Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?  (Read 4852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« on: November 18, 2007, 12:14:03 AM »
SSIA is this a common problem with MME's?

Thanks
Jeff
TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline sygdwm

  • unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8750
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 02:58:27 AM »
yes. i believe they do.

/so, i've heard.
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

And GODDAMN did I use ALOT of smilies in that post ;D 8) :smoking: :spin:
(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

stirinthesauce

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2007, 08:46:17 AM »
mine did.  Best bet for zero issues is use the aes and go aes>spdif.  Bet there are plenty of cable makers here that will make a good on for ya.

Offline jlykos

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 4413
  • Gender: Male
  • Don't sweat the technique
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2007, 09:46:19 AM »
I ran a MiniMe for years and never had a problem with the S/PIDF.
dpa 4061 > Church Audio 9200 > Sony PCM-D50 (Moon Audio Silver Dragon v3 interconnect)

"I have no views," Mickey Melchiondo, known as Dean Ween, said in a philosophical moment. "I am way too stupid. I have no strong feelings about anything. I'm really into television and the computer. I believe everything I see on TV and read on the Internet."

Offline JoeKiller

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • Duo!
    • JoeKiller.com
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2007, 12:24:31 PM »
Mine might feel a little loose but it always transfers just fine.  Usually if I have problems, it is with the cable.
spc4>mme>mt

Archive List

stirinthesauce

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2007, 02:20:59 PM »
maybe I should elaborat with my experience.  If pressure was pushed inwards on the connector while in operation, it would flake for a split second.  I used a microtrack at the time.  MT's particularly don't do well with an interrupted digi signal.

However, this does not tarnish my opinion of the minime, which, is of the highest accord.  I miss my minime, just a damn akward size for field taping.  I bet I pick one up again though.   ;D

Offline Kindguy

  • Team Bama
  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6392
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2007, 02:26:54 PM »
I have a chance to pick one up cheap. 400 bucks for a rev c. Coax out is real flakey though.

TDS!

DPA 4023> aeta PSP-2> Apogee Mini Me > R-44

http://www.basicallyfrightened.com/

Offline sygdwm

  • unknown sleath taper
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 8750
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2007, 02:30:53 PM »
I have a chance to pick one up cheap. 400 bucks for a rev c. Coax out is real flakey though.




 just use aes
mics: (4)akg c460b(a60,mk46,ck1x,ck1,ck2,ck3,ck61,ck63)
pres: oade m148/edirol wmod ua5
recorders: marantz stock671/oade acm671/fostex busman vintage fr2le

And GODDAMN did I use ALOT of smilies in that post ;D 8) :smoking: :spin:
(P.S.: On a threaded discussion board like this one, there's no need to repeat someone's post when you reply to them; everyone can see all the messages in the thread.)

stirinthesauce

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2007, 02:38:19 PM »
I have a chance to pick one up cheap. 400 bucks for a rev c. Coax out is real flakey though.




 just use aes

x2

helluva deal.  If  you decide to sell down the line, I'll buy it.  aes is the way to go anyhow.

Offline Tim

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 32925
  • Gender: Male
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2007, 02:33:33 PM »
I had that issue as well and just got a canare 110 to 75 ohm transformer, snapped that into the aes out and hook up your spdif cable

I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline Nick's Picks

  • Trade Count: (32)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10200
  • Gender: Male
  • I thought I heard.......
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2007, 02:42:28 PM »
bingo.
you guys...whats the problem w/running your MMe in a bag sideways?
almost all of the real gear backs have side access.  its not a hassle in the slightest.

stirinthesauce

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2007, 12:55:39 AM »
bingo.
you guys...whats the problem w/running your MMe in a bag sideways?
almost all of the real gear backs have side access.  its not a hassle in the slightest.

It's not, since I've seen your setup.  I also run a sonicase.  I used to run it in the accessory pouch but didn't like the exposed wires.  Think I'm going back to apogee in the near future.  Might try the mmp this time around.

Offline Nick's Picks

  • Trade Count: (32)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 10200
  • Gender: Male
  • I thought I heard.......
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2007, 07:23:58 AM »
it is like 10x better sounding than the mme. 
to my ears any way.

Offline JoeKiller

  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 606
  • Gender: Male
  • Duo!
    • JoeKiller.com
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2007, 10:24:36 AM »
Got any pics of this "sideways" setup.  It would be sweet to run a mmp -> mme but I'm always concerned with space.
spc4>mme>mt

Archive List

Offline chucky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Gender: Male
  • Hookd on cronics
Re: Do minime's have A touchy spdif connection?
« Reply #14 on: November 20, 2007, 10:53:04 AM »
I too have thought about trying the MMP/E combo in the future.
I'll def. go back to some apogee box in the future but like most can't stand the size!

On the Mme I had, the spdif would barely even set. The hole was like douple the size of the pin!
It would've prolly been an easy fix, but the AES is bombproof, so I figured why bother.

four-hun-do is a steal!!!!!!!!



 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.233 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF