Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Playing D8 DATs in a D7  (Read 2026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« on: June 25, 2003, 01:26:22 PM »
I was going to do some transfer for a friend who runs a D8, but he told me the DATs wouldn't play in my D7.  Is that true and if so, why?

-Kevin

Offline greenone

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 9281
  • Gender: Male
  • Russian mics... strong like bull...
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2003, 06:01:46 PM »
They should play just fine, assuming your D7's heads aren't completely out of whack with regards to his D8's. He might be thinking of the SCMS problem when trying to clone a clone that was made to a consumer deck (master>clone is ok on two consumer decks, but clone>another clone won't work)...dunno though.

--Dave
Unofficial Blues Traveler archivist - glad to work on any BT or related recordings
archive.org admin - happy to upload tracked material to the LMA

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2003, 06:11:02 PM »
unless its broke..... :'(
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2003, 06:11:09 PM »
Maybe he had problems before and just assumed it was due to D7/D8 issues.  I will give it a try.

-Kevin

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2003, 06:11:58 PM »
unless its broke..... :'(

Unless what's broke?

-Kevin

Offline JAH

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 785
  • The kids they dance, they shake their bones!
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2003, 09:55:13 AM »
yo bro...shouldn't have any problems xfr one time even w/ scms (scums) providing both decks are up to spec.  You'll have to prove him wrong and make him happy that it can be done.  But do it digitally ;D
have a great weekend.
jah
Taping, it's a team sport!
km140/150>M148>mme or msbm-1
...yes screwdriver impaired
modified akg 461/2/ck8
iH120...and a slew of dat decks ;-(

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (121)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40568
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2003, 01:12:30 AM »
i would llso play around w/ switching the d7/8 as a playback and recording deck...some issues w/ the d7's levels have been quite noticeable...if ya run a long chain, ya have to go d7/8/7/8/7/8/7/8 to get consistent levels...maybe this is what he meant.... ??? ;)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline geoff piper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 412
  • Gender: Male
  • I regret selling my rig :(
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2003, 09:42:43 AM »
Is it true that D7's will record 44.1 but only through the 7 pin? Sorry this doesnt go with the thread but i didnt know where to put it.

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18707
  • Gender: Male
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2003, 09:52:31 AM »
Is it true that D7's will record 44.1 but only through the 7 pin? Sorry this doesnt go with the thread but i didnt know where to put it.

The D7 will record at 44.1k if fed an external 44.1k signal via the 7-pin.  It will not record at 44.1k when fed an analog signal.
Milab VM-44 Links >
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline geoff piper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 412
  • Gender: Male
  • I regret selling my rig :(
Re:Playing D8 DATs in a D7
« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2003, 09:58:35 AM »
Is it true that D7's will record 44.1 but only through the 7 pin? Sorry this doesnt go with the thread but i didnt know where to put it.

The D7 will record at 44.1k if fed an external 44.1k signal via the 7-pin.  It will not record at 44.1k when fed an analog signal.

so that means that if I ran adc-20> d7 or UA 5>D7 i would be able to record at 44.1 Excellent.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.213 seconds with 37 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company