Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10  (Read 1277 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« on: February 12, 2020, 02:49:40 AM »
I'm very much a beginner still, bought an m10 last year and have only done a few recordings with just the internal mics, nothing else. I finally decided to buy some external mics, some used CA-14s and the guy I bought them from also sold me a church audio ST-20A preamp. I'm gonna be honest and it's embarrassing, but I'm not certain how to use everything and set everything up. Do I still need a battery box? Do the mics go line in, into the preamp, and then use a 3.5mm cable line out into the m10? Do I switch the S20 A up (-27) or  down (+30) for a very loud show at a small club? Should I leave the volume on the m10 at 3? Any help is appreciated, thank you.

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • high desert for life
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2020, 03:13:46 AM »
im not sure of the specs on the st-20, it probably takes the place of a battery box. you want to use the preamp as the primary source of gain, and use the M10 at line-in at 30-50% input gain on the knob

it would be unusual if the preamp had both "-27" and "+30" gain - that would be a huge range
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline unidentified

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 128

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2020, 11:05:54 AM »
im not sure of the specs on the st-20, it probably takes the place of a battery box. you want to use the preamp as the primary source of gain, and use the M10 at line-in at 30-50% input gain on the knob

it would be unusual if the preamp had both "-27" and "+30" gain - that would be a huge range

thank you, based on another post about the preamp i think it's possible the numbers are misprinted, not sure though. Actually I just found a thread in which church audio said it actually means "+6db and +30db". Which should I set it to when recording?
« Last Edit: February 12, 2020, 11:10:22 AM by ryansee »

ilduclo

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2020, 11:10:38 AM »
Go to some shows that you don't care about recording, try different reccommended combinations of the setup.

Offline daspyknows

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5215
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't ask, don't tell, don't get get caught
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2020, 12:22:21 PM »
Go to some shows that you don't care about recording, try different reccommended combinations of the setup.

+1   Similar types of music too.  Practicing on a quiet acoustic show they going to tape a loud metal show won't tell you as much about your configuration.

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2020, 01:09:07 PM »
Go to some shows that you don't care about recording, try different reccommended combinations of the setup.

+1   Similar types of music too.  Practicing on a quiet acoustic show they going to tape a loud metal show won't tell you as much about your configuration.

thanks definitely gonna be experimenting

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4111
  • VOTE!
    • #twitterSUCKS
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2020, 04:20:49 PM »
Go to some shows that you don't care about recording, try different reccommended combinations of the setup.

Practice on a "stack tape" - Set it up a foot from your stereo speaker at home and crank it up to rock and roll.
seriously, VOTE!

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • high desert for life
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2020, 07:13:14 PM »
thats still a large range

+6dB and then using the gain on the M10 would be 'safer'
+30dB risks brickwalling the M10 input.

i would say if you can run +30 and your levels arent peaking to hot with the M10 at 30% of input level or more youre in safe territory.

if you find yourself having to reduce the M10 to below 20% of input level, switch to +6dB and use the M10 at 40-60% of input level instead
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2020, 07:31:00 PM »
thats still a large range

+6dB and then using the gain on the M10 would be 'safer'
+30dB risks brickwalling the M10 input.

i would say if you can run +30 and your levels arent peaking to hot with the M10 at 30% of input level or more youre in safe territory.

if you find yourself having to reduce the M10 to below 20% of input level, switch to +6dB and use the M10 at 40-60% of input level instead

Thank you that's really helpful information for me to get started

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2020, 08:10:56 PM »
can anyone help me figure out a problem with my s20-a I bought? when i plug in the mics to the preamp, and then plug the preamp into the m10, I only get right side sound, no left side. But when i plug the mics directly into the m10, i get sound on both sides, left and right. I was hoping to try out the whole set up with the preamp tonight at a show, but can't figure out if there's something wrong with the preamp or if i'm doing something wrong.

Offline perks

  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2020, 08:32:03 PM »
Is the mini plug > mini plug interconnect cable between the preamp and the recorder a stereo cable?

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/whats-the-difference-between-ts-and-trs-cables/
Mics: Schoeps MK5's (matched), Schoeps MK41's (matched), AT853u's (C,SC,H,O), DPA 4061's
Preamps/converters: Schoeps VMS52UB (x2), Nbox (x2), E.A.A. PSP-2 (x2) Grace Lunatec V2 (for sale), Sound Devices MP-2 (for sale), DPA MMA6000, Naiant Tinybox v1.5, Naiant PiPsqueak, Church Ugly, Apogee Mini-Me, Benchmark AD2k+
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, Korg MR-1, Edirol R-05, Sony PCM-M10 (x2), Tascam DR-07, Marantz PMD-661, Sound Devices Mixpre-3

Offline ryansee

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2020, 08:48:40 PM »
Is the mini plug > mini plug interconnect cable between the preamp and the recorder a stereo cable?

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/whats-the-difference-between-ts-and-trs-cables/

ah, that might be it actually, thank you, i just bought whatever 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable i found at best buy, they only had one option. so I need to make sure I buy a TRS cable, and i need both ends to be 3.5mm, correct? and just based on a quick google search it was hard to find a 3.5mm to 3.5mm, so I might have to buy an adapter?

Offline jerryfreak

  • Trade Count: (30)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4384
  • high desert for life
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2020, 08:54:26 PM »
Is the mini plug > mini plug interconnect cable between the preamp and the recorder a stereo cable?

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/whats-the-difference-between-ts-and-trs-cables/

ah, that might be it actually, thank you, i just bought whatever 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable i found at best buy, they only had one option. so I need to make sure I buy a TRS cable, and i need both ends to be 3.5mm, correct? and just based on a quick google search it was hard to find a 3.5mm to 3.5mm, so I might have to buy an adapter?

they are actually quite common. search amazon for 'stereo miniplug cable'
my facemask is a windscreen

People whose posts I wont see:
capnhook, daspyknows, Melanie, morst, Rob D., Scooter123, Sloan Simpson, Walstib62

Offline morst

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4111
  • VOTE!
    • #twitterSUCKS
Re: Connecting preamp and mics to m-10
« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2020, 11:32:55 PM »
i would say if you can run +30 and your levels arent peaking to hot with the M10 at 30% of input level or more youre in safe territory.
if you find yourself having to reduce the M10 to below 20% of input level, switch to +6dB and use the M10 at 40-60% of input level instead
I think I've run the M10 (with limiter) down to a record level of 1 without brickwalling, but if you have to lower the level below 1 of 10 on a Sony recorder, the input is definitely too hot.
For Sony recorders I've used, (D6 cassette, D7, D8, D100, M1 DAT, and also the M10) input level of 4-5 of 10 is the best range. Up to 7 is OK, but above that seems to be a gain stage where noise gets boosted too.
seriously, VOTE!

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.077 seconds with 57 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF