Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Nomad JB3  (Read 3564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bri

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3226
  • Gender: Male
  • There is nothing you can hold, for very long.
Nomad JB3
« on: November 04, 2002, 10:24:50 AM »
I know there has been alot of talk on this on Oade, I am really considering getting one. Optical in is fine for the AD1000! ;)

http://www.nomadworld.com/products/Jukebox3/

Bri

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2002, 10:42:35 AM »
I'd wait till they upgrade the firmware... still some pops and clicks issues as Jamie has said over in Oade.

Jonny

Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2002, 03:17:49 PM »
I'd go for it.   I know of one guy already running the adk->opitcal->jb3 and he loves it.  He usually does FOB where a small click/pop could be mistaken for a clap and vice versa.  Maybe just run it along side a DAT till the upgrade the firmware?  

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2002, 03:23:52 PM »
That would be an option, however I suggest waiting still as the price will drop and the firmware will get its upgrade.  

Jonny

Offline Bri

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3226
  • Gender: Male
  • There is nothing you can hold, for very long.
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2002, 04:59:09 PM »
I hate DAT's and love anything that is firmware upgradeable! Wonder how hard it is to change out the HD in case that thing breaks, but for 350 bucks, it cant be beat! We'll have to make some active optical splitters! ;) Think it will ever support 24/96?

Bri

jpschust

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2002, 05:14:19 PM »
In time my friend, in time.

Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2002, 06:02:29 PM »
I wouldn't look for 24/48 or 96 support anytime soon.  I still think the majority of the audience that would use is the jb3 is completely happy with 16/44.1.  My .02...

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2002, 07:04:53 PM »
yeah, I'm pretty sure I had read a post somewhere that said that creative had no plans to release a 24 bit firmware, and that it may not even be possible with the hardware used in the jb3.

I'll try and dig up that message.

Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2002, 09:38:41 PM »
I'd love to see that article/post if you could find it jeffk, let us know what you find!

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #9 on: November 05, 2002, 02:05:51 AM »
from the "other" board ;)

http://www.oade.com/cgi-bin/miva?Forum/technology/showmsg.mv+message=210

That's the message I had seen, maybe things have changed now though... you around here too jamie?

Offline JeffK

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 535
  • Gender: Male
  • ...just a little split off center than the most
    • umphreaks!
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #10 on: November 05, 2002, 02:13:38 AM »
You'll have to cut and paste for that link to work, or I can just paste the post (without permission) here :)

----------------------------------------

Subject:  Re: Nomad - rewrite the firmware?
Date:  Fri, 26 Jul 2002 09:23:22 -0700 (PDT)
From:  jamie  

I've been working closely with a creative engineer who is working on solving the nomad's inabilities. When I asked him about things such as programming th enomad to record 24bit spdif, or use codecs like .ape and .shn, this is the response I got:

--------
That's the assumption everybody makes. Firmware for a piece of hardware like the NJB1 or NJB3 is so specialised that one is not likely to be able to just compile ANSI C code for it and expect it to work. Our MP3 encoders, WMA decoders, and MP3 decoders are all hand-written assembler - there is no way otherwise to get the chip to give you all these and more and yet provide 11 hours of battery life. Supporting a specialised chip would also require special compilers, tools, etc, that we can't supply either (we don't own the tools).
 
As Creative is a business organisation, it has to watch its bottom line. This means the effort to support any new codecs will have to have a suitable ROI (return on investment).  As you can guess, this typically means only mainstream consumer stuff gets highest priority.

Off topic, but this is why high-end equipment is so expensive.  It's not so much the hardware, but the fact that few sets are going to move, and hence R&D costs (and other costs) have to be recouped via higher retail prices.
-------------------

The encouraging thing is that they _are_ actively working on solving the recording glitch problem, so it will be able to replace your d8.  Since it also works as a firewire drive, you could also use it to ge tthe '5 minute' 24bit patch after the show


Offline d swing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 840
  • Gender: Male
Re:Nomad JB3
« Reply #11 on: November 05, 2002, 10:14:23 AM »
Ok, now I remember reading that.   Thanks Jeff.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.167 seconds with 39 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company