Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Another D8 question  (Read 2863 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Another D8 question
« on: May 25, 2004, 11:46:09 PM »
My D8 was working fine yesterday and it had not moved since then. Today I went to play something on it and it did not work. All of the other functions are fine and the display appears to be normal. I tried to record on it and everything seemed normal. Nothing recorded either. Is my DAT dead? Has anyone ever had any similar to this?
thanks,
aaron

also, does anyone have a site where I could get a new JB3 if my DAT is done?
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2004, 11:58:35 PM »
When I tried to record on it, everything appeared fine, music was running through it and it normal but when I tried to go back and play it it was as if the DAT was blank.
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

Offline goose

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 986
  • Gender: Male
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2004, 01:41:07 AM »
try to fast forward the tape a couple minutes and try playing it again

it may be that the tape has a blank leader that makes the deck see the tape as blank, but the music just starts later on the tape

hope it works!  good luck

Offline EA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1058
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2004, 07:48:40 AM »
Sounds like a misload to me. If you hand tighten your tapes before putting them into your D8 (which takes all of 5 seconds) you'll never have another misload problem again. Doug Oade told me about that trick and I'm now several years without a misload.
Why is there no boxing in the special olympics?

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2004, 11:52:23 AM »
I tried some other tapes and had no luck. It will not record or play. It does not recognize anything on any of the tapes. Any other ideas? Thanks a lot everyone.
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7662
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2004, 10:04:20 PM »
Sounds like a misload to me. If you hand tighten your tapes before putting them into your D8 (which takes all of 5 seconds) you'll never have another misload problem again. Doug Oade told me about that trick and I'm now several years without a misload.

how do you hand tighten the tapes..?

I know how to check to make sure tapes have loaded properly, but I do not know how to prevent this from happening. thanks, in advance, for the info...

-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2004, 02:51:12 PM »
This happened to me & it was a loose glide path roller. It's not getting the tape to the head. 75 dollar fix at pro digital.

Is the white arm above the head pushed back?
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2004, 03:04:47 PM »
This happened to me & it was a loose glide path roller. It's not getting the tape to the head. 75 dollar fix at pro digital.

Is the white arm above the head pushed back?

Yeah, it is...I can move it forward but then it goes right back to the back again. it does seem like it is not very secure to the peice of metal that it is connected to.
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2004, 03:20:08 PM »
It needs to be glued back in place. Paul said it happens all the time. T+ it's an easy fix.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2004, 03:24:17 PM by Kindguy »
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2004, 04:11:07 PM »
+t Right back at ya...I was thinking of putting it on ebay as a parts DAT. I am glad I didn't, Thanks a lot!!
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

Offline Aaron734

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1914
  • Gender: Male
  • On Hiatus
Re:Another D8 question
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2004, 08:17:57 PM »
It needs to be glued back in place. Paul said it happens all the time. T+ it's an easy fix.

Does this look like the problem you had??
Thanks again,
aaron
Playback: Marantz PM5003 > Audioquest Rocket 33 > Monitor Audio RS6, Silver Series > Ears

Save The Ears!
http://www.etymotic.com/

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.102 seconds with 52 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF