Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards  (Read 16396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline smokydays

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 875
  • Gender: Male
  • I Hunger
Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« on: April 03, 2007, 12:03:39 PM »
Just wanted to start a thread to have all the compatable CF cards for the HD-P2 in one spot.  I'm in the market and some real world experience would be great.  It would be nice to have them all in one spot too.  Thanks!   :laugh:
Still Missing Woody...

"Time to discover, what's really really really right.  Instead of what makes us feel strong."
-- About To Rage, Gov't Mule

Offline OOK

  • Trade Count: (17)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2714
  • Gender: Male
  • formerly OtherOneK
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2007, 04:23:43 PM »
The following is a list pulled from Tascam:

Lexar-  CF-***40,  CF-***80  Professional

SanDisk-  SDCFB-***,  SDCFH-***,  Ultra 2SDCFK-***,  Extreme III

I/O-  CF40-**,  CF85-**

Buffalo-  RCF-GP***

Hitachi-  3K4-2MicroDrive, 3K4-4MicroDrive

Delkin,  ***eFilm Pro

I believe you can also add transend as well, feel free to help with others....JK
DPA/HEB 4060's > R09HR
MBHO648/KA100Lk/KA200/KA300/KA500 > SD702

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2007, 05:06:48 PM »
I've had no problems with the PQI 8 gig CF card (100x).  although the HD-P2 speed tests say that it's not good for stereo 24/192, only up to 24/96.  I've been using the card since July '06 at 24/96 with zero problems, so I'd definitely say its an option.

Offline darby

  • Trade Count: (82)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1247
  • Support artists and venues that allow recording
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2007, 09:33:09 PM »
Kingston 45X 4 gig is all I have ever used
and have had no problems

but I am only doing 24/48
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 09:35:16 PM by darby »

Offline KeithE

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Gender: Male
    • Studio Scotland Ltd
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2007, 07:09:12 PM »
Whichever cards you decide on you would do well not to skimp here.  A few extra quid ??? (or bucks) is great peace of mind that your one shot interview or gig is safely in the bag on rock solid media, regardless of the conditions.  We use Sandisk Extreme III 4gig CFs with the Tascam, reformatting the cards after file dumping to the G5.

-keithe
www.studioscotland.co.uk (multimedia)
www.studioscotlandtv.com (web movies)
www.studioscotland.com (production)


...keithe

Why can't they make a cellphone that automatically switches itself off just before you hit rec?

Offline todd e

  • Site Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *
  • Posts: 3462
  • Gender: Male
  • ***Team Schoeps***
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2007, 03:55:35 PM »
i use this too, no problems at all, assuming that i clean it off first..... ;D

"PQI 8 gig CF card (100x)"

Offline Brian Skalinder

  • Complaint Dept.
  • Trade Count: (27)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 18856
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2007, 04:21:44 PM »
i use this too, no problems at all, assuming that i clean it off first..... ;D

"PQI 8 gig CF card (100x)"

FWIW, I experienced this set of issues with my PQI 8 GB card.  Granted, only happened one time (my 2nd use of the card) and I didn't ever nail down the root cause, but made me nervous enough I didn't want to use my PQI card any longer.  YMMV.

Edit to add:  I think I probably corrupted the CF card by removing the card before unmounting.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2007, 01:29:39 AM by Brian Skalinder »
Milab VM-44 Links > Fostex FR-2LE or
Naiant IPA (tinybox format) >
Roland R-05

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7662
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2007, 07:00:10 PM »
how about the 16gig cards..?

which ones do we know work..?

-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2007, 07:13:57 PM »
how about the 16gig cards..?

which ones do we know work..?

well, I've been using a SanDisck Extreme III 16 gig card.  there seems to be some issue with the HD-P2 going haywire when the card gets to be half full.  for me, it just freezes completely.  the card isn't corrupted or anything, just the deck completely locks up when it's exactly 8 gigs full and I try to record.  at this point, I'm hoping for Tascam to release a firmware upgrade to be able to record past 8 gigs on the 16 gig cards... see this thread for some more discussion about that:
http://taperssection.com/index.php/topic,87480.0.html

Offline JackoRoses

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2802
  • Gender: Male
  • lost cause
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2007, 07:22:52 PM »
I'm having some computer issues that are proving elusive to pinpoint so I haven't even had a chance to work on that card any more Jason.
I was hoping to be on that project this week by now but this other quirk is slowing progress.
Did you ever contact Tascam yet? Or did they say they are working on a new firmware for it?
I think it's safe to say you and I stumbled on something though because it seems too much of a coinkydink we both experienced basically the same thing.
http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/jackoroses
AKG ck61's/ck62's/ck63's/480b's > zaolla's/Dogstar silver cables > optimod V3  > zaolla spdif> HD-P2
"None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free. "
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Big Brother is here and he is watching you.

Offline smokydays

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 875
  • Gender: Male
  • I Hunger
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2007, 10:08:00 AM »
Compatable card:
PQI High Speed 120 4GB

Never had an issue with this one.
Still Missing Woody...

"Time to discover, what's really really really right.  Instead of what makes us feel strong."
-- About To Rage, Gov't Mule

Offline Gordon

  • Trade Count: (20)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10632
  • Gender: Male
    • my list
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2007, 06:39:11 PM »
Kingston 45X 4 gig is all I have ever used
and have had no problems

but I am only doing 24/48

has anyone used these doing 24/96??  folks said they work with the 671 so i bought one as I was getting a 671.  now I got the p2 and can't find info on these and 24/96.
Neumann ak40 > Nick mod lc3 > Naiant PFA or km140 > Sound Devices MixPre-6

https://archive.org/details/fav-gordonlw

Offline macdaddy

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7662
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2007, 07:43:52 PM »
since the thread got bumped...

jason - any progress yet with the 16gig card..?

-macdaddy ++

akg c422 > s42 > lunatec v2 > ad2k+ > roland r-44

Offline Dutchman1101

  • Team MBHO
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • Gender: Male
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2007, 08:03:17 PM »
Kingston 45X 4 gig is all I have ever used
and have had no problems

but I am only doing 24/48

has anyone used these doing 24/96??  folks said they work with the 671 so i bought one as I was getting a 671.  now I got the p2 and can't find info on these and 24/96.

It should gordon. You can do a speed test. I'd do some tests first but it should work. I've always used my Kingstons at 24/48.

Hope that helps.

Harrison
MBHO KA200N/KA500HN > MBP603A's > Oade Concert Mod Edirol R-44

http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/hkeijzer

Offline JasonSobel

  • Trade Count: (8)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3329
  • Gender: Male
    • My show list
Re: Tascam HD-P2 Compatable CF Cards
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2007, 08:17:01 PM »
Kingston 45X 4 gig is all I have ever used
and have had no problems

but I am only doing 24/48

has anyone used these doing 24/96??  folks said they work with the 671 so i bought one as I was getting a 671.  now I got the p2 and can't find info on these and 24/96.

It should gordon. You can do a speed test. I'd do some tests first but it should work. I've always used my Kingstons at 24/48.

Hope that helps.

Harrison

a friend of mine (who isn't really on ts.com much) uses a Kingston 45X (8 gig card) at 24/96 in his HD-P2 with no problems.

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.257 seconds with 43 queries.
© 2002-2018 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF