Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 12V question.  (Read 1748 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
12V question.
« on: August 25, 2004, 12:31:18 AM »
I'm real new to building anything like this so bare with me.

I have a 12 V wired with two 4 pin XLR's.

What I want to do is remove the cables & build two more using the existing cabling & 4 pins.

My question is why did the person who made this battery solder 4 wires on the + side. & only used 2 of them. Are the other 2 some type of ground?  Or did he solder 4 & realize he only needed 2?
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline leegeddy

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Gender: Male
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 01:26:13 AM »
cringe!!!! that battery setup is asking for trouble of major shorting and fire.

i wouldn't use that at all and start over.

(user beware),

marc
"I'm a taper, he's a taper. Wouldn't you like to be a taper too?"
"Mics? What mics? This is my hat."

Offline bhtoque

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3304
  • Gender: Male
  • So much music, so little time.
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2004, 09:35:14 AM »
yeah, start from scratch.

I'd also not solder right to the battery, but use spade connectors and cable stays to keep stuff in place.

JAson
MG 200/210/270
AKG c422>s42>Hydra silver interconnects
AKG 391/92/93>MK 90/3 actives
>AM Hyper-Conductors
Studio Projects LSD2>MiAGi II
>Edirol R-4 (Oade T Mod)

db.etree.org/bhtoque

Offline Daryan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1078
  • Gender: Male
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2004, 11:19:09 AM »
Even using spades, isn't it best to drop some solder on the wire?  I usually apply a small amount to the wire to make sure they don't fray, and then solder the spades directly to the terminal or just the bare wire.  Not that i am any good at it, but it has generally (with the exception of my apogee issues), worked fine.  That said, I would desolder that wire, clip off a piece of each end, and re do it with some shring wrap and electric tape this time. 

Daryan
Microtech Gefell 200/210->Zaolla Silverlines->Fostex FR-2 (oade modified plus other self mods)

Playback: Bolder modified Squeezebox SB3 (building linear power supply)->Bolder Cable Modified Panasonic XR-45 with bybee's->Bolder Nitro speaker cables->VMPS Audio super modified 626r's, VMPS Larger SUB, 1000w class AB sub amp
Tweaks: isolation and room treatments, silclear, BPT 1.5r Power Conditioner (modified), isoblocks, vibrapods, many others

Offline aberg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Canada
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2004, 04:30:53 PM »
I've soldered directly to SLAs before... as long as you keep the terminals separate and are careful it's easy and works fine... just seal it all up nice so you don't get shorts and all that. The one pictured there looks like a damn mess.

Offline bhtoque

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3304
  • Gender: Male
  • So much music, so little time.
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2004, 04:38:46 PM »
I like to use spades for two reasons.

1. Easy to re-wire later

2. Keeps the battery terminals well protected so nothing makes contact and sparks.

JAson
MG 200/210/270
AKG c422>s42>Hydra silver interconnects
AKG 391/92/93>MK 90/3 actives
>AM Hyper-Conductors
Studio Projects LSD2>MiAGi II
>Edirol R-4 (Oade T Mod)

db.etree.org/bhtoque

Offline aberg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
  • Team Canada
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2004, 04:45:30 PM »
Where do you get these spades?

BobW

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: 12V question.
« Reply #7 on: September 02, 2004, 06:29:23 PM »
Ratshack has spade connectors, as does many eletronic supply houses.

Don't use solid wire to power in the field, it will flex and break causing headaches.
Use stranded wire of adequate gauge for your current needs(number of amps or milliamps.)

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.112 seconds with 49 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF