Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Newbie questions: JB3, SP At853's, AD-20...  (Read 4463 times)

Offline violaplayr

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Newbie
Newbie questions: JB3, SP At853's, AD-20...
« on: August 26, 2004, 11:32:20 AM »
Some stupid questions from a newbie...

I already own a Nomad JB3.  I have read a lot of info on here already about the JB3 and recording options with it and people's rigs and whatnot.  I am going to get a stealth rig.  I was planning on getting the Sound Professionals AT853's.  I have seen some debate about the fact that the unmodified AT853Rx's are better than the SP version.  What is the final word on this?  Realize that I'm a complete noob, can you still stealth easily with the AT853Rx's?  Do they terminate in XLR's?  IF you use the AT853Rx's can you still use the SP Battery Box to power them?  Do you have to convert from the XLR on the mics to a mini plug to plug into their Battery Box?

Also, I'm think about getting a Denecke AD-20 for A/D Conversion.  Will this be able to simply plug directly into my JB3?  Will it just go from Decnecke AD-20 Optical out>Optical In on my JB3?  Or do I need some power regulators in front of the JB3?  Will the AD-20 significantly better the sound quality of the rig? 

So what will my rig lineage look like?  Maybe this:

AT853Rx > XLR > Battery Box > Ad-20 > JB3?

Any help is appreciated.  If anyone has a similar rig and can tell me if this makes a nie recording, just let me know. 

Thanks!

Offline violaplayr

• Taperssection Newbie
Newbie Quaestions: JB3, SP At853's, AD-20...
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2004, 05:11:53 PM »
Some stupid questions from a newbie...