Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30  (Read 19697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3493
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« on: September 06, 2007, 11:45:50 AM »
Just saw this on Edirol's site, here is the readme and the link to the download:

PC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048689
MAC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048712


Looks like better support for 8gb SDHC cards, that is all thats shown in the PDF: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048737

Greg

Offline illconditioned

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2859
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 12:18:54 PM »
Just saw this on Edirol's site, here is the readme and the link to the download:

PC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048689
MAC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048712


Looks like better support for 8gb SDHC cards, that is all thats shown in the PDF: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048737

Greg

Wow!  That looks great.

I use this all the time on the NJB3.  Nice to know that Edirol has it now...

  Richard
Please DO NOT mail me with tech questions.  I will try to answer in the forums when I get a chance.  Thanks.

Sample recordings at: http://www.soundmann.com.

Offline Borlag

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 77
  • Gender: Male
    • My trading site
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 12:42:34 PM »
Very nice, too bad this didn't arrive in time for this years summer festivals though
Main Rig: Church Audio STC-11 Cardioid Mics > ST-9100 > Edirol R-09
Backup Rig: Microphone Madness MM-MCSM-4 > MM-EBM-1 > Sony MZ-NH600

Offline blindman

  • Trade Count: (3)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 226
  • Gender: Male
  • Ut!
    • Taper Stuff @ Fecundswamp
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2007, 01:01:06 PM »
Am I reading the PDF right... They have added a manual file split option... Pressing the A-B REPEAT button will manually split the recording... but it will not be a seamless split... correct?

Still could be useful at times... guess if you want seamless split, just let it roll.

-------------------------------------------------------------
The following parameters have been newly added to the [Menu Screen].

Category - Recorder Setup
Menu/Effect - File Split Pressing the [A-B REPEAT button] during recording splits the file at the location at which the button was pressed.
Value (Default value in bold) - OFF (file will not be split) ON (file will be split)

• Depending on the specifications of the card, there may be rare cases in which the recording is interrupted.
• The recording will not be interrupted, but it will not be possible to play back the preceding and following files without interruption (i.e., gapless playback is not possible).
• It is not possible to split a file in a way that would cause any portion to contain less than two seconds of material. File splitting is possible only when each resulting file will contain at least two seconds worth of recording.
• If you split a file manually while recording via the internal mics, the sound of the operation (the click of the button) may be recorded. If you want to avoid this, please use an external mic.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Then: Nakamichi CM300/CP-1/2/4 + Soundboard -> Audio-Technica AT4462 -> Sony TC-D5M
Now: Avantone CK-40 + Avantone CK-1 (Busman MOD) -> BusR4 (T+NF Mods)
Backup/Stealth: Sennheiser MKE > CA-9100 > Tascam DR2D

Offline guysonic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1366
  • WISDOM FOR ALL TIMES
    • Sonic Studios DSM Stereo-Surround Microphone Systems
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2007, 08:36:09 PM »
Just saw this on Edirol's site, here is the readme and the link to the download:

PC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048689
MAC: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048712


Looks like better support for 8gb SDHC cards, that is all thats shown in the PDF: http://www.roland.com/products/en/_support/goFtp.cfm?sRcId=0000020382&sDlId=0000048737

Greg

WOW!!!  Kudos to Greg for SPOOKELY PROMPT NEWS!! (just released today!) of having full 8 GIG faultless file spanning.

This is the FIX of most value as I've had an 8 GIG Transcend card in there for a long time remembering to step over that missing (first 2 GIG spanning ability) stone.   

The other improvements expand the useful features of the deck, and are 'icing on the cake' to me. 

However, here we go again!   While the 8 GIG card spanning is claimed fixed, this is a new version, requiring user experiences to know if any bugs crept in with the spanning fix and new features.   

At present experience of many hours of R-09 use, good confidence exists with v1.20 stability with little or no (unexpected) deck errors.

So again, we need to try DIFFERENT MAKES OF CARDS, to know if this firmware version is fully stable, and  (2) just what cards work well with latest firmware.

Please post your experiences with 1.30 installed including flash card details.  Maybe v1.30 is all gain with no pain, I'd like to think Roland took plenty of time for quality testing.

So for now, the jury (us tapers) is out until we report what is so with v1.30

I'll be posting here and the (continually updated) website R-09 review: www.sonicstudios.com/r-09revw.htm
"mics? I no got no mics!  Besides, I no have to show you no stink'n mics!" stxxlth taper's disclaimer

DSM HRTF STEREO-SURROUND RECORDING SYSTEMS WEBSITE: http://www.sonicstudios.com

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3493
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2007, 10:29:18 PM »
However, here we go again!   While the 8 GIG card spanning is claimed fixed, this is a new version, requiring user experiences to know if any bugs crept in with the spanning fix and new features.   

Good point on keeping eyes out for other bugs that may have been introduced.

I need to get my hands on a Class 6 8gb card now... I would suggest that everyone go with a class 6 card and not bother with the class 2 cards, as I believe the newer class has better SD Standards from the SD people.

Offline china_rider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1968
  • Gender: Male
  • The center of the universe is not on this earth...
    • AZTapers
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2007, 01:36:51 AM »
Not the most scientific test but created a repeating sine wave to record.  Then joined the sections and zoomed in as much as possible to see if there was a break in the wave form.

Recorded to an 8gig class 2 Transcend card that I bought when firmware 1.20 came out thinking it would work.

Manual split seems to show a seamless split.

Autosplit seems to work flawlessly.  At 24X48 I got 3 2 gig files plus another partial when the battery died at around 6 hours 15 min.

So far I love the autosplit and the manual split is an extra bonus.

Also... I went to the download site at Roland for the firmware.  They now have a doc that is a practical guide to using the R-09.  Nothing earth shattering but the guide did not come with my unit.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2007, 01:38:49 AM by china_rider »
(#1) AKG C480b CK61,CK62,CK63,CK69 -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#2) BMod ADK A51TL -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#3) Sonic Studios DSM6SM -> Sonic Studios PA-3SX -> R-09

Offline JD

  • Trade Count: (9)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1642
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2007, 01:39:43 AM »
Sweet!  Thanks for the heads up.
Mics: DPA 4022, 4060; Nevaton MC51, MCE400; Gefell sms2000, m20, m21, m27
Pres: DPA MMA6000; Grace V2; Portico 5012; Sonosax SX-M2
Recorders: Edirol R09hr, Sound Devices 722

Offline vanark

  • TDS
  • Trade Count: (29)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7507
  • If you ain't right, you better get right!
    • The Mudboy Grotto - North Mississippi Allstar fan site
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2007, 08:15:00 PM »
Also... I went to the download site at Roland for the firmware.  They now have a doc that is a practical guide to using the R-09.  Nothing earth shattering but the guide did not come with my unit.

Here is a direct link for those having trouble locating the Practical Guide

http://www.rolandus.com/uploads/CMS/Downloads/1913/r_09_practical_guide.pdf

Thanks for the heads-up.
If you have a problem relating to the Live Music Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/etree) please send an e-mail to us admins at etree(AT)archive(DOT)org or post in the LMA thread here and we'll get on it.

Link to LMA Recordings

Link to Team Dirty South Recordings on the LMA

Mics: Microtech Gefell M21 (with Nbob actives) | Church Audio CA-11 (cards) (with CA UBB)
Pres: <empty>
Recorders: Tascam DR-60D | Tascam DR-40 | Sony PCM-M10

Offline Sebastian

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1384
  • Gender: Male
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2007, 08:52:27 AM »

Here is a direct link for those having trouble locating the Practical Guide


Thanks. I am actually having trouble finding *anything* on that mess of a web site...
Schoeps { MK6 | MK41V | MK4 } > NBob actives > {Naiant Tinybox v2.0 | Naiant IPA | Naiant PFAs} > {Sound Devices MixPre-6 | Sony PCM-A10 | Sony PCM-M10 | Tascam DR-2d}

Recordings:
Live Music Archive | DaD Torrents | TTD Torrents | Etree Torrents

Offline uspino

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2007, 11:23:43 AM »
It's sad that manual file splitting is only implemented during recording, not playback. For those of us journalists using the R-09, extracting a sound bite still requires the use of a computer.

