Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Question about binaural microphones  (Read 9802 times)

Offline jimsix

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Question about binaural microphones
« on: November 11, 2007, 05:30:56 PM »
Hi. I'm not a dyed-in-the-wool taper, I'm a musician and a newspaper guy — what a combination.

I like the idea of mics in earbuds  to use with my Edirol R-09, but am unclear on something. If I get a budget set of earbuds — like around 70 bucks — can I use them right out of the box with my Edirol R-09 or will I have to buy a battery pack to power them?

Thanks for taking the time to deal with a know-nothing like me!

Appreciate it.

Allbest,

Jim

Offline dmonkey

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Taperssection All-Star
Re: Question about binaural microphones
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2007, 06:18:44 PM »
I have a pair of those SP-TFB-2 mics from Sound Professionals. I've used them a few times with my R-09 but always powered by a preamp (Church 9100) -- and the results were really pretty nice. I believe that you may encounter more distortion if all you're doing is powering from the R-09, especially at a loud concert. I know when I used my SP-CMC-8's with only R-09 power there was quite a bit of distortion when I taped a loud show, but the recording is still very listenable.

That said, it certainly is worth experimenting to see how they sound w/o any additional power. I'd tape something you aren't too concerned with and experiment.
MK4's, KM140's or MC930's >  Tinybox or Aerco MP-2 > R-09, M-10, R-44 (Oade CM) or MixPre-6

Offline boojum

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2007, 01:48:02 AM »
The binaural earbuds-as-mics is a great idea, if you want to stand like a statue for the whole concert.  You are the mic stand.   :)  You might want to think about that.

I have done binaural that way, but only as a person in motion recording the sounds around me.  Quite interesting.

Cheers