Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Floor/Stand Vibrations  (Read 3079 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Floor/Stand Vibrations
« on: April 13, 2003, 03:32:27 PM »
I have done the last several tapes of mine at the same venue.  Where I set up is on a raised floor.  I have noticed that sometimes when people come down the stairs from the bar or they stomp the floor, it will run straight up my stand and the mics pick it up.  Just curious what you guys do to stop this.  I was thinking maybe getting some foam or crutch tips to put on the legs of my stand.

-Kevin

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2003, 06:54:57 PM »
are you using shockmounts???? or is that a dumb question???

bean
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2003, 08:33:03 PM »
I was sort of thinking the same thing Disko, is he using shockmounts?, not a dumb question really, not everyone uses them...
« Last Edit: April 13, 2003, 08:33:18 PM by creekfreak »
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2003, 12:15:46 AM »
i unfortunately didnt phor quite awhile.....what a BIG diff. they make.....i can notice at LEAST 15 db of especially bass on my 481's just vanish!!!! ;D

bean
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2003, 12:27:19 AM »
I have a shockmount for the rigid T-bar I have but not for the flexible one I have been using in this paticular club.

-Kevin

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2003, 02:24:43 AM »
if you could rig something up, your poblems w/ a nice shock would solve your problems..... ;D.LOL ;)

bean
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2003, 03:11:03 AM »
I'll have to do some thinking on how to do it.  The shockmount works fine with the 'arms' of the t-bar straight out to the sides.  But when I bend it around to run DIN, NOS...it gets to heavy in the front and the bands won't support it and it droops down.  Hard to explain...let me try and get my gfs camera and take some pics.

-Kevin

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Team Schoeps Tapir that
  • Trade Count: (126)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40718
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
    • MediaFire Recordings
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2003, 04:39:14 AM »
if ya have the sabra crap, this is how I level the mics out......w/ a simple tie.....hope this helps and yes i'm that bored tonite....... ;D...heres a pic.....

bean
Schoeps MK 4V & MK 41V ->
Schoeps 250/0 KCY's (x2) ->
Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's (x2) ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby XLR's (x3) ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 & MixPre-3 ->
SanDisk 128gb Extreme Pro & 64gb Ultra Plus SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420
http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php
http://www.mediafire.com/folder/j9eu80jpuaubz/Recordings

Offline schoeps t00bes

  • Local Crew
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1371
  • Gender: Male
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2003, 05:00:14 AM »
shocks will definitely solve your problem on this.....
dave
Fuck MSG!!!

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2003, 11:10:18 AM »
do your self a big favor and get some AT shock mounts and maybe even a shure bar. I had the same droppy problem when using the sombra crap
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2003, 11:27:42 AM »
Keep in mind that the mics I'm using are very small and won't fit individually in a shock mount.  The shock mount I have holds my t-bar.

-Kevin

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2003, 11:45:00 AM »
what mics are you using? I use the schoeps cmc5 bodies, which are not very big at all either.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Floor/Stand Vibrations
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2003, 12:34:12 PM »
AT943s

-Kevin

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.054 seconds with 54 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF