Become a Site Supporter and Never see Ads again!

Author Topic: Sony PCM-M1  (Read 6428 times)

Offline roskile

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Taperssection Member
Sony PCM-M1
« on: September 16, 2004, 01:10:12 AM »
Hello everyone,

I was able to find a Sony PCM-M1 with under 25 recording hours at a great price..it should come in within the next couple of days. ;D I wanted to ask others who own a Sony PCM-M1 about transfering your dat recordings to pc. How can this be done digitally, what cable(s) would be needed?

I wrote to Oade inquiring earlier about this and here is their response:
We have cables that we rebuild using that one that will do the Trick.  The Oade Digital I/O Active Cable is $165. 

http://www.oade.com/cgi-bin/miva?Merchant2/merchant.mv+Screen=PROD&Store_Code=OADE&Product_Code=OADDIGIOA-%28F%29&Category_Code=S7P

Has anyone used this cable before? And how does it hook up to the pc? Very newbie here ;)

Are there any other cables the PCM-M1 owners use and may be able to recommend?

Regards,
roskile

Offline Tim

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Needs to get out more...
Re: Sony PCM-M1
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2004, 01:18:00 AM »
buy the active cable in this thread, it's basically a used "Oade" for $110 less...

http://www.taperssection.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=25112.0

okay that gets you digi in and out of the M1...

now you need to go coax/spdif IN to your computer, there are many soundcards that will allow for this...

Audiophile 24/96 seems to be a popular one for desktops...

I use the VX Pocket V2 with my laptop.

there are many other, check the FAQ and do a search, maybe post in the computer section or the ask the taper section?

then you'll need software to record to, software to track with, software to burn with, and software to flac with :P
I’ve had a few weird experiences and a few close brushes with total weirdness of one sort or another, but nothing that’s really freaked me out or made me feel too awful about it. - Jerry Garcia

Offline roskile