Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: .cda file?  (Read 1728 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline halleyscomet8

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5557
  • Gender: Male
.cda file?
« on: April 29, 2006, 02:50:26 PM »
i just tried to put a show into my computer and it says it is a .cda file. it will not transfer to wav, or flac files. it does play in winamp, and the other media players. the files read as being 1kb in size? anyone ever seen this? thanks
my shows on the archive: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/halleyscomet8
And, yes, I know I suck about getting stuff circulated.  ;)

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 03:22:14 PM »
its an audio CD.  if you want to get the WAV files off the disc, use a program like EAC (Exact Audio Copy).

Offline Teen Wolf Blitzer

  • It's all ballbearings these days.
  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5272
  • Gender: Male
  • I am Rattus Norvegicus.
    • Support Festival Radio
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 03:22:20 PM »
cda is what it says when you put a store bought cdr on your pc.  This isn't a cdr is it?  You cant play a CDA file, a CDA file is merely a file manager placeholder for an audio track. It has to be converted to a different format like Wav or Mp3. As mentioned above use EAC.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2006, 03:26:40 PM by tapermark »

Offline Patrick

  • Evil Urges, Baby.
  • Trade Count: (2)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5205
  • Gender: Male
    • PTM Audio
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2006, 04:04:34 PM »
cda is what it says when you put a store bought cdr on your pc.  This isn't a cdr is it?  You cant play a CDA file, a CDA file is merely a file manager placeholder for an audio track. It has to be converted to a different format like Wav or Mp3. As mentioned above use EAC.



Offline hzgone

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2199
  • Gender: Male
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2006, 10:04:31 PM »
cda is what it says when you put a store bought cdr on your pc.  This isn't a cdr is it?  You cant play a CDA file, a CDA file is merely a file manager placeholder for an audio track. It has to be converted to a different format like Wav or Mp3. As mentioned above use EAC.


even if it a cd-r a your burnt an audio disc in nero or whatever you use it will come up as a .cda file.  You can play .cda files, like it say above it will play in winamp or whatever he is using.  Agree with the rest use EAC to extract to .wav then you can covert to .flac
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

BobW

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2006, 08:39:04 AM »
Track1.CDA, Track2.CDA, etc.  is the computer filesystems' way of describing a CD Table of Contents

Offline halleyscomet8

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5557
  • Gender: Male
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2006, 10:38:32 AM »
so, flac files were burns as audio, not data. will i loose anything by using eac? if so i can get another copy.
my shows on the archive: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/halleyscomet8
And, yes, I know I suck about getting stuff circulated.  ;)

Offline hzgone

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2199
  • Gender: Male
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2006, 05:16:11 PM »
If i remember right, you won't loose anything by using eac.  There are however some steps to setting up your cd drive correctly.  I'm sure if you search for eac on here you will find the correct methods
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2006, 07:20:36 PM »
what do you intend to do with the "eac'ed" files?  If you're planning on spreading 'em, you're always better off avoiding eac steps in the lineage of shows if possible.

Offline hzgone

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2199
  • Gender: Male
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2006, 09:08:13 PM »
what do you intend to do with the "eac'ed" files?  If you're planning on spreading 'em, you're always better off avoiding eac steps in the lineage of shows if possible.

what is the show was flac>wav>audio cd then he wanted to go audio>wav>flac

Is ok to do this using eac?  I have never done it myself but if there is a better way i would like to know in case i run into the same situation
http://db.etree.org/hzgone
http://dead.no-ip.info

AKG 391's>MiAGi-II Silver Cables>V3>VX Pocket V2>Fujitsu 2110

on hiatus, semi retired, injured reserve, got hitched, had 2 kids, broke as hell, & my life is over patcher stage of life...

Offline dnsacks

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1643
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2006, 12:01:49 PM »
Problem is that the audio cd format does not provide for  ROBUST error correction (which the data cd format does provide).  Thus, even using EAC it's possible that the integrity of the underlying musical data can be corrupted during transfer/extraction.  Accordingly, from a data-integrity standpoint, it's always preferable to avoid an audio cd extraction step if/when possible.

Offline halleyscomet8

  • Trade Count: (5)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5557
  • Gender: Male
Re: .cda file?
« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2006, 12:03:27 PM »
i am having the flacs sent to me again. thanks for all the advice t's around
my shows on the archive: http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/halleyscomet8
And, yes, I know I suck about getting stuff circulated.  ;)

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.131 seconds with 53 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF