Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: level meter fer the ua-5  (Read 2440 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1st set only

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2118
  • Gender: Male
  • you are what you is
    • Don Poulsen Illustration and Graphic Design
level meter fer the ua-5
« on: July 21, 2003, 03:05:52 PM »
this was talked about before on the oade site. anyone here know of a good level meter that could be used. is this my only option?

http://www.beachtek.com/svu1.html
the show is over go home please.

Offline blu666z

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • AT ES943(H/C/O caps) » JKLab PP9 Pre » wmod UA-5
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2003, 03:25:39 PM »
Well if you are using the digtal outputs, I don't think you would be getting a true reading if you feed it a signal from the RCAs.  Is there an easy way to convert digital signal to RCAs?  Maybe go UA-5 to 7-pin.  Then from the out on the 7-pin go to the convert and on to the level meters.?.?

I would be interested in something like that.

-Kevin

Offline sexymexi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1778
  • Gender: Male
    • show list
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2003, 05:01:45 PM »
i'd say go for it... looks good, but yea depends on if your using the digital out, or the RCA, i don't think it would be much of a problem, just use it and get familiar with it..   i don't know if there is an easy way to convert the digital to RCA, yes it would be very cool. but i might have to invest in that anyway... looks good..
AKG 391's > phantom boxes > JB3 or Casio DA-7
Panasonic WM1610 omni's > whatever

Playback: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > Onkyo TSDX595 > matched Oynix Rockets > Mirage FRX-S8 sub

Offline sexymexi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1778
  • Gender: Male
    • show list
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2003, 05:12:05 PM »
AKG 391's > phantom boxes > JB3 or Casio DA-7
Panasonic WM1610 omni's > whatever

Playback: Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum > Onkyo TSDX595 > matched Oynix Rockets > Mirage FRX-S8 sub

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10089
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2003, 11:09:19 PM »
this was talked about before on the oade site. anyone here know of a good level meter that could be used. is this my only option?

http://www.beachtek.com/svu1.html


easy enough to calibrate.  put the meter's pots at unity, run your pre>deck to it's regular settings, then match the analog to the digital out.

jr

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline mirth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Gender: Male
  • Les Hommes Savvent Pourquois
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2003, 12:02:40 AM »
Why not just hook it up to the RCA outs & turn the monitor pot all the way to the right? From what I understand from the manual, all the way to the right is the same sound level as your gain knobs. If you turn it to the left it attenuates the signal.

Of course, you're eating your only analog out so the patchers are damned... All you'd need would be RCA > 1/8 or 1/4 TRS into the level meter.

Am I missing something or is it that simple?
Governor Jim McGreevey was equally disturbed about the upcoming population increase. "New Jersey cannot support all of these wookies," he said. "For starters, we don't have nearly enough kindbud. At best, we can muster up a Q.P. of some beasties, but we've not a dime-bag more."

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10089
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2003, 12:05:43 AM »
Why not just hook it up to the RCA outs & turn the monitor pot all the way to the right? From what I understand from the manual, all the way to the right is the same sound level as your gain knobs. If you turn it to the left it attenuates the signal.

Of course, you're eating your only analog out so the patchers are damned... All you'd need would be RCA > 1/8 or 1/4 TRS into the level meter.

Am I missing something or is it that simple?

i don't know about the ua-5, i was referring to the pots on the outboard meter.

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline mirth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2508
  • Gender: Male
  • Les Hommes Savvent Pourquois
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2003, 12:07:50 AM »
i don't know about the ua-5, i was referring to the pots on the outboard meter.

jr

Ah yes, I see that now. Still, it doesn't sound like it'd be too hard to get running.
Governor Jim McGreevey was equally disturbed about the upcoming population increase. "New Jersey cannot support all of these wookies," he said. "For starters, we don't have nearly enough kindbud. At best, we can muster up a Q.P. of some beasties, but we've not a dime-bag more."

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10089
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2003, 12:13:58 AM »
rca>rca

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline Nick in Edinboro

  • Wishes he was fishing right now...
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2933
  • Gender: Male
  • Toshiba SD3690 > HK AR-20 > B&K ST-140 > Axiom M22
    • moepics.com - share your shots of moe.
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2003, 09:01:21 AM »
Couldn't something like this be used?



http://www.hobbytron.net/vk4306.html

Not sure how it would be powered though, here are the spec's maybe someone can demisitfy it for me.

2 X 15 LED's
BAR OR DOT MODE
Scale : -23dB to +5dB, 15 LED's per channel.
dB-linear division from -4 to +5dB (1dB per LED).
Systematically growing steps below -4dB.
Accuracy : 0.5dB (1 KHz).
Frequency range : 20 Hz to 30 KHz (-3dB).
Three different LED colors : green, orange and red.
Adjustable sensitivity: 150mV to 5Vrms Low input, 1.5V to 50Vrms High Input
Input impedance : 47K Low input / 470K High input
POWER SUPPLY: 10 to 15VDC / 300mA max.
PCB DIMENSIONS: 150 x 57 mm

You can also apparently make your own input, they suggest 1/8" plug but I'd imagine doing something like RCA could be done too?

Quote
Hook it up to a Video camera through a standard stereo headphone 1/8 mini jack: This has terminal pins to solder to. With an adapter cable you make from the headphone jack to the PCB, you can use it as described. Requires a 12-15vdc power supply at 300mA.
Oktava MC012's (dorseymod) > UA-5 (digmod) > JB3
http://braintuba.no-ip.com

Offline 1st set only

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2118
  • Gender: Male
  • you are what you is
    • Don Poulsen Illustration and Graphic Design
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2003, 09:05:43 AM »
Ok all how bout this... what if you went line out of a jb3> to the level meter? wouldnt this be a somewhat accurate representation of what the final recording device is reciving?
the show is over go home please.

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10089
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2003, 10:08:23 AM »
Ok all how bout this... what if you went line out of a jb3> to the level meter? wouldnt this be a somewhat accurate representation of what the final recording device is reciving?
 

yes, but that would be the line level coming out of the jb3, not from the ua-5>jb3.  they may not be the same.  you want to see what's being fed into the jb3, no?

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline 1st set only

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2118
  • Gender: Male
  • you are what you is
    • Don Poulsen Illustration and Graphic Design
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2003, 10:11:51 AM »
Yes I do.. you cant change the levels comming out of the jb3 so my thought would be that what is commin out is trhe same level comming in. no?
the show is over go home please.

Offline John R

  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 10089
  • Gender: Male
    • www.tapers.org
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2003, 10:18:55 AM »
imo, i don't think so.  the ua-5 has variable out, where the jb3 has fixed and most likely attenuated since it is a lower power device.

jr
we all live downstream.

Offline 1st set only

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2118
  • Gender: Male
  • you are what you is
    • Don Poulsen Illustration and Graphic Design
Re:level meter fer the ua-5
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2003, 10:49:06 AM »
POOP! I WANT A LEVEL METER!
the show is over go home please.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.216 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2017 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF
Website Design by Foxtrot Media, Inc., a Baltimore Website Company