Offline spyder9

  • Trade Count: (77)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 12860
  • Gender: Male
  • "Are you Zman?"
    • My Archived shows
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2007, 05:25:05 PM »
Anybody format their 8gb card yet?  The key for this upgrade, IMO.  The splitting stuff is just gravy.

Offline china_rider

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection All-Star
  • ****
  • Posts: 1968
  • Gender: Male
  • The center of the universe is not on this earth...
    • AZTapers
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2007, 06:41:19 PM »
I formatted on the R-09 before doing the manual split and then again before the auto split test above.  Took about 5 seconds and had no issues. 

Just to check stability before I take it out for the first time since the upgrade ive just been letting it record the tv/stereo and do autosplits until the rechargables run out.  I've gone through 3 cycles with no issues on the old class 2 transcend 8 gig card.  Also, did a test on a newer 4 gig Transcend card that I was using for my camera.  So far everything seems OK.
(#1) AKG C480b CK61,CK62,CK63,CK69 -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#2) BMod ADK A51TL -> Silverpath XLRs -> BMod R-4
(#3) Sonic Studios DSM6SM -> Sonic Studios PA-3SX -> R-09

Offline jmz93

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 249
  • Gender: Male
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2007, 08:52:55 PM »
Is there something in this firmware update to improve battery usage, or gaugeing or something?

Last night, I decided to see if I could run the R9 on 2 2,700mAh PowerEx AA's, and totally fill up my 8GB card.

24/48, display set to lowest brightness, monitoring on, plug-in power off/just using internal mics, etc.

I woke up this morning to a full card, and lots of battery life left.  I moved the new files from the card, which meant the R9
was running for an additional 30 minutes. Then, I started recording again.  I got about another 2.5 hours, or 2.5GB
before it shut off! 

So, 10.5 hours on 2 rechargeable AA's. That has to be a record!

I'mgoing to try this again, as I can't believe it myself. 
I could eliminate the 30 minutes spent transfering files off the R9 by using a card reader, and perhaps make 11 hours recording at 24/48.

Offline gmm6797

  • Trade Count: (10)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 3493
  • Gender: Male
  • Schoeps MK4 > nBoxPlat > Sony M10/SD 722
    • Homepage
Re: Edirol R-09 firmware 1.30
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2007, 10:55:40 PM »
Is there something in this firmware update to improve battery usage, or gaugeing or something?

Last night, I decided to see if I could run the R9 on 2 2,700mAh PowerEx AA's, and totally fill up my 8GB card.

24/48, display set to lowest brightness, monitoring on, plug-in power off/just using internal mics, etc.

I woke up this morning to a full card, and lots of battery life left.  I moved the new files from the card, which meant the R9
was running for an additional 30 minutes. Then, I started recording again.  I got about another 2.5 hours, or 2.5GB
before it shut off! 

So, 10.5 hours on 2 rechargeable AA's. That has to be a record!

I'm going to try this again, as I can't believe it myself. 
I could eliminate the 30 minutes spent transfering files off the R9 by using a card reader, and perhaps make 11 hours recording at 24/48.


I bought 4 of those same 2700 batteries, and have had nothing but GREAT luck with them in my R09. 

Before that I was on a rotation of 8 Energizer 2600 batteries, and those were basically not keeping a charge after about 14 months of moderate use.  But with the 2700's, no matter what I have run them for, they always show as full and complete charges  :o ;D

PS- I used the SD slot built into my laptop to transfer, so i cant speak to that side of things

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 56 queries.
© 2002-2020 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF