Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me  (Read 3081 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline d5

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 188
  • Gender: Male
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #15 on: May 13, 2005, 01:43:50 PM »
Although I don't use a UA-5, I'm still very curious about this. Does the wmod apply heavy coloration? I assumed that the differances between p, t and w mods are quite subtle, requiring a good playback system to hear the differances. I'm wondering if the wmod is the culprit to the excessive bass.

I don't have hands-on UA5 experience, but I would not think that the mods apply "heavy" coloration and that you are probably right in that the various mods are subtle differences in "flavoring" between the units. When I referred to applying heavy coloration to the original recording I was thinking something more along the lines of using the HPF on the 480 bodies.


Thanks for the feedback. I hesitated before using the word "heavy" because I didn't want to imply thats what you meant, but it's the best word I could come up with that represented the theme of the thread.
JW mod AKG 460/ck61's > Sound Devices 702

Offline Chuck

  • Trade Count: (41)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10455
  • Gender: Male
  • time between the notes...
    • My recordings on the LMA
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #16 on: May 13, 2005, 04:43:40 PM »
Although I don't use a UA-5, I'm still very curious about this. Does the wmod apply heavy coloration? I assumed that the differances between p, t and w mods are quite subtle, requiring a good playback system to hear the differances. I'm wondering if the wmod is the culprit to the excessive bass.

I heard somewhere that Doug started doing the w-mod to compliment the 480's...
I run 480> Mini-Me and really like it. Some say the Mini-Me is warm.
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.

Microphones: (2) Microtech Gefell M300, (2) AKG C 480 B comb-ULS/ CK 61/ CK 63, (2) CAD GXL1200 (cardioid and sub-cardioid capsule & electronics mod), (2) Audix M1290-o, (2) Micro capsule active cables w/ Naiant PFA's, (2) Naiant MSH-1O, (2) Naiant AKG Active cables, (2) Church CA-11 (cardioid), (2) CAD C9, (1) Nady SCM-1000 (mod)
Pre-amps: Naiant littlekit v2.0, BM2p+ Edirol UA-5, Church STC-9000
Recorders: Tascam DR-680, iRiver iHP-120 (Rockboxed & RTC mod), Denon DTR-80p

Recordings on the LMA: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/ChuckM
Recording website & blog: http://www.timebetweenthenotes.com

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #17 on: May 13, 2005, 09:37:55 PM »
I don't think I have ever heard 480's and too much bass in the same sentance before....
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #18 on: May 14, 2005, 01:26:31 AM »
I don't think I have ever heard 480's and too much bass in the same sentance before....

you havent herd some of my 480>v3 tapes then believe it or not

the 480's pick up what they hear, no bass in the show=no bass on the recording, lots of bass=lots of bass in the recording ;)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline jdawg

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 664
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #19 on: May 14, 2005, 02:07:43 AM »
It's just that I have trouble hearing the 'highs' due to some hearing problems (no, not related to loud music) and I always find myself turning up the treble, etc... to get rid of the bass. 


Given this, maybe EQ on playback (as you have been doing), might be your best option for making your recordings sound good to you on your playback gear, rather than applying heavy coloration to the original recording. That way you still have a good representation of how the show actually sounded on your tape, then when listening you can do as much fine-tuning as you like. Just a thought, of course YMMV.
Take care,
Ben

I think this is where we can end this thread.... thanks all!



Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #20 on: May 14, 2005, 12:48:00 PM »
I don't think I have ever heard 480's and too much bass in the same sentance before....

you havent herd some of my 480>v3 tapes then believe it or not

the 480's pick up what they hear, no bass in the show=no bass on the recording, lots of bass=lots of bass in the recording ;)

I am sure that is true....most of the recordings I have heard with the 480's where done with the hyper caps, which would tone that bass down, I am sure the omni's thump
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #21 on: May 14, 2005, 01:51:11 PM »
I don't think I have ever heard 480's and too much bass in the same sentance before....

you havent herd some of my 480>v3 tapes then believe it or not

the 480's pick up what they hear, no bass in the show=no bass on the recording, lots of bass=lots of bass in the recording ;)

I am sure that is true....most of the recordings I have heard with the 480's where done with the hyper caps, which would tone that bass down, I am sure the omni's thump

i may pull the trigger on the omni's this summer before moedown, i bet ck62>480>v3 is da bomb :)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline creekfreak

  • Retired from taping
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8095
  • Gender: Male
  • My Son's School Bus
    • Rochester Groove
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #22 on: May 14, 2005, 02:02:47 PM »
do it...best pattern IMO when you can use it....omni's at moe down would probably sound phat...though I am curious how it would sound with that big hill behind you.
It is company policy never to imply ownership in the event of a dildo - We have to use the indefinite article; "A" dildo, never: "YOUR" dildo.
In Tyler we Trust

And isn't sanity really just a one-trick pony anyway? I mean all you get is one trick, rational thinking, but when you're good and crazy, ooh ooh ooh, the sky is the limit!

