Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?  (Read 13216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6721
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2006, 01:01:48 PM »
well i got ripped off on ebay
won a kingston 8gb card for $60, never got it
the guy had 100% feedback too, ebay now has cancelled all his auctions and he stopped replying to me :(

so anyway back to the drawing board
does this one look legit?
http://cgi.ebay.com/SanDisk-Ultra-II-CompactFlash-8GB_W0QQitemZ230049825436QQihZ013QQcategoryZ122612QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline gorlando

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #16 on: November 12, 2006, 06:49:25 AM »
I have started using my MT with a 8 Gb Sandisk Extreme III and it is working fine. I bought it new on Ebay from the UK for 117 Pounds including transport to Italy.
I record at 24/48 for the moment, but I should receive a Mic2496 pre and will use the MT as a bit bucket (I record quiet music and the MT pre is somewhat noisy), trying the 24/96 set up, so to test the CF card with a higher speed.
Of course there still is the 2 Gb limit, which gives almost 2 hours at 24/48, but then by pushing twice the record button it starts a new track (2 hours) in about 5 seconds. This is good enough to me.

With this capacity the battery duration is certainly the constraint. I have a home-made battery extender simply done with 4 AA alkaline batteries (the initial 6 V apparently are OK to the MT) and am working on a switching device which should supply 5 V starting from a wide range of input voltages (so I can use 4 NiMH high capacity cells to feed the MT. This should take some time since the switchning IC I ordered will arrive mid-December.

Hope the above is of help
bye
Giovanni
 
Schoeps MK4's ORTF, MK41 & MK8 M-S, DPA 4060's,
Schoeps KCY, Naiant Tinybox II, Self-Made Battery Box for DPA's
Sony PCM-M10, Tascam DR-2D, M-Audio Microtrack II

Offline sam

  • Getting out as much as I can
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #17 on: November 13, 2006, 08:31:17 AM »
well i got ripped off on ebay
won a kingston 8gb card for $60, never got it
the guy had 100% feedback too, ebay now has cancelled all his auctions and he stopped replying to me :(

so anyway back to the drawing board
does this one look legit?
http://cgi.ebay.com/SanDisk-Ultra-II-CompactFlash-8GB_W0QQitemZ230049825436QQihZ013QQcategoryZ122612QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

From e-bay: "Millions of eBayers have been deceived by inferior quality, unpopular cheap CF disguised as SanDisk Ultra II as more than 95% of all 1GB, 2GB, 4GB and 8GB CF listed on eBay are counterfeit items and many have fake capacities." :(

Here is the link to the article:
http://reviews.ebay.com/FAKE-SanDisk-Ultra-Compact-Flash-Cards-Exposed_W0QQugidZ10000000001235396?ssPageName=BUYGD:CAT:-1:LISTINGS:1
AKG480/61/63->Audio Magic X-Stream->Marantz ACM671

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6721
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2006, 08:52:06 AM »
sweet thanks
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline manleyf

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 109
  • Gender: Male
  • http://SoulCoustic.com
    • Separate Reality Productions
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2006, 06:42:42 PM »
With this capacity the battery duration is certainly the constraint. I have a home-made battery extender simply done with 4 AA alkaline batteries (the initial 6 V apparently are OK to the MT) and am working on a switching device which should supply 5 V starting from a wide range of input voltages (so I can use 4 NiMH high capacity cells to feed the MT. This should take some time since the switchning IC I ordered will arrive mid-December.

Hope the above is of help
bye
Giovanni
 

I'm using a Power Runner with an easy to make usb cable > a Power Runner LI battery.  These little batteries aren't cheap, but they are very nice, come with nice accessories, and can supply a good range of voltage:

http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1284

I actually have the 2200, but the 2100, 2200, and 2300 are all nice, just various run times:
http://www.batteryspace.com/ProductImages/externalbattery/Power%20Runner%20Chart.pdf

I've also used the "Mobile Power Pack" Prod#: AC4009-614
http://www.socketcom.com/product/AC4009-614.asp

This little dude is cool, as you don't need to make any special usb cable, the standard one will do, but its pricey...

Manley


Earthworks SR30/SRO > V3 > MT/JB3
Church Audio Pro-Cards/Mini-Omnis > ChruchAudio 9100 PreAmp > MT/JB3
http://RecordMeLive.com
http://SoulCoustic.com

Offline Phil

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 553
  • Gender: Male
  • Control for smilers can't be bought
    • BitTorrentMusic.com
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2006, 07:35:48 PM »
With this capacity the battery duration is certainly the constraint. I have a home-made battery extender simply done with 4 AA alkaline batteries (the initial 6 V apparently are OK to the MT) and am working on a switching device which should supply 5 V starting from a wide range of input voltages (so I can use 4 NiMH high capacity cells to feed the MT. This should take some time since the switchning IC I ordered will arrive mid-December.

Hope the above is of help
bye
Giovanni
 

I'm using a Power Runner with an easy to make usb cable > a Power Runner LI battery.  These little batteries aren't cheap, but they are very nice, come with nice accessories, and can supply a good range of voltage:

http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=1284

I actually have the 2200, but the 2100, 2200, and 2300 are all nice, just various run times:
http://www.batteryspace.com/ProductImages/externalbattery/Power%20Runner%20Chart.pdf

I've also used the "Mobile Power Pack" Prod#: AC4009-614
http://www.socketcom.com/product/AC4009-614.asp

This little dude is cool, as you don't need to make any special usb cable, the standard one will do, but its pricey...

Manley




This one is cheap and works very well. No cables to hack either.
http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=2970
AKG 481 > V3 > MT2496 or VXpocket 440 > Laptop

Offline JoeKiller

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • Duo!
    • JoeKiller.com
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #21 on: November 16, 2006, 02:28:25 PM »
I wonder if with the new 1.4.5 firmware those PQI and cheapo 8 GB cards work with the MT now...
spc4>mme>mt

Archive List

Offline manleyf

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 109
  • Gender: Male
  • http://SoulCoustic.com
    • Separate Reality Productions
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #22 on: November 16, 2006, 03:31:27 PM »
well i got ripped off on ebay
won a kingston 8gb card for $60, never got it
the guy had 100% feedback too, ebay now has cancelled all his auctions and he stopped replying to me :(

Dude- I got ripped too, probably the same guy-  >:( I knew better too, no paypal, and he had me send the payment to "Jorge Carlos" in Fl.  3 hours after emailing it, I get an email from Ebay telling me to not send payment!  I tried to recall the mail, but they delivered it any way.  Funny thing is the guy is still responding to my emails, saying he shipped it - he reply's as pitcart1@yahoo.com

Any way, ebay will cover up to $200 - a $25 service fee to refund scams like this, but you have to make your claim within 30days of auction, have proof of payment, etc.  Assuming I don't get the card this week, I'm filling a claim and reporting dude to the federal postal inspector and Fl. police, etc.

So, I ended up buying a 4gb Kingston Elite on new egg until the 8gb prices come down.  Pretty good price, $94.99:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820160034

As the others said, I think its best to completely avoid memory on Ebay...   :o
Earthworks SR30/SRO > V3 > MT/JB3
Church Audio Pro-Cards/Mini-Omnis > ChruchAudio 9100 PreAmp > MT/JB3
http://RecordMeLive.com
http://SoulCoustic.com

Offline manleyf

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 109
  • Gender: Male
  • http://SoulCoustic.com
    • Separate Reality Productions
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #23 on: November 16, 2006, 03:42:01 PM »
Quote
This one is cheap and works very well. No cables to hack either.
http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=2970

Wow- that is a cool little box-

Does any one know how much run time you can expect using 4 AA batteries, with the MT capturing S/PDIF 24/48 (no phant.pwr, CF card)?
Earthworks SR30/SRO > V3 > MT/JB3
Church Audio Pro-Cards/Mini-Omnis > ChruchAudio 9100 PreAmp > MT/JB3
http://RecordMeLive.com
http://SoulCoustic.com

Offline cjohnson22463

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • Deep Blues Festival
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #24 on: November 16, 2006, 07:13:09 PM »
I'm testing a new Kingston 8gig card and I'm getting "Media is full" messages occaisionally.  Not every time I hit the record button, but about every other time.  I've reformatted the card a few times, but this still happens.  Anyone else getting this or have any solutions for me?  Using 1.4.3

Offline jmz93

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 249
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #25 on: November 16, 2006, 09:07:33 PM »
I'm testing a new Kingston 8gig card and I'm getting "Media is full" messages occaisionally.  Not every time I hit the record button, but about every other time.  I've reformatted the card a few times, but this still happens.  Anyone else getting this or have any solutions for me?  Using 1.4.3

I haven't had this happen here, but I've received more consistant and faster performance since updating to 1.45. You might want to do that first, since several of the issues it addresses are CF related.

Offline willndmb

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6721
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #26 on: November 16, 2006, 10:13:05 PM »
well i got ripped off on ebay
won a kingston 8gb card for $60, never got it
the guy had 100% feedback too, ebay now has cancelled all his auctions and he stopped replying to me :(

Dude- I got ripped too, probably the same guy-  >:( I knew better too, no paypal, and he had me send the payment to "Jorge Carlos" in Fl.  3 hours after emailing it, I get an email from Ebay telling me to not send payment!  I tried to recall the mail, but they delivered it any way.  Funny thing is the guy is still responding to my emails, saying he shipped it - he reply's as pitcart1@yahoo.com

Any way, ebay will cover up to $200 - a $25 service fee to refund scams like this, but you have to make your claim within 30days of auction, have proof of payment, etc.  Assuming I don't get the card this week, I'm filling a claim and reporting dude to the federal postal inspector and Fl. police, etc.

So, I ended up buying a 4gb Kingston Elite on new egg until the 8gb prices come down.  Pretty good price, $94.99:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820160034

As the others said, I think its best to completely avoid memory on Ebay...   :o

thats him
i even told him i didn't trust him and was checking into him before i sent money
everyone including ebay came back as a good person to deal with - he must have been setting us up with all the good deals and such
go fill out the ic3.gov and usps.com mail fruad forms too along with the ebay ones

edit on the sandisk linked above too--i checked into that and it seems to be real, 2 people confirmed the ones they got from the same seller were
« Last Edit: November 16, 2006, 10:19:04 PM by willndmb »
Mics - AKG ck61/ck63 (c480b & Naiant actives), SP-BMC-2
XLR Cables - Silver Path w/Darktrain stubbies
Interconnect Cables - Dogstar (XLR), Darktrain (RCA > 1/8) (1/8 > 1/8), and Kind Kables (1/8f > 1/4)
Preamps - Naiant Littlebox & Tinybox
Recorders - PCM-M10 & DR-60D

Offline cjohnson22463

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • Deep Blues Festival
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #27 on: November 17, 2006, 09:58:37 AM »
I'm testing a new Kingston 8gig card and I'm getting "Media is full" messages occaisionally.  Not every time I hit the record button, but about every other time.  I've reformatted the card a few times, but this still happens.  Anyone else getting this or have any solutions for me?  Using 1.4.3

I haven't had this happen here, but I've received more consistant and faster performance since updating to 1.45. You might want to do that first, since several of the issues it addresses are CF related.

Several people mentioned this card (Kingston 8GB 45x elite pro) before the firmware update, as working flawlessly.  That's why I thought this was odd.  I have done the 1.4.5 update and I continue to have this "media is full" message.  If I push the record button again, it starts recording.  The update did not fix this problem.  Checking the rec time available, I get 8:41:24.  It all appears to work, but this message concerns me.  Anyone else getting this?

Offline anhisr

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #28 on: November 17, 2006, 11:11:51 AM »
I get that media full message and I just hit the button again.  Have not had a problems with the recording because of it.  The problem is not getting freaked out over it and just hitting the button again.  I always format the card when setting up so, I know it can't be full.  I run 1.4.5 and using a transend 8gb card. 
Audio: Neumann KM 100> 20, 30, 40, 43 or 50 > V3 > MT II (love that M/S)
Still Camera Body: Canon D5 Mark II
Canon Lenses:  16-35mm f2.8L II USM; 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM; 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM
Video Canon HF R30

archive  http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/anhisr

Offline jtessier

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 142
Re: best 8GB CF card for Microtrack 24/96?
« Reply #29 on: November 17, 2006, 12:23:20 PM »
I'm testing a new Kingston 8gig card and I'm getting "Media is full" messages occaisionally.  Not every time I hit the record button, but about every other time.  I've reformatted the card a few times, but this still happens.  Anyone else getting this or have any solutions for me?  Using 1.4.3

I haven't had this happen here, but I've received more consistant and faster performance since updating to 1.45. You might want to do that first, since several of the issues it addresses are CF related.

Several people mentioned this card (Kingston 8GB 45x elite pro) before the firmware update, as working flawlessly.  That's why I thought this was odd.  I have done the 1.4.5 update and I continue to have this "media is full" message.  If I push the record button again, it starts recording.  The update did not fix this problem.  Checking the rec time available, I get 8:41:24.  It all appears to work, but this message concerns me.  Anyone else getting this?


Hmmm, interesting. I've never seen this message (othen than when it's true). I have a SanDisk 8 GB Ultra II and have never seen it and the 4GB version of the 45x Kingston and have also never seen it there.  Is it only the Kingston branded 8GB media that this happens on?

Anyone with any other 8GB cards encounter the problem? Anyone see it with the 4GB Kingston?

J.T.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2006, 02:30:05 PM by jtessier »

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.161 seconds with 44 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF