Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?  (Read 14122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2008, 12:44:30 PM »
I uses a Power Runner Model II PR-23XX universal laptop battery.  Cost aroung $50 or $60, runs the V3 for several hours. Never had an issue w/ it after 2 years.  Weighs < 1lb.

/Ken
retired

Offline Myco

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7569
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #31 on: October 29, 2008, 02:16:51 PM »
I'm curious because I just bought a Tekkeon 3300, but you need a special adapter to have it fit the V3. I bought mine from Newegg because I saw the price was cheaper than the GD site, but then when I got it I found out that it doesn't have an adapter that fits the V3 in the eight different tips they give you in the stock kit. I go on the GD site and sure enough I didn't read the fine print, "custom power cord" on the their site. I'm in between returning it or possibly getting the needed adapter. If this thing is noisy I'll just return it and get a couple Wally World bats and a cable from kindkables.
Microtech Gefell M200: M20/M21/M27 caps> Bumblebee MiAGi-II/Darktrain silver cable's/"Chuck" Belden cables> Aerco MP-2 or Busman modded DR-680 pre-amps> Darktrain cables & interconnects> Tascam DR-680 (Busman mod)
AT853's(card's/hyper's)>AT8533x>Aerco MP-2>Sony M10

kskreider

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #32 on: October 29, 2008, 02:27:34 PM »
It is the V3 itself that requires the special connector.  (Screw-on Switchcraft)  So you will have to make a custom cable no matter what.

Some people are using these for 9v now.  8000mah and is the size of a wally world. (1 pound)

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/480307-REG/Impact_BPD8000_BPD_8000_Universal_Portable_Li_Ion.html

Offline deadheaded

  • Trade Count: (14)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 823
  • Gender: Male
    • Kind Kables
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #33 on: October 29, 2008, 02:34:50 PM »
I'm curious because I just bought a Tekkeon 3300, but you need a special adapter to have it fit the V3. I bought mine from Newegg because I saw the price was cheaper than the GD site, but then when I got it I found out that it doesn't have an adapter that fits the V3 in the eight different tips they give you in the stock kit. I go on the GD site and sure enough I didn't read the fine print, "custom power cord" on the their site. I'm in between returning it or possibly getting the needed adapter. If this thing is noisy I'll just return it and get a couple Wally World bats and a cable from kindkables.


you can send me your tekkeon cable and i can put a v-3 connector on it for you.

ed
If it's worth getting off the couch, it's worth taping!

Offline Myco

  • Trade Count: (11)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 7569
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #34 on: October 29, 2008, 03:17:18 PM »
Thanks Ed!

Does anyone have any update on the noise issue?

This would help me to decide whether to return the Tekkeon in favor of the Walmart batteries.

Either way i'm going to have to buy a cable off of Ed, whether it's having him mod the tekkeon cable, or buying one of his cables that fits the walmart batteries.

I just want to choose the one that has the least noise.

Thanks everyone for this discussion also.
Microtech Gefell M200: M20/M21/M27 caps> Bumblebee MiAGi-II/Darktrain silver cable's/"Chuck" Belden cables> Aerco MP-2 or Busman modded DR-680 pre-amps> Darktrain cables & interconnects> Tascam DR-680 (Busman mod)
AT853's(card's/hyper's)>AT8533x>Aerco MP-2>Sony M10

Offline it-goes-to-eleven

  • Trade Count: (58)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 6702
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #35 on: October 29, 2008, 04:50:58 PM »
Fwiw, you don't absolutely need the matching switchcraft part for the v3.  You can just use the regular size connector.  The funny thing is, using a regular ratshack right angle plug (held in with gaffer tape) worked Great for me.   And then I built a cable with the "proper" switchcraft part.... I was excited to finally have the right connector.. and it prompty made me lose a really important show.

The pin in the switchcraft v3 socket is too small. But it isn't a problem with a 'loose' connector because the pin tends to keep contact due to the sideforce/slop.  When I tightened the switchcraft collar snug, it perfectly centered the pin and sometimes prevented it from making contact.  Ironically, it was more reliable with the collar not so snug.  The solution is to wedge in a small piece of rubber to spread the pin wider... That works but it is all just so halfass....

As far as measuring power supply noise.. I'm not sure if anyone on TS has the proper gear for that.  But Winter is coming and it seems like a great project ;)

New product - Get your NEUMANN active mounting bars
Active microphone mounting bars for Schoeps and AKG, and Naiant AKG, ready to ship

Offline KenH

  • Trade Count: (4)
  • Taperssection Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 728
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #36 on: October 29, 2008, 05:38:47 PM »
 I definitely like the standard Switchcraft screw-on connector. On mine, the other end is a molex plug which I can connect different power sources to, like the Power Runner 23xx LIon battery, or a NiMH pack, etc.

retired

Offline manitouman

  • Trade Count: (36)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Gender: Female
  • Los Bulls!!!
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #37 on: February 08, 2009, 06:28:00 PM »
Thanks for the great info!  ;D
Mics: AKG CK31, CK32>LM 3> MPA III


Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #38 on: February 16, 2009, 02:04:37 PM »
Just got a V3 (12vDC Model).  When i hooked it up to a fully charged 9v DVD battery, I get the "low Batt" blinking on the V3?  Any help???
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline TNJazz

  • Ninja
  • Trade Count: (44)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5537
  • Gender: Male
  • "Those who know, know."
    • NINJA DYNAMITE
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #39 on: February 16, 2009, 02:11:17 PM »
Just got a V3 (12vDC Model).  When i hooked it up to a fully charged 9v DVD battery, I get the "low Batt" blinking on the V3?  Any help???


open it up and set the jumpers for 6v operation.
Check out my band!  --> http://www.ninjadynamite.com

Offline anhisr

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #40 on: February 16, 2009, 02:13:05 PM »
Because the battery only supplies up to 9 volt.  When the V3 is set at 12 volt the V3 will think you are low on power.  You should call Grace and see about how to fix this.

DC SUPPLY VOLTAGE JUMPERS Jumpers J26 and J27 select the operation Voltage to be 6 or 12 Volts DC. These jumpers should be moved ONLY by a qualified technician. Consult the factory for voltage change information

Online manual link.
http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_manual_RevE_online.pdf
Audio: Neumann KM 100> 20, 30, 40, 43 or 50 > V3 > MT II (love that M/S)
Still Camera Body: Canon D5 Mark II
Canon Lenses:  16-35mm f2.8L II USM; 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM; 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM
Video Canon HF R30

archive  http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/anhisr

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #41 on: February 16, 2009, 02:31:56 PM »
Because the battery only supplies up to 9 volt.  When the V3 is set at 12 volt the V3 will think you are low on power.  You should call Grace and see about how to fix this.

DC SUPPLY VOLTAGE JUMPERS Jumpers J26 and J27 select the operation Voltage to be 6 or 12 Volts DC. These jumpers should be moved ONLY by a qualified technician. Consult the factory for voltage change information

Online manual link.
http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_manual_RevE_online.pdf

Yup, thats what I saw also.  I like opening up my gear and poking around, but not sure if that make ma a "Qualified technician".
GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline anhisr

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #42 on: February 16, 2009, 02:35:41 PM »
Call them and see ask why not. 
Audio: Neumann KM 100> 20, 30, 40, 43 or 50 > V3 > MT II (love that M/S)
Still Camera Body: Canon D5 Mark II
Canon Lenses:  16-35mm f2.8L II USM; 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM; 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM
Video Canon HF R30

archive  http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/anhisr

Offline tgakidis

  • Trade Count: (540)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 5665
  • Gender: Male
    • My Recordings on the Archive:
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #43 on: February 16, 2009, 02:53:07 PM »
Because the battery only supplies up to 9 volt.  When the V3 is set at 12 volt the V3 will think you are low on power.  You should call Grace and see about how to fix this.

DC SUPPLY VOLTAGE JUMPERS Jumpers J26 and J27 select the operation Voltage to be 6 or 12 Volts DC. These jumpers should be moved ONLY by a qualified technician. Consult the factory for voltage change information

Online manual link.
http://www.gracedesign.com/support/v3_manual_RevE_online.pdf

Yup, thats what I saw also.  I like opening up my gear and poking around, but not sure if that make ma a "Qualified technician".

Ok, I am now a "Qualified technician".  That was Easy!

GAKables: Custom XLR, Digi & Batt Cables http://taperssection.com/index.php?topic=133186.0

Mics: Telefunken RFT AR-51 / Telefunken ELA M 260 (tk60,tk61,tk62) / Telefunken M60 / AKG c426b / AKG c414 xls / AKG c414 B-XLS / AKG c460b (ck61,ck62,ck63,ck69,a60,ck1,ck22,ck3,ck8,Blue B6) / nBob AKG Actives>PFA/ nBob AKG Actives>nBox Platinum / Naiant AKG Actives>PFA / AT853 w/ 4.7k Mod (Card,Omni,Sub)
Pre-Amps: Sonosax SX-M2 / Lunatec V3
Recs: Sound Devices MixPre-10T / Sound Devices MixPre-6 / Sony PCM-M10 / Roland R-07

My Recordings: https://archive.org/search.php?query=taper%3A%28Gakidis%29&sort=-date

Offline anhisr

  • Trade Count: (6)
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Posts: 2974
  • Gender: Male
Re: Powering a V3 what do you guys recommend?
« Reply #44 on: February 16, 2009, 03:36:02 PM »
congratulations on your new certification.  ;)
Audio: Neumann KM 100> 20, 30, 40, 43 or 50 > V3 > MT II (love that M/S)
Still Camera Body: Canon D5 Mark II
Canon Lenses:  16-35mm f2.8L II USM; 28-135mm f3.5-5.6 IS USM; 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM
Video Canon HF R30

archive  http://www.archive.org/bookmarks/anhisr

 

RSS | Mobile
Page created in 0.188 seconds with 42 queries.
© 2002-2019 Taperssection.com
Powered by SMF