My Current Rig:2004 Subaru WRX STI, Stage 3, 360hp, 380lb-ft

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #23 on: May 14, 2005, 02:11:01 PM »
that may be the perfect place to do it tho, cause i could literally clamp an omni on each side of the SBD and it nice and FOB taboot

the mountain i dont think would affect it too badly at all, i know a totally flat field would be ideal, but ibet those split omnis at the moedown would own j00

at the very worst, id like to borrow a pair and maybe do a diff set ofcaps eachday, maybe split omnis one day, then cards the next, and hypers the last day

my FOB moedown tapes from last year w/ the hypers are possibly some of the best tapes ive ever made, i usuallyget nothing but RAVE reviews from my close buddies who know theyre shizzle :)
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline T.J.

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2475
  • Gender: Male
  • Always look on the Bright Side of Life
    • My shows taped on LMA
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #24 on: May 14, 2005, 03:15:19 PM »
i may pull the trigger on the omni's this summer before moedown, i bet ck62>480>v3 is da bomb :)
i vote you do it. even if you can't buy them, maybe you can borrow them from someone

Offline F.O.Bean

  • Is a 4 channel slut and
  • Trade Count: (122)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 40600
  • Gender: Male
  • Taperus Maximus
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2005, 04:10:37 PM »
i may pull the trigger on the omni's this summer before moedown, i bet ck62>480>v3 is da bomb :)
i vote you do it. even if you can't buy them, maybe you can borrow them from someone

exactly ;D
Schoeps MK4's | MK41's ->
Schoeps | NBob 250/05 KCY's ->
Schoeps VMS 02IB | Naiant +60v/Low Noise PFA's ->
DarkTrain Right Angle Stubby | GakCable XLR's ->
Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Tascam DR-70D ->
128gb | 64gb SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC-I

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/diskobean | http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/Bean420 | http://bt.etree.org/mytorrents.php

Offline jmerin

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1196
  • Gender: Male
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #26 on: May 14, 2005, 04:19:41 PM »
the only thing that i can think of is.  the v3 is a great piece.  the ua5 on the other hand isn't, for 1 i wouldn't buy something that need so many mods, warm,t, . the company should of thought of the mods before coming out with the ua5
Mics: Schoeps MK4's | Schoeps MK41's | Schoeps Mk21's
Pre-Amps: Schoeps VMS02ib | Nbox Platinum KCY
Cables: KCY 250/5 Ig (2)
Recorders: Sony M10  | Tascam 70D l Edirol R-44

Offline Tim

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32925
  • Gender: Male
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2005, 04:54:56 PM »
the only thing that i can think of is. the v3 is a great piece. the ua5 on the other hand isn't, for 1 i wouldn't buy something that need so many mods, warm,t, . the company should of thought of the mods before coming out with the ua5

I couldn't disagree with you more

The Oade's took a piece of gear that wasn't meant for our purposes and figured out that with a simple modification to the output you could run the unit without a computer. From there the other mods are just to tweak the flavor and achieve a specific sound. When I had a V3 I used to run an m148 in front of it in order to tweak the sound of the V3....

you might not like the sound of teh box, or the ergonomics but to criticize it because it's possible to mod is, I think, a bit silly
« Last Edit: May 14, 2005, 04:56:37 PM by Tim »
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Brian

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 9406
  • Gender: Male
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2005, 05:53:03 PM »
the only thing that i can think of is. the v3 is a great piece. the ua5 on the other hand isn't, for 1 i wouldn't buy something that need so many mods, warm,t, . the company should of thought of the mods before coming out with the ua5

I couldn't disagree with you more

The Oade's took a piece of gear that wasn't meant for our purposes and figured out that with a simple modification to the output you could run the unit without a computer. From there the other mods are just to tweak the flavor and achieve a specific sound. When I had a V3 I used to run an m148 in front of it in order to tweak the sound of the V3....

you might not like the sound of teh box, or the ergonomics but to criticize it because it's possible to mod is, I think, a bit silly

yep, the ua5 is great.  all the contstant fluffing htat went around here when this was the hot ticket item is definitely justified.  I have without a doubt made better TL>wUA5 tapes than TL>V3 or TL>V2>modsbm1 tapes.  Of course not all of them were better :P, but I think the box definitely compares to the higher end all-in-1 boxes.

Offline adventuregeorge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
  • Work, play hard, and... Drink Milk!!!
Re: 480's and a wmod UA-5 = too much bass for me
« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2005, 08:54:10 PM »
Right now I'm running the 483>w-mod and the sound is incredible, my most recent show.....  (http://bt.etree.org/details.php?id=14336) Dollar for Dollar you wont find a better unit then the oade modded Ua-5.  I would put it in the same class as the minime and V3.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.287 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company