Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Question on Sony Hi-MD MiniDisc Recorders  (Read 3711 times)

Offline disilluzion

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Question on Sony Hi-MD MiniDisc Recorders
« on: April 02, 2006, 11:57:44 AM »
Greetings, noob here.

I need some tapers to help me out on this one. I was looking at getting a Sony Hi-MD MiniDisc recorder, possibly the MZ-RH910 for some
upcoming shows. I've heard that these Sony players are infected by the vial DRM, meaning that I would be able to record a show in WAV, but
wouldn't be able to edit it at all. Does anyone know if this is true and/or can recommend a substitute?

Thanks

Offline madman

• Taperssection Regular
Re: Question on Sony Hi-MD MiniDisc Recorders
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2006, 12:46:11 PM »
The short answer is no, that is not true.  You might want to hop over to minidisc.org and check out the Hi-MD FAQ there for more information.

Offline wedraper

• Taperssection Newbie
  • Back in the saddle!
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2006, 01:22:00 PM »
i've been using that same recorder with no problems.

wed
AT853rx > UA-5 > MZ-RH910

Offline disilluzion

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2006, 01:25:08 PM »
Thanks guys, I think I'll give it a shot and see how it goes.

Offline Javier Cinakowski

• !! Downhill From Here !!
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2006, 01:32:59 PM »
Might I recomend jumping up to the MZRH10 , it comes with a better battery and it has a backlight.
Neumann KM185mp OR DPA ST2015-> Grace Design Lunatec V2-> Tascam DR-100mkIII

Offline disilluzion

• Taperssection Newbie
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2006, 01:41:23 PM »