kuba e »

Offline kuba e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • *
  • Posts: 334
  • Gender: Male
Re: Current/former UA5 users
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2020, 05:03:43 PM »
I forgot one important thing. If you have modded UA5 for standalone use, the usb is not working, it is cut off. (Original UA5 cannot work as standalone preamp, you must always connect it to the computer via usb.)

There is a possibility that the mod can be switched off using a switch. That's how my modded UA5 is made. When I go to tape, I turn on the switch and I use UA5 without a computer (microphones-> UA5-> recorder). When I use UA5 with a computer I turn off the mod and I use usb (PC-> usb-> UA5-> trs/phones out-> monitors/headphones). But if you have non switchable mod you cannot connect UA5 to a computer or a self phone.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2020, 12:25:07 AM by kuba e »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.053 seconds with 54 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF